We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a business hotel. room location scary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
753 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Not a business hotel. room location scary”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I recently got stuck at this hotel because I was attending a conference a mile away, that hotel was sold out. I usually enjoy Sheratons and am a Starwood Gold.
When I checked into the hotel I discovered there was no shuttle transportation period, not to even go one mile, which meant I was stuck taking taxis back & forth @ night. After checking in, I discovered my room was @ the very back of the property, It was outside of the main hotel, unprotected, Where anyone could have access to these rooms without a key to get in. the majority of the other rooms were inside the building & protected. Right off the highway. The front desk told me they were sold out. Next morning, mgr tried to move me but I went back to the convention hotel & they found me a room. Made this reservation awhile ago. Ironically another person made his reservation @ the last minute & got a good, safe room.

Room Tip: Don't stay where you don't feel safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hello Lisa B,

Thank you for sending in your comments. I do apologize that you were unhappy with your stay. I did want to share some of the additional information we spoke about in the morning when I offered to move your guest room. I explained that access into your guestroom building required a room key (which is true for all 5 of our guest room buildings) and that your guest room on the upper floor was absolutely safe. In any case, I understood that you prefered a room with an entrance in the main hallway and did hold one for you. Additionally, since you did not book a Garden View room, I did share that upgrades to larger and/or view rooms were given based on availability at the time of arrival. This time, due to high occupancy, many guests booked directly into upgraded rooms as standard rooms were sold out and this unfortunately did not leave the desired upgrade availlable for you. Again, we do apologize that you were unhappy with your stay and hope that your new room was fantastic and your conference was successful. We wish you wonderful travels in the future.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    444
    212
    80
    39
See reviews for
384
306
88
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I had a conference over at the Hyatt; try to stay at Starwood properties if convenient and this was.
Angela checked me in, very nice, acknowledged my Gold Status, upgraded without asking, gave a good lowdown of the property.

Rooms in E Building large, clean and updated. Grounds are beautiful. Both bar and restaurant were nice and had a local following.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichIrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello MichIrons,

Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear that Angela was a bright point during your visit and that we could be your home base during your conference. I hope that your travels may bring you to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Recently stayed at this Sheraton for a work trip, but will choose a different spot in the future. There were a lot of cons: super-tiny bathroom, shabby and slightly smelly rooms, and the hotel overall seemed quite dated. Pros were a comfortable bed, plus a pretty decent lunch in the restaurant. I did not consider this hotel to be expensive, but would probably pay more for a nicer stay elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank R0bin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello R0bin72,

Thank you for sending in your comments regarding your recent stay. I am happy to share that the hotel is currently undergoing room renovations and we are looking forward to completing all rooms and sharing this refreshed look with our guests. Please know that we do offer Executive Rooms which feature more spacious bathrooms. I hope that you will give us another chance on a future visit to La Jolla; I would be happy to personally assist with any return reservations to ensure that you have a successful visit next time!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
kruskofsky@sheratonlj.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I normally do not write reviews as most places fall within decent range, with some good and some bad points, but this hotel was just amazing. I did my research before I booked and knew I wanted to be in the excutive building. New and larger room for a traveling family. I was not disappointed. We were on the club level and had a wonderful walkout patio overlooking the courtyard. When you think courtyard I was not expecting something that looked like a courtyard I have seen in Hawaii but that is what you get. From the birds of paradise to the koi pond and pool (although I have to agree with another review... the towels could be improved alot), its just beautiful. Even my 4 year old liked it better than the hotel we stayed at Disneyland! The resturant on site was delicous and with the coupon they give you makes it so very reasonable. The location is excellent. It was a 10 minute drive to everywhere we wanted to go and the shopping center behind than can easily be walked to was icing on the cake. But I have saved the best for last. The Staff! We have stayed in many hotels and the staff at this hotel is beyond excellent. They are not just professional, they are warm, knowledgable and helpful. This was truly the case from the front desk, to the bell hop to the ladies of the club lounge. This is the place Sheraton should be using as an example on how staff should be. Kudos!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnD1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello DawnD1004,

Thanks so much for your great review! I am so happy to hear that your time at the Sheraton La Jolla was stellar! We appreciate all of your compliments to the hotel offerings and the hotel staff. I will certainly pass along your sentiments and we will look forward to seeing you next time!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The major plus of this hotel is the location off of the freeway and proximity to Torrey Pines. While the staff did give me an upgraded room (bonus!), I felt that the property was trying too hard to be a resort, without actually being a resort. Compared to a number of other Sheraton's, I felt the design of the property was a bit disjointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello kwward1,

Thank you for sending in your comments regarding your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary upgraded room. I do appreciate your comments and certainly understand that this property may not be a good match for you, but I trust that the service you received was top notch. We wish you wonderful travels in the future.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was a spur of the moment reservation and quite pricey. For what we got, we didn't think it was worth the price. The bathroom was the main complaint. It was the sink, the toilet and tub all in a row and that's how wide the bathroom was. There was just enough room to turn around. The bed was good. The room was clean. It was too cool to swim so we couldn't try that out but it looked nice. There was a charge for parking but if you go about 10 mins. north, you can alleviate that at other hotels in the area. It was close to the freeway and close to shopping and restaurants. No breakfast included but did give us a discount coupon for the restaurant on the premises for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bets425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hello bets425,

Thank you for sending your comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely delighted with your experience. We do offer Executive Rooms which feature much more spacious bathrooms and are well received by our guests. Should you decide you would like to give us another try I would be happy to assist personally with your accommodations to ensure that your return visit is successful.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
kruskofsky@sheratonlj.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California, USA
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you ever need a place to stay while you are visiting UCSD this is the location to be at. The parking is free if you are lucky enough to part in the front. Just remember to turn the wheels in toward the curb or you might get fined. If you are in a Club Room the food is great in the lounge. They even serve beer!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zemit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hello Zemit,

Thanks for your great review! I'm glad that you found our hotel convenient for your needs at UC San Diego. Also thank you for your compliments to the Club Lounge! We'll hope to see you next time.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
2.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton La Jolla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton La Jolla Hotel

Property: Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Address: 3299 Holiday Ct, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton La Jolla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton La Jolla, a resort-style hotel on 7.5 acres of tropical beauty. Located less than a mile from University of San Diego, La Jolla VA Hospital, Salk Institute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton La Jolla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton La Jolla
La Jolla Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing