We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$217
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Jolla Shores Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$281
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Valencia Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$428
US$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveller rating
475
333
172
94
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
333
172
94
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorcusp restaurantwine hourfloor restaurantfree bikesrooms face the oceanocean viewminute walk to the beachmandatory valet parkingbusy roadoutdoor barvalet stafffloor roomsan diegofire pitkimptoncurios
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
994 - 999 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Pros :
- rooms are renovated, pretty nice if you don't look too much into details
- location is pretty good, 5 minutes drive to La Jolla Shores
- they didn't charge me for parking (usually 15 dollars per day)

Cons :
- the picture on the website is a photoshop fake, the ocean is close but not right there at all
- the whole hotel looks pretty old, like 70/80s style
- pretty noisy if your room is close to the freeway or close to the restaurant. Ask to be on the other side.

Overall, it's an OK value if you pay 60 bucks for it, not worth much more...

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliancarax31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed here for three nights after getting our room for a terrific deal on Priceline. The hotel is reasonably well located, within walking distance of a beach (but not the beach/shopping area that forms the central part of La Jolla). Our room had a nice view and was tastefully remodeled in a sort of minimalist/Asian style; it had a flat-screened TV with ample cable channels. The beds were comfortable, and although there is usually a charge for parking, a very nice hotel desk clerk let us park in the lot for free. (If you want to park for free, you can also just go down the road a couple of blocks and park in a safe residential area.)

The hotel did, however, have some significant negatives, the most important of which was a very strong smell in our room. It smelled like some kind of solvent, perhaps from the recent remodel, and after trying to air out the room to get rid of it and turning off the vents, we contacted the front desk to ask about it. We were told that the rooms had been remodeled some months ago but that we could be moved to another room. We were escorted to another room down the hall, but it had the same smell. There was another room available on a different floor, but it had been remodeled at the same time. If we hadn't bought our room on Priceline (nonrefundable), we would have left, despite all the hotel's good points. But since we couldn't get our money back, we stayed and just aired out the room each day as much as we could. Once we were in the room for a while, we (sort of) got used to the smell, but each time we entered it from outside, we were hit by the very strong smell.

Another problem was that several of the remodeling choices presented problems. Although they were relatively minor, we found them annoying. For example, the faucets were short, smooth vertical cylinders with a tiny (perhaps 1/8") bump on them for "grip." This was actually really irritating, because when your hands are wet or soapy, there's no way to turn the faucets--your skin just slips on them. So we were constantly gripping them with a washcloth just to turn them on and off.

The cutouts in the shower for holding shampoo were tilted downwards, which meant that we couldn't put our shampoo bottles there without them slipping and falling into the shower stall. A slight inconvenience, but annoying.

The bed frames jutted out, and all of us ran into them numerous times. Again, a minor problem, but irritating.

The shower stall was see-through glass from two sides, including from the main room. Although this might be nice if you're staying there by yourself and want to see through the room for the view, for most people it's probably a bit of a pain. The side leading to the main room had a screen that you could raise or lower (to prevent people from seeing you shower), which my son dubbed "the perv screen." The side facing the bathroom had no similar screen, so if you're taking a shower and someone else in the family has to use the bathroom, they'll see you in it.

We noticed that many small things in our room and the hotel itself hadn't been finished. For instance, there were supposed to be towel shelves in the bathroom--you could see where the supports were--but they hadn't been installed, so the towels were just neatly piled on top of each other. There was a hole around the sprinkler system in our room, and we saw several loose wires just sticking out of a wall. The hotel elevators were very odd, with some kind of plastic curtains around them inside and a very run-down feel.

Although we didn't mind that the hotel didn't have a business center, it would have been appreciated. At this point I think all hotels should at least have one computer with free internet access available for guests.

All in all, we wished we'd stayed somewhere else, though the smell (and its possible toxicity) was the biggest problem. If that were resolved, we'd probably stay there again, especially since it really was an excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We stayed at Hotel La Jolla for 4 nights and got the "web special" price. It was a great value and even my wife didn't find anything to complain about. That says a lot. The room was very "California modern" and was tastefully decorated. Large flat screen TV, nice shower and good reading lights. Free internet too. The hotel doesn't have some of the amenities of the big chains (like several restaurants on-site), but the location is good and overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handychgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

I was excited to visit San Diego for the first time with my wife, but the hotel was disappointing. The front desk manager was..interesting..and unhelpful. Our room had a beautiful view, but the internet connection was horrible, and the elevators were worn down and slow. Also the restaurant hamburgers were quite greasy and not worth the price. Was looking forward to something more luxurious.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxanne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Oh my, delay in getting this one up but here goes. Went for the Buick Invitational PGA TOUR. I too, am in the Industry and though it was not the usual hotels I stay at, I was very impressed by the service, location, and Clay's Restaurant. Got to meet the chef, had pictures and drinks with him, pleasant and kind. The concierge had duel rolls during the week, he was concierge, bellman, and shuttle driver. Very informative and helpful. View was outstanding especially at or near dusk. The burgers at Clay's, with me being from one of the beef capitals of north america, where some of the best I have ever had, Grilled to perfection, no overly juicy, crisp veggies, drinks were great. I was here before the remodel, I look forward to staying here again, just off the beaten path, well worth it for the price, lcoation, efficient, and pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endless_summer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews