We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveller rating
849
275
108
48
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
275
108
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink ladywhaling barcafe la ruebeautiful hotelocean viewlobby barbottle of champagnerooms are smallsan diegocenter of la jollasea lionsscripps parkold schoolluxury hotelan older hotelvalet parkingvalet service
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Historic hotel, located in the heart of La Jolla. Close to shopping, restaurants, and nature. Stayed here for a girls trip. Beds were very comfortable, service was excellent. Rooms are generally in need of a refurbishment, but the beds are super comfy! Great views from the casual restaurant.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Candace0nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa K, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

CandaceOnc,

Thank you very much for sharing your great review. Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Melissa King, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Just got back from a week in California. Our final three days were spent at the LaVelencia. The location is excellent. The lobby and bar area were very nice. Our room was a little worn and the carpet had a big stain in it. It needed to be cleaned and I am surprised that housekeeping did take the time to do it before it was rented. In addition, we almost ran out of toilet paper housekeeping should have noticed we were down to the final roll and replenished it , lack of attention to detail.
If the carpet was clean and the housekeeping did a better job definitely would be a 4 star.

Room Tip: Check your room before you set in.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa K, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

We're glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we're sorry you had concerns with your room. We hope we can exceed your expectations the next time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Just checked out today. Hotel Concierge Robert and Andrew made our family staycation as smooth as possible. Didn't get the Junior Suite on time so they gave us the Villa King Garden instead which was an upgrade! Andrew was especially very concerned that they were 10 minutes late in checking us in. Lovely garden view of the hotel with the holiday lights. Villa was clean and luxurious. Luxurious bed sheets and comforter. Andrew got us the missing extra blanket for my kid like lightning! Spacious bath and huge jacuzzi. Even a telephone in the toilet! Had in dining breakfast. Andrew recommended The Carne Asada Benedict for breakfast. It was heaven for my hubby this morning! My daughter had fun in 82 degree pool and also had fun at the bubbly hot tub. Entire Staff from Pool to Kitchen, was courteous and friendly. Special Superb service from both Andrew and Robert! Check out the pics.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa K, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

We are so glad your staycation was a success! We're happy that Andrew showed you the excellent guest service we are known for. We hope to welcome you back again here at La V someday soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

I have stayed in over 50 hotels this year and La Valencia was the best.

Service was excellent particularly the front desk and Edgar in the dining room.

Location meant we could walk anywhere we needed to go including restaurants and the beach.

No resort fee and parking on the hill meant incidentals were low for our final bill.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank RedRoy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed here on a work trip and found both the hotel and the staff amazing! The hotel is in walking distance of restaurants and the beach. The bar staff was super friendly and attentive. I would 100 percent stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank emmoeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa K, Marketing Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we're looking forward to getting to welcome you back sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews