We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a romantic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had an unforgettable romantic weekend getaway here. My boyfriend sprung for a suite and it was well worth it. It wasn't in the main building, it was in a smaller one, closer to the water and there didn't seem to be anyone else staying in that building which was a bonus. The building had a roof deck which we ordered room service to and lied on chairs out there while we ate with an ocean view at sunset. Amazing! Our room was on the second floor, in the corner, providing for great views. Aside from a great room, the amenities and service were fantastic, too. The pool was quite small, but it didn't bother me since I wasn't really looking to swim. And the location really can't be beat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahhass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Sarahhass: Let me first say that your boyfriend is a wise man. Not only treating you to a weekend escape, but then choosing our hotel as your destination and a suite on top of that! I’m very happy to hear that you stayed in our Little Hotel by the Sea wing. That building has only 8 suites and is the perfect retreat, providing a little added privacy from the main building….not to mention the exclusive rooftop deck with panoramic views of the ocean. It sounds as if you two took advantage of all that we and La Jolla have to offer. Perhaps you’ll want to surprise him with a return trip. Until then - Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We spent two fantastic days at Grande Colonial in La Jolla.
Great location. Room was luxurious with great ocean views. The staff were helpful and
friendly at all times. Nine-Ten restaurant was simply perfection!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear vacapoor - I'm so glad that you had the opportunity to escape the cold weather in New Jersey and head west to sunny and warm La Jolla. As you now know, we have had an amazing "winter" here in San Diego, which has been a big draw for those of you living in other parts of the country. Thank you for taking the time to point out some of our better features. We do appreciate it and hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband & I stayed last weekend at the Grand Colonial! We have a wonderful experience!! We stayed in a king ocean view jr suite. The view was beautiful, room was large & really nice (comfy bed), service was outstanding, nine ten restaurant was yummy!! We will absolutely be staying here again!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LuvFoodFunTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Amy - Thank you for choosing to stay at the Grande Colonial during your recent visit from Dallas. I'm very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit, our hotel and our staff. I'm also delighted to hear that you did indeed have an opportunity to experience NINE-TEN Restaurant. It's truly one of the best in town. We look forward to your next trip out west. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed five days at the Grande Colonial in La Jolla. The facilities and the staff were exceptional. It is a great location close to the water and located on Prospect Street which is the center of action in town. The front desk staff met our every request with a smile. The Valet Staff was especially friendly and helpful. They all made our stay very enjoyable !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank moore405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Moore405: Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the Grande Colonial, particularly since you traveled such a great distance from Alabama. I will certainly share your comments with our entire team, emphasizing the great care and attention you received from our front desk and valet staff. They are some of the best in the business. Hope to see you back out west soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

After reading the reviews online, I was excited to stay in what was rated the "2nd" best hotel in La Jolla. Granted I have no comparison of other hotels in the area, but was a bit disappointed. We paid extra for a "partial" ocean view room (room #308) and came to find, that you could really only view the ocean, if you opened the window, stuck your head out and cranked it to the side to see. The bed faced the bathroom so you couldn't enjoy the "partial" view from there, which was disappointing. You could only enjoy it standing up at the window. The pool was also very small, and while they did have an abundance of towels and fresh lemon water to take which was nice, it was only 3 1/2 feet deep. It felt like a motel pool and didn't have the luxurious feeling for being at such a pretty hotel. It'd work better as a giant jacuzzi.

The room, while disappointed with the view, was nicely decorated, had a comfy bed, and overall very clean and well maintained, as was the lobby and common areas. The front desk staff was nice and we were able to check in early which was a nice bonus. (one negative- there was no frig in the room.)

The location was excellent. Just a short walk to the park and cove beaches. It's right in the heart of town so you didn't have to take your car to get to anywhere you want to eat or shop at.

Overall a very nice experience, but left me wanting something a bit more luxurious based on both the money spent and the ratings from other travelers...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akasmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Akasmer: Let me first take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent visit. While I'm glad that you found our staff and location excellent, I'm sorry to hear that we didn't knock your socks off in other areas of the property. I am having our staff take a look at the descriptions for our partial ocean-view room types. Perhaps there is a better way we can describe the views from these room so other guests don't experience the same kind of disappointment you did. I also thought I'd point out that we do have mini fridges available upon request. Next time we would be happy to have one delivered to your room for the duration of your stay. Seeing as you are just "up the street" in Los Angeles, I hope you'll give us another chance and invite you to contact me personally the next time you visit so I can ensure all your needs are taken care of. Until then, thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel itself is dated, but well kept. The things that make this a great hotel are its location and its employees. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is excellent. They could use a fitness center on site, but their bar/resturant attached is very good and always busy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Dsmaddox: thanks for your positive feedback about your recent visit. I'm glad you appreciated the hotel's location and the service our staff provided you during your stay. We take great pride in providing warm, gracious and genuinely friendly service and I'm happy that came through while you were visiting. Hope to see you back from Texas soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed two days at the Grande Colonial and loved it! Our room was so pretty and we had the most amazing view of the ocean. We loved that we could open our windows and listen to the ocean at night. Their staff was great too especially the bell guys. Matt, Bennie & Jacob went above and beyond to suggest places and we love that the hotel has a golf cart that will take you and pick you up to local places. My husband left his glasses at a golf course in Carlsbad. Matt knew that Bennie lived out there and called him and Bennie went out of his way to go pick them up and bring to us the next day. Matt & Bennie could have easily just smiled and said oh that is too bad but they went out of their way to help. We will definitely be back to this hotel next time we visit San Diego!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Melissa -
Needless to say, I was thrilled when I read your post about your recent stay at the Grande Colonial. It is of the utmost importance that we provide the highest level of service in all areas of the property and I am delighted to hear how well you were taken care of by our team, particularly Matt, Bennie and Jacob. While what Bennie did for you was clearly above-and-beyond, it's exactly the kind of stories I hear over-and-over about our employees. Please know that I will be sharing this story with our entire team as it is an ideal example of what we can all strive to provide our guests on a daily basis. Thank you again and I hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,226 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £171 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing