We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skanky rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The hotel is old and not well kept. The lobby looks nice and is designed to create a goodq impression. Once you get past it, the carpet is old and fraying, the walls look like they were painted years ago, and the rooms seem run down. The location is good, but the hotel is totally not worth the price they charge.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear RBhatia -
I was very disappointed to read your comments about the Grande Colonial, particularly your headline. Rest assured we have done a complete inspection of the guest room you occupied and rectified anything that needed additional attention. Thank you for bringing some of these items to the forefront. We take great pride in the product and service we offer to our customers and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Sincerely,
Terrence Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,521 - 1,527 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

Room that we received was not the one featured on the web site - they did move us to another room although the view was still not great. Not many amenities - had requested a coffee pot in my room when we made our reservation in January for an August stay, one was not available when we arrived, I really think they could have gotten us one for the 3 nights we stayed. Would not return -

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieCourtice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This was our first stop on our nine day vacation in Southern California. The location of the hotel couldn't have been better. Our room was spacious with two double beds, a very large desk and a ten foot vanity (perfect for my 17 y/o daughter).
We were greeted by Benny when we arrived and our luggage was brought to our room by Matt. We never had to wait more than a minute or two to get our car. The front desk employees were always smiling and polite. I felt very comfortable and welcome at this hotel. We had an excellent dinner at Nine-Ten and took advantage of Wednesday night's wine special since they had an extensive wine list with excellent choices.
This hotel is definitely be on our list when we return to California again!

Room Tip: Booked a Queen/Queen Suite Package that included valet parking and a $50/night food credit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The hotel definitely lived up to our expectations for our mini-vacation. The location couldn't have been better. It was close to everything! The room was a bit on the small side with a small sitting area but had a large walk-in closet. The bed and the bedding were so comfortable! This hotel definitely had an old school charm to it. The staff was also great! They were very attentive and personable. Always greeted us even if we were just passing along the hallway. We requested a fridge and it was already in the room and ready when we arrived. To top it off, breakfast at Nine-Ten was amazing. The service there was also impeccable. I had a wonderful trip and I would definitely stay here again when I return to La Jolla.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C3st-La-Vi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My fifteen year old daughter and I stayed there last week and we just loved it! We had a king suite with an ocean view on the fifth floor, which was plenty of room for two people. The hotel is perfectly situated in town; walking distance to all the boutiques, little restaurants and the beach. Although we took a cab ($42) from San Diego airport, we decided to rent a car for a couple of days during our stay, which the hotel arranged for us. We had a car delivered to the hotel for $44 per day, which made it easy. The restaurant in the hotel, the Nine Ten is wonderful, but on the expensive side; we ate there one night (dinner for the two of us with just one glass of wine for me was about $160). The pool is small, but pretty - circular and 3.5 feet in depth all around, about 20 feet in diameter. Overall, I have to say, once we were in town and walking around, I was so glad we were at the Grande Colonial - it's without a doubt the nicest hotel in La Jolla.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The people at this hotel make it memorable. Benny at the door. Angel in the morning. Chris at Nine Ten, their fabulous restaurant. The management has established a team that takes pride in this property, and it shows. Excellent location. It is an historical property, therefore has it's creaks. The hotel cleaning staff is above par, and so friendly. We live in Louisiana, and for us a treat to get out of 'the swamp' in the heat of summer to visit La Jolla/San Diego to surf, visit museums, enjoy the marine wildlife and eat at Nine Ten. I find the front desk amicable even when I could be perceived as being demanding. We will be back. If you are not able to stay there, Nine Ten is way worth a reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This hotel was great but beyond the hotel, it was all about the staff. From the parking attendants, to the front desk to house keeping, they were all attentive and personable. No request was too small and everything was taken care of immediately.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitor32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £162 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing