We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed in the garden suites. The kitchen and complementary beverages and snack came in handy. Note to those with a stroller, ask for an accessible room without flights of stairs which can get very old quickly. We valet parked (I did have a coupon for free valet parking for 4 of the nights, it is $22 a night otherwise). The valet was very quick to get our car and was extremely helpful. The pool is very small and only goes to 31/2 ft deep, but was fine with a 1 year old. The location was beautiful...close to shops, restaurants and the ocean. I took a 1 block walk to see the sea lions in the morning and we spent time in the park a few block away in the afternoons. If you have a little one, make sure to bring a sling to make it easier to access the places with steps. Overall, we had a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,139
    438
    142
    41
    23
See reviews for
484
709
67
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Everything about the hotel was very good and the staff was very pleasant. I do have one very big complaint which had me arriving with a bad taste in my mouth so that needed to be overcome during my 3 day stay.

I booked the hotel's "special" buy 2 nights get 1 free for Memorial weekend which is a Non-Refundable, and cannot be canceled reservation. The truth of the matter is that they take the three nights price, divide it by two, charge the you the same amount and call it a "special". When I brought this to the attention of the Assistant General Manager upon my arrival I was told the special is based on their "Premium" rate. Well since their "premium" rate was not even available that weekend, I said it made no sense that the normal rate for three nights which was approx $315 per night plus taxes and their "special" rate of buy 2 nights get one free worked out to almost exactly the same nightly average, it appeared as though they were attempting a bait and switch type promotion.

Whatever their reasoning was, how it appears is the reality of the situation and they should do something to address it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrmdlif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

A classic old hotel that has been renovated - amazing location right by the cove in La Jolla, walk to everything. Very comfortable beds and rooms, great service at the front desk and valet parking. Nine Ten restaurant in the hotel is one of my favorites, and serves the room service. Ocean breezes await.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnsonProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This was a lovely hotel a block off the ocean and in the midst of the shops and restaurants of Prospect Avenue. The concerieges helped us to see the rest of the San Diego area, and the staff was generally very helpful. The room was relatively small in keeping with the hotel but very pretty and comfortable. We had a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuckes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I spent a blissful birthday weekend here. The hotel is in a perfect location near the park on the beach in La Jolla. The restaurant is much better than it needs to be, really good and innovative. I'm vegetarian and the vegetable entree on the dinner menu was unique and delicious and substantial. Great beer menu. The hotel staff were polite, attentive and professional, and the room was flawless. Very clean. Even though we didn't book an ocean view room, we could see the ocean from the bed through a side window. I can't imagine there's a bad room in the place. I like a small, classy hotel and this is it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravelerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We were there just one night, which only whetted our appetite for a future visit. The room was georgous -- and made all the more special by the view of the ocean. The hotel was within easy walking distance of downtown La Jolla and the beachfront. We had a wonderful late lunch at a restaurant downtown (with an even more expansive oceanview) and then walked along the waterfront to sea the barking seals.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcbSpringfield_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I treated my wife to an overnighter for our anniversary and was not disappointed with the results. The hotel itself is an old building but the only sign of that would be in the bathrooms which do show their age. From the very moment we pulled up at the valet until the time we left the service was fantastic. The location is perfect as it is a short walk to anything and everything that you'd want to do or see in this beautiful little village. From the children's (aka harbor seal pup) beach to the restaurants and galleries you are perfectly located. If you are coming from out of town or are somewhat local and just want to sneak away for a weekend with your significant other, you could do no better than the Grande Colonial.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO_8500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,160 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
842 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,047 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing