We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a view that's hard to beat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A room with a view that's hard to beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

One of the original old hotels that date from the time LaJolla was a small community on the West Coast. The hotel has maintained the great service and ambiance of those times. The rooms are well-kept, A/C is strong, and the beds excellent If you are able to have one of the room facing the Pacific you will have a hard time leaving your room. Between the hotel and the ocean there is a park overlooking the beach. Only the gulls interrupt the peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venice Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Great Guest -
La V thanks you for sharing your great comments on our vintage hotel - we are one of the California coastal originals and we do believe we're getter better with age!
See you again soon -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    228
    77
    38
    13
See reviews for
214
549
29
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

You might keep looking. While this property was very centrally located with a most friendly and gracious staff, the words "cramped" and "tired" come to mind when considering our recent stay. Based on many of the reviews I had read here (as well as the hefty room rate) I was expecting a bit more luxury in all honesty. Our room was tiny with one king bed - reminded me of the hotel rooms in NYC. And, our room and its adjacent common areas had seen much better days with worn carpeting, bathroom fixtures, towels... event the woodwork around our room's door frame was quite worn. The pool had a nice setting overlooking the La Jolla cove, but plan to rise and shine to squat a seat along the deck. Very limited seating and lots of folks chatting away on cell phones as if they were the only people in site. Really disappointing! During our stay, when we were able to find a seat (in the very late part of the day) the chairs were often quite soiled with wet towels, leftover food and droppings from the seagulls. Again, the friendly staff would have to be the high point of our experience here. I will say that upon completing a guest survey upon our departure I did receive a prompt reply from a member of the management team extending their apologies. Perhaps they are aware of the situation and changes to the physical facility will soon be on the way? If you can somehow secure a discounted rate, you might be fine. But in my opinion we way overpaid for the mediocre experience here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 592susanpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Rest & Relaxation -
I am very sorry to see that your La V experience was less than grand. Occasionally summer week ends can push the limits of the pool capacity when everyone chooses to stay at La V vs. venturing out to the beach or shore - I am sorry that it was a challenge to obtain seating. I do and can appreciate the comments on the pool cushions and seagulls - this is a daily maintenance process and one we place as a high priority.
La V clearly offers several room types - small, medium and large. Many guests do love the intimacy of our Vintage Ocean view rooms which average 250 sq. ft. and offer stunning views of the ocean; they are a great value. Should you seek larger accommodations that the Classic rooms and Villas offer more space at appropriate rates. Your comments on worn carpets are a concern as we completed a full guest room renovation last year which included all new corridor carpeting installed in December.
Thank you for sharing your comments - we will continue to work on delivery of a great experience.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Beautiful old hotel, well maintained. Lobby, bar, restaurants, pool area are all superb. Rooms are clean, well decorated, great beds, excellent air conditioning, free wi-fi. It's expensive, especially in high summer season, but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Grande Guest -
THANK YOU very much for the great review - it is sincerely appreciated. The team at La V works hard every day to ensure our vintage hotel experience is special and we're pleased it resonated for your stay.
Cheers!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We hosted a small corporate event for 2 days in The Galeria room. It was great to have an intimate meeting space that also offered beautiful views and lots of natural daylight. The staff was incredibly friendly and professional, especially Nikki, our Event Sales Manager, who helped me plan the event details, and David, our banquet server, who was courteous and totally on the ball.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Meeting Planner -
Thank you very much for making note of our banquet team member David and our sales manager Nikki. Our team strives to ensure that the expectations of our guests meetings are all in order and that extra attention to details are on point. We do hope that La V remains a first choice for your future meetings and events - thank you.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband, 22 yr. old daughter and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights last week in a King jr. suite.
I had researched all sorts of hotels and condos for our first visit to La Jolla and I am so glad I chose La Valencia. It is hands down the best location and has the best views in town. The pool area is great and it was so nice to enjoy it, have the bar/food service there and have the views at the same time. I checked out the other hotel just down the street and the pool area and views there do not compete.
The staff members we came across could not have been nicer. The guys at the pool cabana were exceptional.
I do wish that there were rooms at the property that would accommodate three adults with ocean views. (we had a town view). Also would have liked a private toilet area in the bathroom and a magnifying/makeup mirror.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely will return.

Room Tip: check square footage on the rooms. Some of the ocean view rooms can be very small but worth the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Fantastic Guest -
Your marvelous review and comments are greatly appreciated - thank you. I am especially pleased to hear that our pool/cabana staff delivered some great services.
Please know that we do offer suites and villas with ocean views that can accommodate 3 guests via the king bedroom and sleeper sofa in the living room. Call direct when your ready to ready and our team will give you some more options.
See you soon and again, thank you.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas suburbs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We extended a business trip and stayed at the Grand Del Mar prior to moving down to the La Valencia for a couple of days. We arrived early and the front desk checked us in and wrote my cell on the credit card form to call us when the room was ready...six hours later no call and we got tired of walking around so we went to check on it and they said "We don't have your number to call you". The reason that I am conflicted about this hotel is you have some great staff members and you have equally as many staff that seem to care less. The room was nice but you can see the wear of the hotel, the room, and the pool. On Friday the 25th about 6 PM we stopped at the lounge bar and the bartender was just plain rude to us and also to another gentleman that was there and we just looked at each other and shrugged our shoulders thinking he was having a bad day but then the night bartender came in and was the greatest guy with a great sense of humor. The guys out at the pool bar were great but then the café waitress was juts absent. Can you see why I am conflicted? If you check my reviews, I really don't give bad reviews because I tend to stay in nice properties.

Room Tip: Room 908 had an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallascouple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Important Guest -
Our apologies on the poor start to your La V stay. We reviewed our registration cards and indeed found that the desk agent had folded your phone number over and the next agent missed the information - a terrible and avoidable mistake. I do appreciate your comments on encountering many other great staff - that was very fair of you and most appreciated. We work towards excellence daily and improvement come from shared opportunities like yours.
Thank you also for posting some great shots from your room - we do hope that the tranquil ocean views are a welcome part of your La Jolla stay.
We'll work harder - thank you for sharing.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I picked this hotel based on its gorgeous pictures and excellent reviews. My 19yo daughter and I were planning a mother daughter trip to celebrate her high school graduation (which was awhile ago, but we hadn't celebrated). I mentioned this when booking a vintage king room, one of the smaller rooms on the property. Upon check in, we learned we had been upgraded to suite 25. Upon entering the room, we gasped, because this was a gorgeous, full ocean view room with a giant picture window! It also had a big bathroom with a deep granite soaker tub, and a huge glass shower (with the best rain head ever). As a new empty nester, I so appreciate the hotel's thoughtfulness in upgrading us for this important trip together. This is day 3, and right now I am soaking in the luxurious tub while my daughter reads on a sunny balcony overlooking the water. It doesn't get much better than this! We will definitely be coming back, again and again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJFDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mother Daughter Guests -
Home Run and thank you. I am so happy to know that our teams extra efforts and attention made this special occasion more special. Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience while you were still here - that means a great deal to us.
Please plan to escape to La V for more family bonding - we're ready.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the regions most scenic and stunning coastline, world-class museums, indulgent shopping and galleries, La V is the perfect blend of location and recreation. The hotel's Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm with contemporary services and amenities in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 coastal-inspired luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas featuring stunning views of La Jolla and the Pacific Ocean, lush tropical landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar with casual Modern European Cuisine or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant featuring New American Cuisine. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing