We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but interesting”
Review of La Jolla Caves

La Jolla Caves
Ranked #10 of 52 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seven elongated fissures in the cliff walls that can be entered during low tide.
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We walked along the rocks (slippery and uneven) to get to the cave
Very beautiful teaming with small wildlife (crabs, snails, etc)

Date of experience: January 2014
3  Thank eitalk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea lions"
in 84 reviews
"cave store"
in 20 reviews
"watch your head"
in 7 reviews
"gift shop"
in 17 reviews
"kayak tour"
in 25 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 22 reviews
"waves crashing"
in 8 reviews
"fun to watch"
in 15 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 7 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 6 reviews
"the cliff"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 6 reviews
"the pacific ocean"
in 7 reviews
"marine life"
in 7 reviews
"san diego"
in 16 reviews
"clams"
in 7 reviews
"tunnel"
in 18 reviews
Filter

444 - 448 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We took the San Diego bike and kayak tour for the 7 la jolla caves. It took a lot of courage to decide this tour being non-swimmers and no kayak experience. We had the triple seat kayak for me, my husband and our 9 year old. They fitted us with a life jacket and helmet. After a short instruction on rowing and safety on the ocean we were off on this adventure. Their are 6 kayaks for one tour guide. They will lead you through the waters. The surprise sighting of leopard shark, girabaldy fish and other sea life made it fun to kayak. The waves were calm and there was a lot of sunshine. There was no need for a wet suit. It is recommended to wear spandex type clothing that can dry quickly. the sea lions were abundant and a joy to watch them in their natural habitat.

Date of experience: December 2013
12  Thank Traveller46307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stopped here to do a dive but the waves were too big so we couldn't dive but we did stay to watch the wildlife for a bit. Our kids loved watching the sea lions. This is a little beach and free parking is very limited so get there early! On a hot day, the area is packed! Definitely worth a stop to take a look.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank Lisa015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

You have to go and take a lot of pictures there, The cove is beside of two nice beaches one is very calm perfect for kids like a swimming pool.

Date of experience: November 2013
3  Thank Juliano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We rented two individual kayaks for the morning and headed out to the caves with the watermap (several areas are prohibited including the caves and swimming areas). We floated around the only cave accessible for kayaks (only allowed with a guide). The cave is nothing special so we did not miss floating through. Really amazing is the cove next to the cave, packed with all kinds of birds including seagulls, pelicans, cormorants and some others, and seals lying on the rocks. The smell is deadly (accumulated dropping) but floating right next to the animals is quite a trip. We then headed towards the Scripps pier en spotted some playing seals. We carefully floated towards them and soon found ourselves in their midst. They played for half an hour of so around us (with a frequent peak at us) and then disappeared. At no point did we feel uncomfortable or unsafe, but we made sure not to paddle towards them too close. That was a thrilling experience!

Date of experience: November 2013
4  Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Jolla Caves also viewed

 

Been to La Jolla Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing