We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Grande Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Branford, CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Grande Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Great Holiday stay at the Little Hotel by the Sea during Christmas week to visit some family. I will hopefully stay in the same place and request room 231 for the same time next year. My cleaning girl was great. I just wondered if they have to pool their tips b/c I wanted to make sure I was tipping a specific person who did a wonderful job. It was quiet enough, but yet busy enough for anything you might want to do in LaJolla. People complain about the seal smell, but I think they just need to step back and appreciate the wonders of Mother Nature b/c it's truly amazing. LaJolla is one of the more picturesque places in CA. There is so much to do there. I have been to CA mant times but this was the first time I visited the Scripps Birch Aquarium so be sure to check it out!!

Room Tip: Loved my room in The Little Hotel by the Sea annex building which is part of the Grande Colonial Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldielocks20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Goldielocks20 -
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent visit to La Jolla and to the Grande Colonial. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, particularly your suite in the Little Hotel by the Sea wing. The 8 suites offered in that building provide the perfect retreat and are just a hop, skip and jump from the Children's Pool where the seals frolic. (I appreciate you bringing up the "smell" that some people say exists...the City of San Diego has already made significant changes to alleviate any smell and will continue to do so. So not even an issue.) Anyway, thanks again for choosing us as your destination for your trip to La Jolla. See you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    429
    137
    37
    18
See reviews for
453
680
65
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
phx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had an incredible experience at the Grand Colonial this week. We celebrated our anniversary and Christmas as well. The hotel kindly upgraded our room from Oceanview to Jr Suite with and ocean view. It was lovely, and very comfortable. We also celebrated with an anniversary dinner at the hotel, which was delicious!! The staff was incredible--they were efficient and friendly, and willing to assist in any way. The location of the property is excellent, and she is a lovely "grande dame" in every way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caneuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Caneuman: I was very happy to read your review about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. You celebrated two very special occasions with us -- your wedding anniversary and Christmas -- so I am delighted to hear how happy you were with the accommodations and service. I hope the next time you visit San Diego, you will choose to stay with us again. Happy New Year to you and your family. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I really liked the interior of the room and the lobby and enjoyed the ocean view from the room. It's a very pretty and gorgeous hotel worth to stay at. I will definitely come back here when I have a chance to visit La Jolla again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchovy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Anchovy2013 - Thank you for the kind words about the your stay at the Grande Colonial. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. I hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again from Philadelphia. Happy New Year to you and yours. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

I chose the Grand Colonial for our office holiday event. Coming from our previous experience with a large hotel on Coronado Island, this was like night and day. Julieta and Lauren handled the event specifics in a caring, efficient, and professional manner. The food was awesome, the hotel was cozy and perfectly decorated for the holidays, and I heard from all of my staff that the rooms were comfortable and nicely appointed. I do not normally leave reviews; my experience at the Grand Colonial was impressive enough that I feel obligated to do so.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Jordan - Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent holiday party here at the Grande Colonial. I appreciate your recognition of our staff and the service you and your event attendees received. I wish you a very Happy New Year and hope to see you back often in 2014. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. From the moment you drive up, you're greeted by the friendliness that feels like home.
The staff is amazing! I had the pleasure of working with Julieta the catering manager and she was excellent. There was a last minute venue change; in a desperate plea (on my end) she was able to put our Annual luncheon together within a week. She helped me step-by-step, to create the perfect setting. Many, many praises from our staff to theres. It was without a doubt the best holiday luncheon we have ever had. And the food - oh wow! exquisite! Unbelievable!
Whether you are traveling; honeymooning; needing a quiet evening with your significant other; planning a birthday party or just want to party in the beautiful history of Old La Jolla...make the Grande Colonial your first choice destination to stay and take in the hospitality and warmth of this historic hotel.

You won't be dissappointed!

Nicole

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear NM: Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review about the recent holiday party you planned and attended at the Grande Colonial. I'm happy to hear about the great care Julieta and the rest of our catering team provided you and your guests. I'm also happy to hear how much you enjoyed the food provided by our restaurant, NINE-TEN. Perhaps you will plan next year's office party with us again! Until then, thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Lovely 100 year old hotel in easy walking distance to Cove and Children's Pool, as well as to dozens of great restaurants. Hotel bar/ restaurant is also terrific. Staff were great- genuinely warm and helpful. Would love to go back anytime and hightly reccommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Christine: I'm delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. I hope the weather was nice during your visit, seeing as you came all the way from Minnesota. Thanks for the plug about the hotel being 100 years old. We are nearing the end of our Centennial celebration year. It has been an exciting year, needless to say. I hope you'll be back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Grande was Greate! Wonderful location. Staff was great, Quite helpful. the room was wonderful. Had a nice view of the ocean from room 322. so nice to enjoy evenings in La Jolla and then take a short walk back to the hotel. I dont think you could go wrong at the Grande.

Room Tip: 322 had a nice ocean view, PARTIALLY obstructed by a condo building, but otherwise, really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W1AIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear W1AIX: Thank you very much for the kind words about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. I'm so glad you had such a nice stay and enjoyed the property and your guest room. I hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing