We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Jolla Inn(La Jolla)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Inn by the Sea(La Jolla)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,924)
Filter reviews
1,924 results
Traveller rating
1,230
464
157
45
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,230
464
157
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage viewhistoric hoteljunior suitewalk in closetthe main hotelperfect locationpartial ocean viewchildren's poolvalet parkingstreet noiseprospect streetshops and restaurantswonderful hotelvalet serviceturn down servicebed was very comfortablesan diego
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,619 - 1,624 of 1,924 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This was a lovely hotel a block off the ocean and in the midst of the shops and restaurants of Prospect Avenue. The concerieges helped us to see the rest of the San Diego area, and the staff was generally very helpful. The room was relatively small in keeping with the hotel but very pretty and comfortable. We had a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuckes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I spent a blissful birthday weekend here. The hotel is in a perfect location near the park on the beach in La Jolla. The restaurant is much better than it needs to be, really good and innovative. I'm vegetarian and the vegetable entree on the dinner menu was unique and delicious and substantial. Great beer menu. The hotel staff were polite, attentive and professional, and the room was flawless. Very clean. Even though we didn't book an ocean view room, we could see the ocean from the bed through a side window. I can't imagine there's a bad room in the place. I like a small, classy hotel and this is it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTravelerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We were there just one night, which only whetted our appetite for a future visit. The room was georgous -- and made all the more special by the view of the ocean. The hotel was within easy walking distance of downtown La Jolla and the beachfront. We had a wonderful late lunch at a restaurant downtown (with an even more expansive oceanview) and then walked along the waterfront to sea the barking seals.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcbSpringfield_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I treated my wife to an overnighter for our anniversary and was not disappointed with the results. The hotel itself is an old building but the only sign of that would be in the bathrooms which do show their age. From the very moment we pulled up at the valet until the time we left the service was fantastic. The location is perfect as it is a short walk to anything and everything that you'd want to do or see in this beautiful little village. From the children's (aka harbor seal pup) beach to the restaurants and galleries you are perfectly located. If you are coming from out of town or are somewhat local and just want to sneak away for a weekend with your significant other, you could do no better than the Grande Colonial.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location in the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JO_8500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Really nice hotel. Old world charm: wood details, patterned fabrics, large beds, fireplace in the lounge area... Great staff, very helpful, booking tables in local restaurants etc. The hotel is elegant, but not fussy. The corridors are old fashioned, but quaint. The room for $250 (one of the cheaper ones) was spacious and well furnished. Large comfortable beds (and nice plasma tv if you need it!)
For breakfast visit Brockton Villa. Great view of the ocean, and an interesting twist on the traditional big American breakfast. Great presentation and wonderul pancakes...

For dinner try George's. You will need to book for the outdoor terrace, and be prepared to eat later (8.30) to get a good table. The martinis are great so have a couple at the bar whilst waiting. The food is a bit nouvelle cuisine, but excellent and well presented by pleasant staff.

La Jolla is a squeaky clean little town, monied and stylish. Very well connected for San Diego, which is an interesting city but not worth staying in, when you have a small coastal town up the road (15mins by car). Restaurants and hotels can be expensive, but there are also good places to eat which cost a lot less. Good little Mexican place opposite George's.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews