We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to everything yet away from the madness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
1 review
“Close to everything yet away from the madness”
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Been coming to San Diego for years and have always stayed at suite hotels. Chose this hotel because the price was more affordable. We were concerned that it would be run down, but were pleasantly surprised at the updated rooms and lobby. The location is fantastic. It is right off the 5, there are many restaurants and shops near by. Rooms are a little small, but manageable. We even had breakfast included in the price of the room. It was great to go to breakfast and be waited on and not have to fight for a place in line at a buffet. Janet was wonderful every morning that we were here. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglefn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Hello eaglefn20,

I am so pleased to read your comments about your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our location and room renovations as well as the value of our rates! I am also so happy to pass along your compliments to Janet at Humphreys, we love her! I hope to see you on a future stay.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    434
    204
    80
    38
See reviews for
368
295
86
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I travel to San Diego often due to business at UC San Diego hospital. The usual hotel I stay at was booked. I selected this hotel based on the comparable price. I viewed the photos online and was impressed since Sheratons are not as good as other chains. Upon arrival, I was disappointed since the online photos did not depict the actual hotel. All rooms must be entered from the outside, apart from the lobby. The rooms are grouped in sections, but since you must walk around at night, it is not safe. Upon entering the floor (with your room key), the hallway was very old. Inside the room, it was dark and the furniture and decor was not new as displayed in the photos. Bathrooms are very small. Not enough lighting in the room. I do not intend on returning here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyV888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Hello DannyV888,

Thank you for staying with us at the Sheraton La Jolla. I do appreciate you taking the time to send your comments about your experience with us. It is important for our guests to know that our accommodations fit a tropical resort layout more than a high rise hotel since our guest rooms are located in five different buildings that encircle a garden courtyard area with koi ponds and a swimming pool.

We do also feature various room types; Traditional, Deluxe, Executive, and Suites which feature different amenities, square footage, and views. All of our room descriptions and photos are available on our hotel website and are current with our most recent renovations. I apologize if you may have been under a different impression for what your exact room would look like based on seeing an alternate room type pictured online. I hope that you may give us another chance to book you with a room type that will delight you on a future stay. I am happy to take care of any future reservations personally for you.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2011

When I went to the restaurant, I was discouraged from using my laptop at the table. The neighboring table was engaged in sex talk. I asked for an alternate table, but despite a nearly empty restaurant, I was told that the waiter could not accommodate it at that time. The bar & grill had karaoke night which was distracting and no tables were free.

I asked the front desk for a eating destination in walking distance and was informed that none were available, but a little self exploration revealed two pizza places and a mexican place in half a block!

Perhaps you can sleep here, but don't expect much else.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IggyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Hello IggyB,

I apologize for your frustration during your recent stay with us. I know that our restaurant staff does try to accommodate every guest request, and I'm sorry if we did not completely understand your needs. My front desk staff is always happy to provide suggestions and they have maps readily available to the various eateries within walking distance of the hotel, so it sounds like there may have been a disconnect when you spoke to the front desk agent. Again, I do apologize for your frustrations and I hope you will give us a chance to give you a true Sheraton experience with us on a future stay.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I stayed in room 821 from 2/28 through 3/2. The bathroom door design is incredibly poorly done. Major pain in the neck accessing both the toilet and bathtub. I travel quite a bit and stay in a fair number of hotels. I usually try to stay in Hilton Garden Inns because their mattresses are very good; never have any issues with backpain. Unfortunately, after one night on your mattress my back was spasming and hurting; somehow your mattress does not do well with my back. Staff was very friendly; restaurant was above average; overall facility was nice, but given your bathroom design and my problems with your mattress I will very likely select another hotel in the future, even if that means paying a little more.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethernic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Hello ethernic123,

I appreciate you taking the time the post your comments about your recent stay. While I am very pleased to hear that our staff provided their usual friendly service and that you enjoyed our restaurant and grounds, I am sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as comfortable as you would have liked. We feature the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds, which are normally found to be very cozy, but please know that we are happy to provide extra cushioning should our guests find the mattress too firm and we will certainly place bed boards for additional support under the mattress should our guests find the mattress too soft. I hope that your travels may bring you to us again, and please feel free to contact the hotel directly so we may ensure that your accommodations are as comfortable as possible!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stay here for a Conference from UCSD. The location was the reason to select.
We just had a "white night" in this place due to the very old AC that makes loud sound very 20 minutes. No than that, the noise of blowing air (?) from parking lot at 6:00AM Sunday seems not very typical. I am going to ask for another room today, otherwise, I would rather waste my money on it to look for another hotel nearby.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyMindTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
EasyMindTraveler,

I am sad to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. From your review, it sounds like you were going to request a room change, which we are always happy to accommodate to the very best of our ability. I hope you gave us the opportunity to provide you with a guest room that did not have any excessive noise distruptions, and please know that we do appreciate when our guests can alert us to any issues with our in-room amenities such as the air conditioning unit so that we may better maintain these offerings. I would be happy to personally assist with any accommodation needs for you should your travels bring you back to La Jolla, and we would welcome to opportunity to show you an amazing Sheraton La Jolla experience!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

i am a multi-year spg platinum traveller and i see good and not so good hotels. this was the worst sheraton i've seen in years. tired, dark, poor furnishings, overpriced parking and at $200 for the night the biggest con i've seen in years.

i checked in. i saw the room. i drove to the hilton on the torrey pines golf course which was superior in every way...and it was cheaper too. i like myself too much to stay at the sheraton la jolla and the $200 bill was simply a sunk cost.

do yourself a favour and do not stay here

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moxhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Hello moxhey,

I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your guest room. While we certainly cannot ensure that each guest will absolutely love our accommodations, please know that our staff will make every attempt possible to make sure your guest room is comfortable and relaxing and I wish we would have had the opportunity to provide you with a fantastic stay and wonderful service. It sounds like you had a successful trip to La Jolla, and I do apologize that our accommodations were not what you were looking for.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I went to San Diego for a conference/my first time in town. The hotel was very conveniently located near UCSD, and the Children's Pool is an easy 10-15 minute drive away. There is also great food in downtown La Jolla, which is very trendy and filled with great options. The staff I checked in with was very helpful and welcoming. I even got a room upgrade for free just for being a Starwood Guest member. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the room was very spacious. Bonus: free wifi and there is also plenty of street parking available so you don't have to pay the $10/day for the lot. It's also a very safe neighborhood - I would definitely stay there again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slam01342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
3.0 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton La Jolla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton La Jolla Hotel

Property: Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Address: 3299 Holiday Ct, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton La Jolla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton La Jolla, a resort-style hotel on 7.5 acres of tropical beauty. Located less than a mile from University of San Diego, La Jolla VA Hospital, Salk Institute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton La Jolla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton La Jolla
La Jolla Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing