We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Classic Hotel with charm beyond belief”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Classic Hotel with charm beyond belief”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This, my friends, is a world class hotel. I have been traveling for years and now my one an only daughter is a freshman as UCSD so we visit La Jolla much. Big beautiful rooms. Staff is friendly and class exudes from the pores. They can't do enough to help you. Wonderful..you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Fifth floor ocean front is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drjohn691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Drjohn691: Allow me to first congratulate you on your daughter attending UCSD as a freshman. That is quite an accomplishment and I trust she is enjoying the school and the La Jolla community. Let me also thank you very much for your very kind comments about your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and our staff. I trust you will be visiting (checking up on) your daughter often so please know that you always have a place to stay here at the Grande Colonial. Until the next time - Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    429
    137
    37
    18
See reviews for
453
680
65
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This review is a bit overdue since our last trip has been well over a year now but better late than never. This is not a cookie cutter hotel - each room and floor is a little different so spend a little time when you book. The location is great for walking around La Jolla from shops to restaurants to ocean; once the car was parked we rarely used it - a good thing because parking and traffic in this part of La Jolla can be pretty bad. We found the staff very accommodating - always ready to help but not intrusive. The rooms we stayed in were large, perfectly maintained and very comfortable. The Nine-Ten restaurant on site is excellent and there are many other great places - pricey to cheap - a short walk away. If you want to stay in La Jolla do your homework - the "city" sprawls out to the east over a ridge and interstate where you'll never see the ocean and have to get in your car to go anywhere. This hotel is in the heart of the real La Jolla. Highly recommend getting a sea kayak and checking out the caves in the cove - and try snorkeling in the cove as well a short walk from the hotel - quite an experience.

Room Tip: The "ocean view" rooms can be a little dicey - there's a high rise condo between the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COFamilyTruckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
What more can I say than "thank you"?! On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for all the great comments. I really appreciate your appreciation for our historic charm. We're certainly not the cookie-cutter-type hotel. Every room is a little different than the next but each has its own unique appeal. And thank you for your comments about our staff. We strive to provide warm, gracious and genuinely friendly service and it appears that came through during your stay. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our team, as they are truly the ones who make experiences like yours happen. Thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So-So Cal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Grande Colonial is a lovely, historial hotel with immaculate rooms, sumptious bedding, beautiful grounds, inviting restaurant-bar, spacious lobby and well-kept grounds, all in the heart of the La Jolla Village. My favorite thing was the large window in the room that opened wide to fill the room with fresh ocean air. They don't make them like this anymore.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvdljca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Mvdljca: Thank you very much for your very positive feedback about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. You left nothing out and it sounds as if you had a great experience in all areas of the property. One of the most common compliments I hear about our hotel (in addition to our wonderful staff) is the fact that you can open the screenless windows to truly enjoy firsthand the fresh ocean breezes and sounds of the Pacific Ocean. It's one of my favorite things too! Come back and see us soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I was in town on a Thursday evening. Had to wait 15 minutes for someone to park my car as a group of tourists were bombarding the attached restaurant. As well, there was no bellman. I struggled to the elevator with two large suitcases alone. The young clerk at the front desk was pleasant but clueless. The rooms were older but very quaint. They remind me of an old Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Mo L - I am very sorry to hear about the challenges you experienced upon arrival to the Grande Colonial. We strive for excellence at every opportunity and clearly this did not happen in your case. We do provide both valet and bell service and I will address your comments with our team to ensure that we are fully staffed and ready during peak arrival hours...and the hours that coincide when our restaurant is busy. But I do thank you for providing constructive feedback, which can only help us to get better. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

A historical hotel with elegance and great service, convienient location. Please do stay away from the suite, rm 101-104 and 201-204. They are in a separate bldg, the building smell like a horse stable, enough to turn any one off. Even though,inside the rooms are very nice and clean, good toiletry and cook to order breakfast at their restaurant is included. They need to get ride off the bad smell in the building.the mark down is for this reason.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie4896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Carrie4896: I was disappointed to read your review about your recent visit to our hotel. I wish that you would have addressed your concern about the smell with our staff while on property, as we would have been able to tell you why you were experiencing an odd odor. Our landscaper had just replaced the ground cover directly outside the suites you reference. He mistakenly used mulch instead of the traditional wood chips we have always used. Needless to say, the mulch created an odor that would be consistent with how you describe. We immediately had it removed but the smell did linger for a day or two. Good news is that we are now back to normal and the only smells that are prevalent are the adjacent flowers and the wonderful smells from the nearby Pacific. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the Grande Colonial in late January. What a lovely well maintained historic hotel, perfectly situated to enjoy everything La Jolla has to offer. The staff could not have been nicer, starting with our complimentary upgrade at check in. The suite was immaculate, the bed luxurious. Thank you, Grande Colonial...We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MovieFan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear MovieFan47:
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit. I'm glad to hear how much you enjoyed our historic charm. We just ended what was our Centennial year celebration so we're now moving on to the next 100 years of our history! I hope to see you back soon. Thanks again, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Little Inn for two days. Really loved the location, everything was within walking distance. Room was very comfortable and the complimentary snacks and drinks were a nice touch. We would definitely stay at this Hotel again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Claire: I'm delighted to hear how happy you were with your recent visit from Canada. I'm happy you had the opportunity to experience the suites located in our Little Hotel by the Sea wing. With their extra space, full kitchens and fireplaces, they provide the ideal getaway for those looking for a peaceful respite. And their location one block from the Pacific can't be beat. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do appreciate it. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing