We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hang out with seals & sea lions without paying Sea World ticket prices!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Children's Pool

Children's Pool
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.00*
and up
Tequila Sunset Electric Bike Tour of La Jolla
Ranked #8 of 77 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It was supposed to be a children's pool, but the harbor seals took over and it's a main tourist and local attraction. Great picture spot.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hang out with seals & sea lions without paying Sea World ticket prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Children's pool is a pretty spot where you can watch seals bask in the sunshine. Adults and children can swim near the animals or watch from a distance.

Why pay 50 bucks at Sea World when you can experience the magic of the ocean and the animals in their natural habitat?

We saw some dolphins in the distance too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vidushikc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    232
    88
    24
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool spot to see Seals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place is pretty amazing you can see crabs and the Seals just laying around there is a rock pier you can walk on also

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, Ca.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We took our 18month old to the Children's Pool a couple of weekends ago. We got there at 9:30 and easily parked on the street near the steps. By the time we finished putting on sunscreen, all of the spaces around us were gone. When we left about an hour and a half later, cars were stalking us for our spot... so my advice is go early!

There are lots of nice places to take pictures along street with beautiful ocean views in the background. Also, people in the area were very friendly and even stopped and offered to take pictures of my family.

The walkway near the seals wasn't crowded when we went, but I could see it being less enjoyable if it got crowded because it is quite narrow. It's fun to see the seals, but it is stinky.

The beach area is perfect for kids and toddlers. There were minimal waves, and the water was clear so my daughter really liked wading in. There are tidepools which would be fun for older kids to enjoy, too.

There are a lot of stairs to get to the walkway and beach, so keep that in mind if you have mobility issues. There were port-a-potties at the top of the stairs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hmsd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved the Children's Pool! There were so many seals, all playing in their natural environment! We saw more sealife in La Jolla than a previous trip to Sea World, and this was totally natural. No fees.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Seals!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

So the seals weren't lounging on the rock when I went, and I almost missed their heads bobbing around in the water. A few did climb up so I could get a picture so it wasn't a complete bust, and they were fun to watch. I loved the background, the caves, the beach...made for awesome pictures :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMC2366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Children's Pool also viewed

 

Been to Children's Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing