We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiting and waiting ....”
Review of Coffee Cup

Coffee Cup
Ranked #2 of 24 Coffee & Tea in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
124 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Waiting and waiting ....”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Totally understand that you would have to wait to get a table at places like this - however waiting 40 minutes to see all the locals surpass you, not great. Gave up waiting after realizing that as a party of one with no connections, I would still probably be in line.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cialainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    30
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great breakast”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Menu is rather creative (yes can get the standard stuff).

I stopped in for a late breakfast while on a trip to Southern California and found a wonderful, creative menu. Service was attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrell_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast spot”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

For a party of 3 we only needed to wait 15mins on a Friday 10am. I thought that was pretty fair as its a fairly small spot.

My dad and I both enjoyed the Sou Chorizo Scramble. Yum! I had mine without tomato and it was amazing. Lots of the dishes come with Rosemary Potaoes, excellent.

Generous portions. I couldn't finish my meal so I asked for a box to take the rest home.

I have to thank YELP for finding this great spot

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast - Unlikely spot”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The wait was a little long because the restaurant is small, but the food was AWESOME. It is not the greatest atmosphere, but they make up for it with their great giant breakfast menu. We had pancakes and french toast, and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hearty, delicious breakfast.”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

While the setting is nothing, the food more than makes up for it. Its flavoral, hearty and perfectly cooked.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gyneriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee Cup also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Coffee Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing