We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Mustangs & Burros

Mustangs & Burros
Ranked #72 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Southwestern, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Mustangs & Burros is a classic Territorial Ranch style restaurant with a cozy and intimate dining room, featuring a spacious patio reminiscent of a Spanish hacienda. Both areas feature wonderful and inviting fireplaces. Enjoy delicious small plates inspired by the Southwest and extraordinary house crafted cocktails, including innovative margaritas & our very own M & B Sangria, or join us for dinner and experience Chef Kramers' regional cuisine inspired by the season. The Mustangs & Burros Culinary Team pride themselves on utilizing locally grown and sustainable ingredients in a fresh, unique and imaginative way.
Temecula, California
1 review
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We bought our Tequila and appetizer deal on another site, but when we got there we were greeted by free Valet. The shrimp and scallops ceviche was delicious and the ambiance just as great. We sat outside and were taken care of by our server Yvonne who was beyond helpful and super sweet. We also ordered the shrimp quesadillas and fish tacos which both my husband and I were really impressed with. Great taste, flavor and presentation. After our meal we walked the grounds a little and every employee we saw greeted us. Highly recommend this place if you want to try something new, and feel like your at a resort far away while still in San Diego.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    49
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambiance”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just stopped in here for a late night snack- we each had the tomato bisque- it comes nicely presented with a dab of cream in the bottom of a bowl and then a pitcher with the soup - they pour the soup over the cream in the bowl. The soup was hearty and chunky- yum! I would recommend! We also shared a shrimp quesadilla which was very generously filled and came with salsa, guac and sour cream. We easily shared this item- no need to have your own. The only thing is it took a LONG time to get our food- but as my husband said- worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Patrick-evening manager -was extremely gracious and hospitable-came to stay at Estancia after change of vacation plans to east coast-my husband and I were thrilled with the ambiance, quality, and over all experience at Mustangs and Burro-we didn't want to leave resort for La Jolla( George's is our usual spot) because Patrick & servers at Mustang & Burros gave us such a great experience so we ate every evening there-thank you for the outstanding resort experience

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wow, our server, Scott A., was so courteous, attentive, and timely that we've been forever spoiled and can't wait to return. He graciously offered wine samples as we were unfamiliar with several of the labels. Scott's service style is so genuine and is the perfect blend of friendly and professional. Our entree's were absolutely delicious. My friend raved about the ahi while I savored the ravioli. The portions were perfect. The back-up service never missed a beat. A completely delightful experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elsiesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Another Mule please!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Atmosphere? A+
Food? A+
Outdoor dining (with heaters/fireplace)? A+
Service? A+
Met up with friends and this place was perfect for lots of chatting, great food and excellent Moscow Mules! Our server, Yvonne, was very sweet. We will definitely go back on our next San Diego visit. And it was only 1.7 miles from the the Hilton Torrey Pines so a great diversion.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NorthHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mustangs & Burros also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Mustangs & Burros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing