We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in La Jolla!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in La Jolla!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a wonderful vintage hotel with great staff! The location is fantastic, but we couldn't see the ocean from the hotel. The beds were perfect and it was very quiet. The negatives on the hotel is that we had two teenagers traveling with us and there is an additional charge, per person, when there are more than 2 people in a room with 2 beds. So it cost us $80 (2 nights)over the room cost advertised, so be aware of that. No breakfast is included with the room. The other negative is it had a TINY bathroom!
But we loved La Jolla and day-tripped into San Diego (which is very expensive to stay in!)

Room Tip: If you can afford it, I believe the ocean view rooms would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear LetsGoRide:
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I’m glad you enjoyed the hotel’s vintage charm and our friendly staff. I also appreciate you bringing to my attention the fees you were charged for your teenage children. You have compelled us to take another look at our policies relating to children and we will certainly be making changes immediately. Please know that our team will be issuing you a credit for the $80 you were charged. Meanwhile, thank you again for bringing this to our attention. It is only with this kind of feedback that we can continue to make positive changes for our guests.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    442
    145
    43
    24
See reviews for
494
717
67
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I really wanted to give this hotel a 5, but after spending a couple nights there, I can't quite get to a 5. I came in knowing it was a 100 year old hotel, so I don't think it's fair to dock points based on that. I do think you should know that means that the bathroom door wouldn't close all the way or one of the windows' two locks wouldn't work. With that said, to spend $500/night for the Centennial Celebration Package, I think I should be entitled to have high expectations with respect to other things. For example, I was disappointed with the furniture and bedspread. It didn't feel "fresh," but was rather a bit faded and older looking. I think I was most disappointed by the fact that the hotel promises "twice daily housekeeping service" with "evening turn-down service," yet failed to come both nights we were there. It's unacceptable when one is paying that much for an Ocean View Junior Suite King. I know most hotels don't even offer turn-down service anymore, but when you say you do and you charge that much, I personally believe you better do it. As far as the service goes, I think the people there were really friendly and helpful--whether it was showing us local tourist spots or telling me I needed to get to the Manta ride first at SeaWorld before I got stuck waiting in line (great tip by the way!). Front desk was friendly, maid service was friendly, valet was super friendly, and the waitress at Nine-Ten was friendly (5 stars at Nine-Ten--you can read my separate review on that!). In Rm. 510, we were able to view the ocean from all three windows of our room and we could see the pool below us. I thought maybe we got the best view of the ocean from that room, but the downside is it's right next to the elevator and even after having plenty of wine the night before and being a heavy sleeper, I was still awoken by the sound of the elevator going up and down starting at 6am. Although the ocean view was beautiful, at $500/night, I'd expect to be right on the beach. (I know La Jolla is just an expensive city, but see my review of Southernmost on the Beach in Key West for my idea of a 5 star hotel if you think I'm being a bit harsh--also $500/night there.) Although our package included $100 credit toward Nine-Ten and $25 valet per day (which was great because it's so difficult finding parking in La Jolla!), I appreciated the experience, but I don't think I'll be back. However, if you're a non-California resident and want to splurge, it may be worth it to you.

Room Tip: 510 had a beautiful view, but bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Happy B -
Allow me to first thank you for choosing to stay at the Grande Colonial during your recent trip to San Diego. You touched on so many positive points about your experience and I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with the level of service you received from our staff in both the hotel and restaurant. That type of service is certainly what we strive to provide. But I am well aware that it can take only one problem, however big or small, to change one’s mind altogether. We clearly failed in providing you with two very important service amenities (twice daily housekeeping and turn-down service). These amenities should never be missed for any guest in any room type and I am very sorry to hear that we did not fulfill our promise to you. Rest assured that I will be following up immediately with our team to ensure it does not happen again. I thank you once again for your patronage and hope you will choose to give us another chance in the future. Best regards, Terrence Underwood / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at the Grande Colonial for one night during our 7 night stay in SD. It was wonderful! We were debating staying at the Valencia, but after being here and seeing both hotels, I am so glad we picked the GC! Upon checkin, we were upgraded to a jr suite ocean view without even asking! The staff were all so nice and helpful. Great location and beautiful property. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Lauren:
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Grande Colonial during your recent visit to La Jolla. We know you have a choice about where to stay when traveling and we are so happy you chose us. I am also delighted to hear that we were able to surprise you with an upgrade to a suite. It is our goal to offer each and every guest warm, gracious and genuinely friendly service and it sounds as if we were able to achieve that goal for you. Come back and see us again soon. Just stay longer than one night next time.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Beach within walking distance, sea view from the window of my room, awesome sunset from the comfort of my room, waking up to the sounds of gulls, waves and seals - unfortunately I have to wake up and drag my lazy body to the office every morning during my stay here! This is room 306 :)
This room is of a good size with a comfortabe, plushy king-size bed. The linens and towels used in the room is of very good quality. Good bathroom size that comes with bath tub. The only thing is I have no space to put all my toiletries in the bathroom. I usually like to put them in the bathroom. I did manage to find a little shelf space top of the toilet bowl 2 put them on Day 2. There's space for my yoga mat and yoga in the room. Lots of windows in this room (corner room) which I love! Lots of fresh air and natural light. I dont usually need a fridge in a hotel room. As I was planning for a picnic by the sea, I bought some fresh produce and realize that there wasn't a fridge in my room. Not a major no no here, as some of my friends' in other rooms have fridges though. All the rooms in this hotel have different configuration and facing - it's good to let them know your needs so they could find the best room for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingsalesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Travellingsalesgirl:
Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review. I appreciate your appreciation for the nature of our historic hotel in that each room is a little different in terms of size, layout and which direction it faces (ocean, La Jolla village or gardens). I am also happy you suggested to other travelers that they tell us their specific needs when making reservations. We have so many different room types (even suites with full kitchens and refrigerators) and are always able to customize reservations to those individual needs. Thank you again for your review and I hope to see you back from Singapore in the future.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Poor service at the front desk. They couldn't even give us an estimate for when our room would be ready. We waited 4 hours for our room! Hotel itself is in a nice area and was nice, but the service ruined it for me!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eschull16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Eschull16:
I am really sorry to hear that the service you received during your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide personalized, first-class service to each and every one of our guests from check-in to check-out and we certainly did not do that in your case. Our check-in time is 4 p.m. and you should have been informed of that at the time of reservation. For those guests who do arrive earlier than 4 p.m., our front desk staff will remind them of the check-in time and immediately begin communicating with our housekeeping team to have the room available as soon as possible. We do offer to store the guest's luggage, make recommendations for lunch or other local sightseeing and take a contact phone number where you can be reached once the room is ready for arrival. Again, I do apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. I hope it won’t keep you from visiting us again in the future. Sincerely,
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Tremendous makeover from when I stayed here years ago!! VERY comfortable. Very well-appointed. And, the B&B rate was a nice indulgence. Try the huevos rancheros. Only othe food we ordered was a dessert with lemon sorbet, strawberries and and elderflower jelly - incredible! Beds could be more comfortable, but that's our only beef. You have to see La Jolla and this is an excellent stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann7316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Ann. Happy to hear you enjoyed your return visit to the Grande Colonial. We are committed to constantly improving the facilities and amenities, while maintaining our historic charm. We are actually in the initial planning phases of our next rooms’ renovation, which will begin in 2014. So next time you visit, it will be even better. Thanks again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Grande Colonial. Had a lovely room with an ocean view (505), and the staff couldn't have been nicer. We also had dinner at their restaurant 910, which was also quite nice, but would recommend eating outdoors instead of indoors. Overall would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 505 is a corner room with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. Room 505 is one of my favorite rooms and I'm so glad you had an opportunity to experience it and the near perfect weather we have been having here in La Jolla. I'm also glad you had the chance to dine at NINE-TEN. It's truly one of the region's culinary gems. Thanks again, Jim.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
946 reviews
3.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing