We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay in La Jolla”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay in La Jolla”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked my stay online and was very satisfied with facilities. Quiet and clean and comfortable in the center of where we wanted to be.
We stayed in one of the outer buildings and it was simply for sleeping after a long day. The room was quiet, clean and the air conditioning was almost silent.
What more can you ask for a Sheraton.
I would return

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Hello djstone,

Thank you for your review! I'm so glad to hear that the Sheraton La Jolla was a great base for your La Jolla visit. We hope to see you next time!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    434
    204
    80
    38
See reviews for
368
295
86
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I just recently hosted a meeting for 50 people from all over the U.S. at this property, which is in a lovely, secluded and quiet location, despite its proximity to the freeway. The grounds are lovely and the rooms are clean, spacious and inviting. Staff is friendly and accommodating and made my entire group feel very welcome. The food from the catering department, restaurant and room service was all outstanding. There is a small shopping center within easy walking distance and several restaurants for those guests who didn't have a car but wanted to venture out. Bus ervice to a larger mall is only a few block's walk. The meeting went off exceptionally well and I would use this property again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hello mizill,

Thank you for such a great review! I am so happy that we were able to serve your group and that everyone enjoyed their stay. Thank you for the compliments to the Catering Department and the rest of the staff; I will certainly pass them along. I hope that we will have the opportunity to see you during another session or perhaps on a vacation trip next time!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This Sheraton is convenient to the adjacent shopping center with a CVS (for any of the basic necessities), Whole Foods (we made several visits!), Peet's Coffee (friendly service, great coffee), and Sprinkles Gourmet Cupcakes (yum!). It was an easy drive to La Jolla Cove and La Jolla Shores, and it's easily accessible to the highway for trips to downtown San Diego and to Mira Mesa.
The room was samll, a bit dated and dark, but clean and comfortable. We were sad that we didn't have a balcony/patio from our room (the 700's). The workout room was also small.
It's a nice place for a stopover trip, and there were several soccer teams staying for a weekend tournament, but I wouldn't go there for an extended family vacation.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a patio or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello PJG66,

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and easy access to the neighboring shopping center. I do apologize that your room expectations were not met. We unfortunately do not feature any rooms with balconies, but we do have a select few rooms with patios, namely on our Club Floor. Should you decide to make a return visit please feel free to contact me directly and I would be happy to assist with booking a patio room for you. We wish you wonderful travels.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
kruskofsky@sheratonlj.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Not what I expected from Sheraton. Clean and comfortable rooms but it is not as nice the high rise Marriott across the street at the same price point by a long. No lobby area and it feels like a roadside resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank International-Dov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hello International-Dov,

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments regarding your recent stay. I do apologize that this may have not been the right hotel for you. We do have many guests that enjoy our low-rise resort style layout, but I can certainly understand that it may not be for everyone. We wish you wonderful travels in the future.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Arrived at 3 pm, thinking it was early, only to find out that check-in starts at 3 pm. Please see attached photo of the sign that greets you in the lobby. The front desk person said my room wasn't ready. Nothing more frustrating then waiting after official check-in time for a room that should be ready. She said it would be ready in 10-15 min. I waited patiently for 30 minutes with no follow-up. When I returned and talked to another front desk person, it was somehow ready. Terrible service to greet a guest on the first night of the stay. The hotel itself is old and looks old, but the rooms have been updated. They would be better served to update the rest of the hotel. Pool was nice, but cheap, thin towels to dry off. The breakfast was good. Overall, between the initial greeting and the age of the hotel, I will find a better option on my next time through La Jolla.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool, if not you will be looking at the parking lot. Also only 2 floors, get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natedawg4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hello natedawg4040,

Thank you for sending your comments regarding your recent stay. I do apologize that your initial experience was not up to the true Sheraton standard we strive to provide. If you would like to contact me directly, I would be happy to research your reservation and see what the delay was with having your guest room ready and try my best to make it right for you at this point. We do appreciate your comments and hope we may have another opportunity to give you a fantastic stay next time.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
kruskofsky@sheratonlj.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in a junior suite for three nights and it was very comfortable for a family of four (2 boys ages 5 & 7). The kids enjoyed the pool and my husband liked walking to Peet's for his morning coffee. Nice location, convenient to most attractions. The bath tub did have some draining issues, but that was addressed promptly, with a call to follow up with us to make sure the problem was fixed to our satisfaction. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA94566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Hello CA94566,

Thank you for sending in your comments regarding your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the hotel grounds and location. My apologies for the issue with the bathtub; I am glad to know that the issue was taken care of quickly and efficiently for you. We hope your travels will bring you to stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Beautifully maintained grounds and well-appointed rooms. Executive Bldg. is lovely. Could use more front desk staff (many times there was only one person there, and several guests waiting, and our bill was not slipped beneath our door prior to check-out). Chose this hotel for its central location, decent rates and amenities; did not use the pool but wish we'd had time to.

Room Tip: Ask for the Executive Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Hello Sheri888,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found your guest room well-appointed. I do apologize for any delay at the Front Desk; we will certainly work to make sure that the correct level of staffing is available at all times. I am happy that your stay was successful and we will hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
3.0 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton La Jolla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton La Jolla Hotel

Property: Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Address: 3299 Holiday Ct, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton La Jolla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton La Jolla, a resort-style hotel on 7.5 acres of tropical beauty. Located less than a mile from University of San Diego, La Jolla VA Hospital, Salk Institute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton La Jolla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton La Jolla
La Jolla Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing