We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!”
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was here participating in a symposium and was delighted with the elegant accommodations, attentive hospitality and delicious food at La Valencia. The staff handled a housekeeping back up at check in superbly, and appropriately. Plus, I sure didn't mind a leisurely stroll around La Jolla while my suite was made available!
Tip: Have Kevin, the pool bartender make you a raspberry mojito while you bask by the pool and watch the surf . . .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Wonderful Guest -
Don't you love those mojitos from Kevin - they are truly great! Please accept a big thank you for taking time to share your experience; we are very happy that La V made your stay for a symposium more enjoyable.
Ciao!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    241
    87
    41
    15
See reviews for
226
586
30
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

La Valencia Hotel is a well located, lovely spot to rest and relax while exploring the La Jolla and San Diego area. The pool is a quiet and comfortable refuge, with lounge chairs that tempt you to "stay in" and poolside beverages and towels nearby. The vantage point of the Pacific from oceanside rooms and one of the hotel's many restaurants is unparalleled, and on par with the view from George's on the Cove. Valet service isn't inexpensive, but it's very convenient, offers in and out privileges, and complimentary water bottles each time you step into your car. The concierge is helpful and knowledgable, but this caliber hotel calls for more than 9 to 5 concierge service. The front desk staff does its best to fill in, but this is an area that could be improved. The rooms are lovely, and the bed very comfortable. It is an older hotel, even though it has been updated...so, some of the bathrooms are very small and the humidity seems to linger in the guest rooms. Prices can be high during peak times, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a plus; rooms with 2 queen beds have larger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJMMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Luxury,
Many thanks for sharing your review and comments on our vintage hotel. I am very happy that your overall stay was enjoyable. I love you description of La V as a refuge as the property does act like a secret escape from an otherwise hectic world for many travelers - we hope you can return soon.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was the second time we stayed in La Valencia. First time we stayed in the very stately room on the (high stairs) second floor, but elevator did not work So this time we booked a suite on the 1st floor. It had 2 rooms and a beautiful bathroom, but there was no day light in the bedroom and the whole furnishing was kind of shady and gloomy. On the other side, service ( the front desk, restaurant and valet) was perfect, food delicious, especially breakfast and location \was superb with an easy access to shopping, entertaining and Restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Pretty in Pink -
I am more than pleased to see that the main stand out in your hotel experience was our service and staff; thank you. Above all that we offer, service is our most important asset. As a vintage property our room types, locations and amenities can vary - thank you for sharing your experience.
Warm regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

One of the original old hotels that date from the time LaJolla was a small community on the West Coast. The hotel has maintained the great service and ambiance of those times. The rooms are well-kept, A/C is strong, and the beds excellent If you are able to have one of the room facing the Pacific you will have a hard time leaving your room. Between the hotel and the ocean there is a park overlooking the beach. Only the gulls interrupt the peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venice Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Great Guest -
La V thanks you for sharing your great comments on our vintage hotel - we are one of the California coastal originals and we do believe we're getter better with age!
See you again soon -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

You might keep looking. While this property was very centrally located with a most friendly and gracious staff, the words "cramped" and "tired" come to mind when considering our recent stay. Based on many of the reviews I had read here (as well as the hefty room rate) I was expecting a bit more luxury in all honesty. Our room was tiny with one king bed - reminded me of the hotel rooms in NYC. And, our room and its adjacent common areas had seen much better days with worn carpeting, bathroom fixtures, towels... event the woodwork around our room's door frame was quite worn. The pool had a nice setting overlooking the La Jolla cove, but plan to rise and shine to squat a seat along the deck. Very limited seating and lots of folks chatting away on cell phones as if they were the only people in site. Really disappointing! During our stay, when we were able to find a seat (in the very late part of the day) the chairs were often quite soiled with wet towels, leftover food and droppings from the seagulls. Again, the friendly staff would have to be the high point of our experience here. I will say that upon completing a guest survey upon our departure I did receive a prompt reply from a member of the management team extending their apologies. Perhaps they are aware of the situation and changes to the physical facility will soon be on the way? If you can somehow secure a discounted rate, you might be fine. But in my opinion we way overpaid for the mediocre experience here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 592susanpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Rest & Relaxation -
I am very sorry to see that your La V experience was less than grand. Occasionally summer week ends can push the limits of the pool capacity when everyone chooses to stay at La V vs. venturing out to the beach or shore - I am sorry that it was a challenge to obtain seating. I do and can appreciate the comments on the pool cushions and seagulls - this is a daily maintenance process and one we place as a high priority.
La V clearly offers several room types - small, medium and large. Many guests do love the intimacy of our Vintage Ocean view rooms which average 250 sq. ft. and offer stunning views of the ocean; they are a great value. Should you seek larger accommodations that the Classic rooms and Villas offer more space at appropriate rates. Your comments on worn carpets are a concern as we completed a full guest room renovation last year which included all new corridor carpeting installed in December.
Thank you for sharing your comments - we will continue to work on delivery of a great experience.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Beautiful old hotel, well maintained. Lobby, bar, restaurants, pool area are all superb. Rooms are clean, well decorated, great beds, excellent air conditioning, free wi-fi. It's expensive, especially in high summer season, but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Grande Guest -
THANK YOU very much for the great review - it is sincerely appreciated. The team at La V works hard every day to ensure our vintage hotel experience is special and we're pleased it resonated for your stay.
Cheers!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We hosted a small corporate event for 2 days in The Galeria room. It was great to have an intimate meeting space that also offered beautiful views and lots of natural daylight. The staff was incredibly friendly and professional, especially Nikki, our Event Sales Manager, who helped me plan the event details, and David, our banquet server, who was courteous and totally on the ball.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Meeting Planner -
Thank you very much for making note of our banquet team member David and our sales manager Nikki. Our team strives to ensure that the expectations of our guests meetings are all in order and that extra attention to details are on point. We do hope that La V remains a first choice for your future meetings and events - thank you.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
917 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing