We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Loved the Grand Colonial. I was looking for a nice quiet place near the beach for a relaxing weekend. Upon arriving, I was upgraded to one of the mini-suites with an ocean view. The room was wonderful. The bathroom was a little small with only a pedestal sink, which meant I had to keep the toiletry bag separate from the sink but that was the only downside. The concrete walls that you'll only find in an older building more than made up for that, and insulated all sound from the hallway, even being right next to the elevator, which made for a peaceful night's sleep. The location was centrally located and with perfect walking distance to just about everything, from fantastic restaurants (I'd highly recommed The Cottage for breakfast, and The Public House for the best burger), to shopping. The only thing that wasn't within easy walking distance was La Jolla Shores where you'd rent sea kayaks, etc. This was important because I didn't rent a car this trip. The staff was first class.

Brian B.
Phoenix, AZ

Room Tip: Definitely request an ocean view which gets you away from the sound of the street on two sides of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 343BrianB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,536 - 1,542 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

Beautiful old hotel. The room was spacious and well decorated. The bed was sooo comfy. My husband and I could walk to dinner and the beach. Excellent service!!! Valets and front desk people were so kind even during a tough time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gehrke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I scheduled a sales conference for our Firm in the Parlor Room at the Grande Colonial, and myself, and our staff were very pleased with the whole experience. The hotel is beautiful and the staff (from the valet, to the front desk, to ther wait staff) are all courteous and attentive. We ordered the 'Parlor Room Package' for our group of 8. The room was nicely decorated, the staff was able to accomodate our adio/visual needs, and more importantly ...the food was amazing! My entire staff was impressed by the freshly baked goods, delicious fruits, elegeant lunch entree's, and dessert. (The chocolate cake was warm, gooey, and delicious!). We ate lunch on the patio overlooking the pool, with an ocean view. It was a great experience, and the food was above par. I would highly suggest The Grande Colonial for any occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aysha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The unique character present within each room is amazing. The rooms are beutifully decorated and charming. The highlight of the room was the bed, like sleeping on a cloud, one of the best nights sleep I've had in sometime. Can I just live here? Staff was very friendly and helpful with everything from printing my airline tickets to suggesting where to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCarpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My family of four (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed here for several nights. I must say that I loved our stay! Upon arrival until departure, everyone was very nice and accomadating. Hotel even gave us an upgrade to oceanview suite. LOVED the room! Spacious, clean, comfortable. I wanted to stay even longer.

Such a cute and quaint hotel. I loved the location to shopping and ocean. We didn't eat inside their restaurant but had room service instead (same food from restaurant) and it was delicious. Prices were reasonable.

The only complaint I'd have is that their walls must be very thin b/c we could hear the conversation from the next room. Litterally felt like the people were in the same room as ours.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again the next time we visit La Jolla!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great staff, beuatiful rooms. Great location. Fabulous restaurant. would definitely return.

Room Tip: Liked the top floor main building corner rooms or suites in newer building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pauletteAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed as a family and everyone loved the hotel. A friendly greeting outside on arrival, similar service at reception and a lovely spacious bright room. Very convenient in the centre of town. Just walked up to a local bakery for breakfast. All staff seemed genuinely committed to good customer service. Management should be proud of them. We would love to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank sarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,228 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £173 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing