We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, could have been great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winter Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good, could have been great.”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great location, valet's are cool, bartender Josie was nice, front desk Chantel and Guillermo were very good. Room was awesome and the views were amazing. Bad parts were; not enough propane tanks for the heater's at the bar, they rented out the restaurant upstairs for a Christmas party but did not inform the guest, for the happy hour they did not have enough snacks that went with the wines (one round of pizza rolls). For a Kimpton Hotel you would expect better service. More like 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btran321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
btran321, thanks for taking time to shre your feedback, it means the world to us! I'm so happy to see you enjoyed you stay. I'm sorry about the shortage of apps at wine hour, it sounds like we should have anticipated for more guests at wine hour for sure. We will ensure our guests are sufficiently informed in the future when the restuarant is unavailable, thank you for that feedback as well.

We've changed up our wine hour a bit and are offering more of a variety of small bites, I think you'll enjoy it on your next visit.

Cheers!
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    306
    148
    83
    69
See reviews for
256
360
56
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I had a such great experience staying at Hotel La Jolla during a trip last year, so I decided to give it another try this year. Well, I wasn't disappointed. The staff was extra helpful and friendly (especially Charrah (sp?) at the front desk). And the views from my room were amazing. Great views of the ocean and cliffs of La Jolla from anywhere in my room (including the shower). I will definitely stay here again. In fact, I already booked my next stay when I return in three weeks. I had planned on staying in another location closer to my work, but had such a great experience that I decided that extra travel time was worth it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank thestonewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
thestonewalker from Fargo, North Dakota, you have just made my day! Wow, I am so thrilled to see that you had such a fantastic visit to our little jewel....TWICE and even more knowing that you will be back to visit us again very soon! I sure hope I will have the opportunity to meet you on our upcoming visit.

P.S. I agree with you that Charrah really is the best!

Have a great day!

All my best,
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Had a great stay last month at the Hotel La Jolla. The lobby is really cool, nice California beach vibe. They have some bikes that you can borrow from the valet guys to cruise around the area which was nice. The location isn't perfect, its a short walk into town, but not a big deal if you have a car. About a five minute walk to some restaurants and just a bit further to the beach, I walked over nearly everyday so not too bad.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor so you can see the beach/ocean over the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miamicane77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We love you too miamicane77! Thank you for taking time to write a review and for giving us 5 STARS, woot woot! I'm so happy to see that you had such a great visit to our little jewel. It sounds like you were able to get a lot of walking in during your recent visit, don't forget that if you want to relax a bit, we have a house car that would be happy to take you to and from your various destinations in La Jolla. I hope you'll be back to visit us again soon.

Cheers!

Shannon Foster
General Manager
Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Let me first start off by saying that I am a big fan of the Kimpton brand, so I would probably take the review down a notch if not for the experience I have had with Kimpton overall. So on to the review.....
We stayed here for two evenings on our way back home from Hawaii. Because our flight was arriving at midnight I contacted Kimpton beforehand to let them know that we would probably not check in until 1:00-2:00 a.m. They assured me it was no problem and that my King room would be available. Fast forward to check in and the room was not available. Instead, the woman at the front desk tried to tell me that I had booked a Queen bed Garden view room (ground level). When I showed her my confirmation email for the King room, she then admitted that my room had been given away and that the hotel was sold out for the night. She was not overly apologetic about the issue, but after I expressed my dissatisfaction she replied by saying they would move us to an Ocean view King room in the morning. At this point we were so exhausted that we just went to our Queen bed room and slept.
The Queen bed room was very noisy, as it was right next to the elevators on the ground level (so you can imagine how busy that location is). It was really hard to sleep because it kept sounding like people were going to come in the room. When I woke up I called the Kimpton In Touch Number to express my figure out why our room had been given away. After I let the representative know what happened, I was shocked to learn that the special request had been deleted from the reservation notes. By the grace of God, I was very fortunate to get the same representative that I had spoken with when I notified Kimpton of the late arrival because she remembered the request and confirmed that someone had erased the notes section to look like I never made the request. She offered to contact the General Manager for the hotel and said someone would get back to me. Well, I never heard from the GM. Instead, we got a call from the front desk saying our other room was ready. I figured we would hear from someone at some point so we went upstairs and settled in. This room was definitely nicer and quieter. The small terrace was also really nice for relaxing and looking out over La Jolla. The only downside to the room was the lack of privacy for the shower/restroom. We didn't totally mind because we are married but I could see how some might not like it.
In any event, we never heard from the General Manager. Instead, they sent a note up with a bottle of wine saying they hope we enjoy our room. I will say I appreciated the gesture, but the reality is our room was still given away despite us calling AND they still charged us full price for the Queen room. Add that to the fact that there was some questionable integrity by the front desk person, and it just comes in at a sub-par Kimpton experience. While we did enjoy our second night on property, I am not sure that I could truly recommend or return based on the first night and the way it was handled.
As for the property itself, it has a really cute beach-y vibe. Location is great and convenient to everything in La Jolla (and there is a Starbucks right next door). We had drinks at Cusp and enjoyed that too (although we should have gone around sunset to take advantage of the views). So again, it is a nice property and a good value in La Jolla - but the service really needs to be stepped up to Kimpton level.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor rooms or any rooms near the elevator (it can be very loud).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SobeMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear SobeMMM,

Thank you so much for your time in writing this review and for the 4 STARS given your disappointing experience. I am at a loss for words on how this situation was handled on our end. Knowing you would be arriving late, we certainly should have ensured your reservation was in tact prior to your arrival. Our Director of Rooms was on property during the resolution of th ordeal with your reservation and was in touch with your husband throughout the day. I feel absolutely terrible that we did not connect regarding your experience. If you would like to discuss this situation further, I would love to chat with you about it.

You are welcome to contact me at the number below at your convenience.


All my best,
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Hotel La Jolla
shannon.foster@hotellajolla.com
858-551-3690
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had a company event at the Hotel La Jolla (Kimpton) with rooms, poolside welcome event and more for 15 high profile clients and executives in town for the Farmers Open. The rooms are beautiful the renovations here are perfect and they were very clean. We as well as our clients truly enjoyed the hotel, staff, services, the food was amazing, the views and location all more then what we had expected.

We are booking this event again next year thank you Hotel La Jolla team we appreciate your attention to detail. You should all feel cery proud you were truly amazing and we appreciate it!

See you soon for Saturday or Sunday brunch was thrilled to hear about this we are brunch lovers!

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel has to be great just check in and enjoy yourself! Each room was clean, quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Oh Tammy E, this is such a FANTASTIC review! Thank you so much for all of your flattering comments and the 5 STAR review, you've left us blushing. We can not wait to have your group back again next year!

Cheers!
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is a beautiful hotel and very close to the beach and many nice restaurants. The cruiser bikes that you can use are fun to take down to the beach but it is a difficult ride to La Jolla Cove. We were given a room on the second floor which was like an old motel room with the entrance on the outside, I believe the other floors had entrances on the inside. I am not sure if we were given this room because we were traveling with our dog or because of the special rate we used. But even though we were on a low floor, we did have a balcony with nice chairs and somewhat of a view. The room was nice but there is no bathtub (and I am told none of their rooms have tubs). Upon request we were provided a Keurig coffeemaker in our room which was nice. Overall nice hotel and very beautiful lobby area,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Lori S, thank you so much for the wonderful 4 STAR review! I am so happy to see that you had such a lovely visit to our jewel. I can assure you that all of the rooms have exterior entrances allowing you to soak up a nice breeze of fresh ocean air while walking to your modern guestroom with the exception of our garden patio rooms on the first floor. Don't forget that you can take a rest from those bikes when heading into the village, our valets are happy to take you to and from in our house car. I hope you'll be able to have a little getaway from that cold weather in Illinois and come back to visit us again soon.

All my best,
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Spectacular service, luxe rooms and hip and comfortable common areas make this the perfect hotel in La Jolla Cove. On a quick escape with my daughter before a college departure, we enjoyed s'mores in the evening and yummy appetizers and beverages, including a relaxing evening wine hour in front of a welcoming fire pit. Just a 5 minute walk to the beach and great restaurants - be sure to visit The Cheese Shop and Piatti. The hotel's own 11th floor restaurant, Cusp, offers delicious Italian entrees in a cozy luxurious setting with stunning ocean views. Fantastic for couples, families and business travelers - Hotel La Jolla is the perfect place with something for everyone. The service is warm and welcoming and really extraordinary.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Susan E, I am so flattered that you chose us for your mother/daughter getaway. You've described our beautiful jewel in the most eloquent way, we may not let you leave next tiime. We might just steal some of that verbiage for our upcoming website edits....we'll credit you in the foot notes. :) In all seriousness, I am thrilled we knocked it out of the park for you and your daughter and we can not wait to welcome you back.

All my best,
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.2 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,048 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
917 reviews
2.4 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 7955 La Jolla Shores Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#14 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with upscale decor and high end bedding and amenities. All non-smoking rooms, glass balconies, small gym, heated pool, walking distance to beach and La Jolla Shores shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Jolla Shores
At The Shores La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing