We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at The Grande Colonial. Our room was lovely. We had both a garden/pool view and a wonderful view of the ocean. We had a large comfortable chair in our room next to the windows. Every morning I would sit in that chair with the windows open, reading and listening to the ocean. Those mornings were the most relaxed I have been in many years. I truly appreciated the tranquility. Housekeeping was very thorough and helpful. My daughter lost her glasses while we were there and they pulled out the mattress to find them for her.

Kelly at the Front Desk was especially helpful. The valet service was excellent. Matt and Benny were quick, friendly and helpful. The restaurant was wonderful as well. I would highly recommend breakfast. While we were there the seasonal special was Lemon Ricotta Pancakes. They were delightful. I would also recommend the short rib hash for breakfast. I had it twice! It was delicious. Room service was quick and efficient.

The location is good. Short walking distance to beaches,other restaurants, galleries and shops. I-5 is easily accessed. We found The Grande Colonial to be a great "home base" for the many different locations we wanted to visit.

Bottom line. If you are in the area- stay at the The Grande Colonial. It may be a little more than I would like to pay for a hotel but you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We had the Ocean View Junior Suite King. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear KMS07: It sounds as if you and your daughter had a very nice and memorable trip to La Jolla. I thank you for choosing the Grande Colonial as your home base. I appreciate your very comprehensive review covering everything from our helpful staff, efficient housekeeping and delicious food (those lemon ricotta pancakes are one of my favorite dishes). I’m also glad you pointed out the screen less windows that open in each room allowing you to enjoy the fresh ocean breezes. It’s not something you can experience in most hotels. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    432
    137
    39
    20
See reviews for
463
686
66
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After an arduous work week, our family decided it was time to go on a weekend getaway. This last minute get away and this hotel was a shot in the dark. We hadn't traveled with our 5 month old yet. The Little Hotel by the Sea could not have worked out better . The room included a fridge and stove such (a plus since we weren't sure how we were going to feed the smallest of our family.) The 12 year old was a happy camper to know that boogie boards were available to borrow and the beach was a walk away! Fantastic service, courteous and knowledgeable staff. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanca1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Blanca1900: As the father of three (now grown) boys, I remember what it's like to travel with small children -- most times being last minute getaways thrown together in a rush. Happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you and your family for your last minute trip. You couldn't have picked a better room. The suites in our Little Hotel by the Sea wing are ideal for families given they do have full kitchens. And being only a block from the seals at the Children's Pool and the beach, it's the ideal location for the kids! I see you are just "up the street" in Los Angeles. Given your proximity, I hope you'll have the chance to plan more spontaneous trips with the family. What a better place to create traditions than at the Grande Colonial. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andalasia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A few things from a yuppie perspective...

1. Location was great -- went to a nearby cooking class, good shopping/restaurants, great beach walks, etc. Hubs loved that Torrey Pines was close.
2. Staff was super friendly/helpful--this was fantastic. I felt like these people were actually nice!
3. Rooms are a bit dated and mine had some allergen that made me sneeze; I took some meds and it wasn't bad but furnishings may need a redux.
4. Bar and drinks are great but food is not. Brunch portions were rather lacking and better brunch is super close by at the Cottage, PrepKitchen, etc. Wish we hadn't gotten lazy that last day!
5. The common spaces are small, especially the pool. Both days we had to wait for some spots to open by the pool (there's only around 15 chairs). And the smallish terrace had a private party on it Sunday morning, meaning we couldn't hang there. For a hotel with common areas that small, they probably shouldn't be booking the common spaces for private parties.

Would definitely come back though! And perhaps the lack of pool space meant fewer kids and that's always a plus!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear jj427: Let me start by saying thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is only through the comments we receive from our guests that we can continue to improve our services and amenities. I am happy to hear how delightful our staff was during your stay. We take great pride in providing warm, gracious and genuinely friendly service and I'm happy that came through during your stay. I'm sorry to read your comments about our Sunday Brunch. I will certainly review the menu with our chef and see if we can't add a little more variety to it. Unfortunately, in regard to the size of our pool, there isn't much we can do about that. Being a historic property (101 years old), larger resort-size pools just weren’t in fashion back then and space for added recreation just doesn't exist. But I thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last week 5/7/14 and it was just wonderful. The staff was so lovely and helpful. The concierge recommend a little Italian restaurant up the street (La Taverna) and took us over on the hotels golf cart- we walked back because it was such a nice night and so close. This hotel is in the perfect location. You can walk to everything (we came to see the seals). Thank you so much for such a fun wonderful stay:) xo

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PollyMc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear PollyMc3 - I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit, particularly since you traveled across country for a vacation. Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm glad you had a chance to dine in the Village and take advantage of our transportation offer. Although you can indeed walk everywhere in the Village, some like to ride without bell/valet staff and learn a little more about the local sights. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Grande Colonial in August 2013 with our two teenagers, ages 15 and 17. The property is beautifully decorated, with quite an interesting history behind it. The front desk and valet staff are incredible. Any need is taken care of immediately, with a smile. The hotel does not have "on property" parking, but there was a link on Trip Advisor that we used to waive the $25/night parking fee (the hotel contracts with a nearby office building for use of their garage). Getting our car in and out was a breeze - tipping highly recommended. When I accidentally left my cell phone in the car one evening, they were more than happy to go look for it for me. Our trip was a last minute idea, and as such, there were August "back to school" specials. Made the cost quite attractive.

The hotel is a short block to the water, where you can swim, watch sea lions, and just people watch. If you are going to one of the beaches down the coast, you can check out beach towels and umbrellas from the front desk. We spent one day at Del Mar beach, and it was wonderful. Arranged for our teenagers to take a one-hour surfing lesson from the same place that we rented wet suits for them. As we are from Houston, they nearly froze without the wetsuits -- well worth the few dollars for the daily rental from a vendor on the beach.

My husband and I dined at the NineTen restaurant for our anniversary (the kids were on their own…) and the food was wonderful. A little noisy, but didn't take away from the experience. There are numerous great places to each for breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner within walking distance.

The beds were very comfortable, with extra pillows available. As the property was constructed some time ago, the bathrooms are spacious, and there were 2 closets in our room. Each room is likely to be slightly different, as the hotel was constructed during three separate time frames.

Great, relaxing experience. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the water, which was great for sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Kathleen - as they say, better late than never. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Grande Colonial last summer. You chose a wonderful time to visit us, as 2013 was our Centennial year celebration so we had a lot of great things to promote our history going on. You also picked the perfect time to visit when many are already back in school. So while the weather is still picture perfect, the beaches are much less crowded. Thank you for pointing out our valet staff and our "free parking promotion". That offer is still available to those finding us right here on Trip Advisor. And, lastly, I'm glad you had a chance to experience NINE-TEN. Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion as your anniversary with us! We hope you will have the chance to come back and visit again soon. Best regards, Terrence Underwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed mid week at La Grande's "little hotel by the sea".
I was blown away by how great the staff, room, and service was. Room service was fast and friendly. Pool was great. And room had the most amazing view. The room was super clean with all of the amenities I could ask for.
Bonus: complimentary snacks and drinks; you can't go wrong here.

Can't wait to return.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Erik - Thanks for your enthusiastic review of the Grande Colonial. So glad to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel, the service and the extra amenities. Those guests who stay in one of our suites in the adjacent Little Hotel by the Sea or Garden Terrace wings enjoy a few added benefits to include the complimentary refreshments. Glad you enjoyed them too! Come back and see us soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
621 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have just completed two nights here and they were wonderful as the hotel is top class. The valets are great and deal with any car related queries, the front desk staff are helpful and the restaurant staff all know their job inside out.
We were upgraded to a Colonial suite, which was most comfortable and I couldn't fault the place.
One of the nicest stays I have had and the whole feel of the place is very relaxing. A class act.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HabLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear HabLeaf: Well we've been called a lot of things but "heaven" hasn't been one of them. But we graciously accept that adjective to describe our hotel. Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit, especially having traveled all the way from the UK. I'm particularly glad you were able to experience one of our Colonial Suites. That building is the original hotel from back in 1913 before we expanded and opened the remainder of the property in 1928. So you truly had the opportunity to experience the best of our 100+ year history. The next time you venture over the pond to the States, I do hope you'll choose to stay with us again. Thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing