We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a terrible place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a terrible place”
Reviewed 5 March 2011

i am a multi-year spg platinum traveller and i see good and not so good hotels. this was the worst sheraton i've seen in years. tired, dark, poor furnishings, overpriced parking and at $200 for the night the biggest con i've seen in years.

i checked in. i saw the room. i drove to the hilton on the torrey pines golf course which was superior in every way...and it was cheaper too. i like myself too much to stay at the sheraton la jolla and the $200 bill was simply a sunk cost.

do yourself a favour and do not stay here

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moxhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Hello moxhey,

I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your guest room. While we certainly cannot ensure that each guest will absolutely love our accommodations, please know that our staff will make every attempt possible to make sure your guest room is comfortable and relaxing and I wish we would have had the opportunity to provide you with a fantastic stay and wonderful service. It sounds like you had a successful trip to La Jolla, and I do apologize that our accommodations were not what you were looking for.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    449
    213
    81
    40
See reviews for
392
311
88
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I went to San Diego for a conference/my first time in town. The hotel was very conveniently located near UCSD, and the Children's Pool is an easy 10-15 minute drive away. There is also great food in downtown La Jolla, which is very trendy and filled with great options. The staff I checked in with was very helpful and welcoming. I even got a room upgrade for free just for being a Starwood Guest member. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the room was very spacious. Bonus: free wifi and there is also plenty of street parking available so you don't have to pay the $10/day for the lot. It's also a very safe neighborhood - I would definitely stay there again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slam01342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We enjoyed a great belated Valentine's get-away at the La Jolla Sheraton. The desk staff were warm and welcoming. We had drinks at Shooter's where the service was great. Our room in the Executive Suites was gorgeous, and the bed was heavenly. We enjoyed a stroll on the beautifully landscaped grounds to our delicious dinner at Humphrey's where the wait staff, food and setting were all wonderful.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkp9389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Hello tkp9389,

I am so pleased to read about your special Valentine's Day stay with us! Thank you for your kind comments about our guest rooms and grounds and the praise for both Humphreys and Shooters. I hope to see you and your sweetheart on a future stay, perhaps you will make this an annual tradition!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2011

First, the serive in Humphreys was terrible. We wen to dinner on Friday night 2/18 and it took forever. I had to aske about 6 times for kids menus and to get drinks. There were 9 of us and we all agreed we wouls not come back. The next day my husband, son, and I went to breakfast. I order ceral and milk the milk was sour and smelled very bad. I refused to pay for the bill. I found out later, that someone from our team had the very same experience with BAD milk. This was an aweful experience. I had set up about 10 rroms for our travel hockey team and would never recommend this hotel to anyone. We were also blamed for anothers teams behavior which I did not appreciate.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Hello mavy07,

I was sad to read the comments that you posted about your recent stay with us. I apologize for your experience at our restaurant, as this is certainly not the standard that we strive to keep for all of our guests and restaurant patronts. Please know that our restaurant and bar take pride in both their high quality offferings and service and I feel terrible that you encountered us on an "off" day. We very much appreciate the fact that you brought your traveling team to the Sheraton La Jolla as serving sports teams is a very important part of our business. I apologize if members of your group were offended by any staff member as they made sure that all of our guests have the most comfortable and enjoyable stay possible with us. I hope we may see you on a future trip to La Jolla and have the opportunity to give you a wonderful stay experience.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This is a older Sheraton with nice grounds. Lots of trees, center court-style pool and spa, hidden from the front, back and outer sides of the buildings. This is not your average hotel style but a series of bldgs with 2 floors of rooms. Ours was a Club Room which meant a sofa sleeper, coffee table, nice desk, small kitchen counter, bar-size sink, fridge, microwave, TV and DVD in Cabinet, patio, free wi-fi, free breakfast (up to $12.50 pp) and night-time hors d'oeuvres with 2 drinks each. However, our room and patio faced the rear parking lot and with all club rooms being on the 1st floor, there is a real bit of a "basement" feel. The patio and room are actually BELOW the parking lot level so you get what I mean. The 2 drinks are limited to beer, wine, soda, coffee but the hors d'oeuvres selection is fairly good. The on-site restaraunt is Humphrey's and although the menu is not huge, the food is good and the Hotel is pretty generous with its' 50% off coupons good for lunch and dinner. NOTE: No lunch served on Sat. and Sun. Breakfast items are right off the menu. How can you beat an omelet with toast and potatoes, a pancake stack and two juices (Yes, for two!) for a total bill of $.58. Right! .58 cents. This per the free breakfast passes (with your name and dates) good up to the $12.50 value per person. That is a deal! Location is a couple blocks off the freeway so very easy to find. Downtown La Jolla is only minutes away and San Diego itself just 10 miles or so. Staff is extremely nice and helpful. So, what is the issue here? Obviously the room. We experienced (as did the entire State of CA) a major storm that really hit at night. The gutters and downspouts on the rear of the building are LOUD! But, no rain, no noise. Even the freeway noise is fairly non-existant. Would we go back? Probably. BUT, we would make sure we had a room facing the pool or interior grounds. Last, parking is $10 per night but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UltraRider_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Hello UltraRider_08,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though you were here for one of the roughest storms we've had in awhile! We are so proud of our lush, tropical surroundings, which aren't usually found in a location like ours with such close access to a major freeway. Please know that we are happy to take room location requests from our guests and will certainly do everything we can to accommodate them, so I hope you will join us again on a future stay to La Jolla!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2011

nice clean joint, feels like it was an ex hospital, loud slamming doors from housekeeping in the morning, comfortable beds

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Close to shopping, restaurants and the courtyard is peaceful and beautiful! I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timberwolves08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Timberwolves08,

Thank you for your kind note about your recent stay at the Sheraton La Jolla! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the location and our beautiful grounds...I hope we will have the opportunity to see you on a future visit to La Jolla. Stay warm in Minnesota!

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,090 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
1.3 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton La Jolla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton La Jolla Hotel

Property: Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Address: 3299 Holiday Ct, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton La Jolla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton La Jolla, a resort-style hotel on 7.5 acres of tropical beauty. Located less than a mile from University of San Diego, La Jolla VA Hospital, Salk Institute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton La Jolla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton La Jolla
La Jolla Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing