We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel is very convenience to the mall and UCSD There is a gate right off the parking lot which provide passage directly to the mall; so, one doesn't need to trek around to the front of the mall. You'll need your room key to come back through the gate, though. The room was well furnished and the beds were very comfortable.

On the downside, they gave me a room with a view of the parking lot, even though the hotel wasn't very full. The walls don't have much sound insulation. We were awaken in the at 3 AM by what sounded like cabinets closing (not slamming) from the adjoining room. This lasted for 1/2 hour - weird.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hello John L,

Thank you for sending your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear that there was noise disturbance next to your guest room. While we are generally very happy to provide upgrades, the availability of upgrades would need to be looked at for the duration of your stay as oftentimes not all nights may be available. I would welcome you to contact me directly should you want to book a return visit and I would be happy to help select a room that will delight you. Thanks again for your comments and I will hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
kruskofsky@sheratonlj.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    443
    211
    80
    39
See reviews for
383
306
88
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Came here for a weekend. Got a lovely renovated room on a Starwood Preferred Guest Room. Room was large, well furnished and quiet. All it was missing was an in-room safe. Hotel is situated in a lovely area near the university with 2 large shopping areas right behind hotel. Tons of restaurants close by or if you prefer a meal in your room, Whole Foods, Trader Joe's and Ralph's are a short stroll away.

What upset us was that our room was never cleaned promptly. We are early risers-out of of our room by 8. There are no tags available to request early housekeeping. On the first day, we came back at 3:30 to find staff just starting to clean. We went back to lovely pool area for another 30 minutes. By the way, hotel could upgrade pool towels - not much larger than a hand towel with the feel of coarse sandpaper. On the second day, we came back after 4 and cleaning had not even begun and staff at other end of hall. We decided just to get some towels and shampoo and clean the room ourselves!!!

Now I can understand the need to keep checking in customers happier but should there not be a system in place to give priority after those rooms have been cleaned to existing customers' asking for early cleaning? Wrecked what would otherwise have been a nice weekend stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hello Dogswood,

Thank you for sending your comments regarding your recent stay. We do appreciate your concerns and are pleased to say that we are working to create a new system for guests to be able to request their preferred time for housekeeping service. I know this will go a long way in creating an enjoyable stay. Thanks again for your comments and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Horwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I suspect when this Sheraton resort hotel was first built in the late '60's it was an absolutely top class hotel.

I understand the rooms are undergoing renovation, which is good to hear as the wall paper in our room was peeling off at the edges, the furniture was dated, the TV remote barely managed to change the poor television signals.

The bathrooms are very small.

The dated hotel bar was used for watching American Football and Karaoke in equal measure.

Parking had to be paid for - warning to future guests who park outside the hotel - there are zealous parking enforcement officer's looking to write a ticket!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnlmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello johnlmoore,

Thank you for sending your comments regarding your recent stay. Yes, you are absolutely correct that we are currently undergoing room renovations. I know that these changes will bring a welcomed refreshed look to our accommodations. We anticipate being finished by the end of the year and I hope that your travels may bring you back to see them!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed two nights. Comfortable bed. Room nice, but wallpaper bubbling in some areas. Very nice pool area - should have spent more time there. Did not try the restaurant, plenty of places to eat in the mall next door. Would stay again but probably not for more than a few nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnOnTheFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hello FinnOnTheFly,

Thank you for staying with us at the Sheraton La Jolla. I'm happy to read that you had a successful visit. I'm pleased to report that we are currently undergoing renovations in our guest rooms and anticipate being finished by the end of the year; I hope that you will be able to come back and see the updates!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Centro, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Had outpatient surgery at a nearby hospital and wanted to stay close for a couple of days. The Sheraton La Jolla was the perfect place to stay at a reasonable price. We enjoyed our quiet clean room....the bed was very comfortable! Delicious food at HUMPHREY'S!!! Enjoyed the pool and hot tub with beautiful surrounding gardens....we will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geobell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hello geobell2,

Thanks for your great review! I'm glad you had a relaxing stay with us and were able to take advantage of the hotel offerings such as the fantastic pool area and onsite restaurant, Humphreys. We hope that you will be able to stay with us for a leisure visit in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here recently and loved the feel of the place. I couldn't make it to Hawaii but this was an excellent alternative. Close to beaches, shops and restaurants. The landscape of the grounds and interior decor of the rooms made it seem like I was on a tropical vacation. Friendly and attentive staff and excellent amenities.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WWebb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hello WWebb2013,

Thanks for your great review! I am so glad that we were able to provide a relaxing escape to you during your visit. I hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again when you come to Southern California next time!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is very nice. The front desk staff was pleasant. The hotel was conveniently located right off the freeway. I had the breakfast package and the food and service was very good.The bathroom was a bit small but clean.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael3991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hello Michael3991,

Thank you for sending your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm happy to hear that the Bed & Breakfast package was enjoyed; we sure do love our onsite restaurant, Humphreys. I hope that your travels will bring you to stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,048 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
2.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton La Jolla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton La Jolla Hotel

Property: Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Address: 3299 Holiday Ct, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton La Jolla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton La Jolla, a resort-style hotel on 7.5 acres of tropical beauty. Located less than a mile from University of San Diego, La Jolla VA Hospital, Salk Institute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton La Jolla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton La Jolla
La Jolla Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing