We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful charming hotel”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Beautiful historic hotel. Staff was great, rooms were charming and very clean. Location was good. My only complaint about the trip is the beach and cave area smelled horrible...like seal and bird dung that took away from the towns charm, but that has nothing to do with this great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gb8822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear gb8822: I appreciate your kind comments about the Grande Colonial and your recent trip from Nebraska. I am very sorry about the smell you experienced. Sometimes there is an odor that comes up from the Cove area where the seals and birds frolic. Rest assured that the City of San Diego is trying to come to a resolution without disturbing the wildlife. I'm sorry it wasn't pleasant during your visit. Hope to see you back. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    429
    135
    37
    18
See reviews for
451
676
65
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It's a perfect hotel for a romantic getaway! It was our Anniversary and they treated us so well. Everyone was so welcoming and kind! The view from our room was tremendous and I started off each morning with a walk to La Jolla Cove. The hotel was in a perfect location by being in town yet overlooking the ocean. It was a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear sanrib - A big Happy Anniversary to you! Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your special milestone with us here in La Jolla. It sounds as if you had a wonderful visit and I do hope you'll be back to celebrate more special occasions in the future. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I love the historic charm! They have wonderful, helpful service in a lovely building. Great location! Close to everything with front door shopping, dining and a block to the ocean front. Delicious dining at Nine Ten, great service and they made excellent recommendations for both food and wine parings. We had an ocean view, there is large building obstructing a complete view but we could see the ocean and hear the waves. Rooms were clean, comfortable and surprisingly spacious considering the age of the hotel. My only minor complaint is there is very little counter space in the bathroom and what little space is availible, there is a box a kleenex.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K9frisbeetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear K9frisbeetraveler: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit. I'm also delighted to hear about your appreciation of our history and the charm that brings to our guest rooms. We are nearing the end of our Centennial celebration year and I'm happy you had the opportunity to visit us during such an exciting chapter in our history. While I do apologize about the limited counter space in your guest room, please do know that we are addressing the counter/storage space in anticipation of our next rooms’ renovation, which we hope to begin late 2014. Thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I will get to the hotel after I say it's best venues are walkable from this hotel. I get my breakfast at Brick and Bell, buy my literature at Warwicks, massage at Massage Envy, etcetera. There is so many venues nearby this hotel that make a vacation. The hotel gives you a sense of a place perched on a steep hill over the La Jolla Cove area. There are view rooms, but the best rooms are in the main building! In fact I this hotel is one of the best between San Diego and San Francisco if one is travel highway 1 or 101. There is a restaurant that one can access from inside the hotel lobby. I recommend this restaurant, too, if one wants to eat on Prospect Avenue. If you are willing to walk just a few blocks I recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurelio-Zegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Aurelio-Zegnar - Well it certainly sounds like you know La Jolla! You mentioned some of my favorite businesses right here in the La Jolla Village. Given your knowledge of the area, you certainly know the choices you have in terms of hotels and restaurants. I very much appreciate your recognition of our hotel as THE place to stay and also your recommendation of our restaurant, NINE-TEN. Next time you are in the area, please look me up. I'd love to meet you and thank you again in person. Meanwhile, happy travels to you. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had wanted to stay at the Grande Colonial for several years, so when we planned this trip that was the first place we looked. They had great deal going on rooms and we were lucky to be upgraded to a Junior Suite, when we checked in. The room was great, well decorated and very relaxing. Additionally it was very clean, I mean really really clean. We needed a couple of days of just pure relaxation, and that is what we got. Our room had a beautiful view and was unbelievably quiet. All of the staff we encountered was friendly and very customer service oriented. I can’t think of anything they could have done better. It will be very difficult to ever stay anywhere else in La Jolla again.

Room Tip: Opt for an Ocean View, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveNScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear SteveNScottsdale -
After several years of planning a trip from Scottsdale to La Jolla, I'm so happy to hear you were finally able to visit the "Grande" Colonial. It sounds as if the efforts we make to strive for excellence at every opportunity paid off and for that I am very happy. I will certainly pass your comments along to our entire team, as they are truly the ones who make experiences like yours happen on a daily basis. I hope to see you back from Arizona soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is perfect for a La Jolla get-a-way! We are locals (Poway, CA) and stayed for just one night, but after walking the city, enjoying the view, and an amazing dinner at the Nine-Ten Restaurant...I feel like we had a mini-vacation.

The staff is so friendly and the property is beautifully maintained and filled with historic charm to boot!

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view...it's so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Terri -
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Grande Colonial for your "staycation" getaway. Although you only traveled a few miles from home, I'm delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and La Jolla. It's always nice to get away for a night or two and La Jolla has so much to offer those looking for a little respite from everyday life! I'm also happy to hear you had a chance to experience NINE-TEN. I'm biased but I do believe it is one of the best restaurants in town. Thanks again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

If you're thinking of staying in the San Diego area this hotel is a superb option in the stunning area of la jolla just north of the city. Close to golf at Torres pines, shopping at utc mall and all of the many attractions it is situated at the heart of an area filled with great restaurants and boutique shopping. Staff are very helpful, rooms are excellent if a little old fashioned and the food is superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear David: So glad to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to the Grande Colonial. I'm happy you chose to stay here in La Jolla while visiting San Diego, as it is only a short 15 minute drive from downtown and the International Airport. We have so much to offer here to include all the shopping, dining, entertainment and world-class golf and beaches. I hope if you ever return from the UK that you will choose to stay with us again. Until then, thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
820 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,111 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,953 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing