We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kid's 11th Birthday Party-French cooking class”

Harvard Cookin' Girl
Book In Advance
More Info
US$67.00*
and up
Adult Cooking Classes
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Harvard Cookin' Girl: La Jolla's First and Best Cooking School. We not only teach weekly classes on ethnic cuisine, but we also specialize in kids' birthday parties, corporate team building events, girls' nights out, adults' birthday parties, supper clubs, one on one classes, kids' chef series, and so much more! Come expand your palette and ignite your senses at Harvard Cookin' Girl!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kid's 11th Birthday Party-French cooking class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My daughter had her 11th birthday party at Harvard Cookin' Girl, and Bibi and Sue did a wonderful job. We customized a menu of Quiche Lorraine, crepes with nutella and bananas, and hot chocolate. The girls (only 5 total) got to participate a lot, and they loved that. Bibi and Sue also speak French, and as my daughter goes to a French school, they were able to speak some French and share a lot of their traveling and culture stories (they both speak several languages). The quiche was so savory and perfectly textured, I had 3 pieces! Bibi used a superb cheese that made a huge difference. She and Sue were also great about teaching the girls about safety and clean-up while they cooked. I also asked them to share some information about Nowruz which the girls did not know anything about, so they got a Persian cultural lesson as well! Their facility is spacious, clean and modern. We will definitely be back for the adult cooking lessons (maybe in French!) and the kids' summer camps! Thank you Bibi and Sue!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dscbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJHCG, Owner at Harvard Cookin' Girl, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Come back next to an adult event so we can impress you even more and stay connected to see more pictures and ideas for your events on our facebook page Harvard Cookin' Girl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    11
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Fe, California
1 review
“Wonderful French Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My three young daughters and I had a wonderful experience at Harvard Cookin' Girl. Sue, a visiting chef from Paris taught us to make Baguettes, Crepes and a delicious omelette. Bibi, the owner, was there to add commentary and expertise. All around we had a delightful time and look forward to going back soon!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJHCG, Owner at Harvard Cookin' Girl, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Come back next to an adult event so we can impress you even more and stay connected to see more pictures and ideas for your events on our facebook page Harvard Cookin' Girl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The good: the space is beautiful, elegant, clean. The owner, Bibi, clearly cares about aesthetics and has really lovely design sense. She also cares about hygiene and made sure the children understood how to work with food. Her choice of ingredients was all lovely - really nice olives, fresh pineapple, etc.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Valery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJHCG, Owner at Harvard Cookin' Girl, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you Valery for your review. Come back next so we can impress you even more and stay connected to see our pictures. https://www.facebook.com/HarvardCookinGirl?ref=hl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Everyone needs to EAT HERE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were invited to a team building exercise by our manager, and we'll just call him Moneybags, and he wouldn't tell us anything other than we would be cooking in La Jolla. Well, Moneybags held true to form and said nothing except finally giving us direction to the Harvard Cookin' Girl.
When we arrived we were welcomed warmly, even though Moneybags had to make it a point to wear his Yale jacket. Actually, I think the jacket is what set the stage for the evening and it got everyone off on the right foot.
Bibi hosts a top notch restaurant/ business and caters to your every need during your stay. The great food was cooked and served to our large group of eleven or twelve people, so it was a bit hard for us all to take part in the cooking process. We were all pampered very well and the food was nothing short of AWESOME!! Thank you Bibi, but most of all..... Thank you Moneybags for making this happen. I don't know what gave him the idea for this, but what a fantastic time we all had.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJHCG, Owner at Harvard Cookin' Girl, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Come back next to another event so we can impress you even more and stay connected to see more pictures and ideas for your events on our facebook page Harvard Cookin' Girl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Awesome Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Had a wonderful time at our private cooking class! Bibi was wonderful. She provided educational information about why she made all the cooking decisions.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJHCG, Owner at Harvard Cookin' Girl, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Come back next to another event so we can impress you even more and stay connected to see more pictures and ideas for your events on our facebook page Harvard Cookin' Girl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvard Cookin' Girl also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Harvard Cookin' Girl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing