We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location. Close to the beach and also the nearby restaurants and stores.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2010

The hotel is located right next to the beach. Definitely book the rooms with the ocean view. Although the hotel itself is old, it is nicely renovated and it is very clean. The staffs were nice and friendly. The thing we didn't like was the water pressure for the shower. It would be nice to have a stronger shower flow. The other thing we didn't like was that the hotel charges $22 for valet parking. We were lucky to be able to find street parking right next to the building so we didn't have to pay but considering the number of street parking spaces in the vicinity, I am positive most of you would need to valet.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KK0677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,661 - 1,667 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2010

Hotel was very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations and overall. There was some street noise on Saturday night-some car and loud talkers-until about 11:00 pm but not enough to warrant complaint to the hotel. If that isn't your thing-pay to stay with an ocean view.
The restaurant was EXCELLENT. Ordered room service one day for breakfast and got lunch in the bar. Everything was tasty and reasonably priced. I would recommend the restaurant even if you don't stay there.
Everything was great. Location was very convenient to walk to anything I wanted to do.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loves_room_service10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We booked a standard king size room at the Grand Colonial after checking out all the reviews for LaJolla hotels on Trip Advisor. We were thrilled with our choice. The hotel has a lovely classic, vintage feel with nicely updated rooms. Our room was spacious and well appointed, including a dining/desk area, huge walk in closet, and super comfortable king size bed positioned in front of a flat screen TV.. We had a partial view of the ocean looking over a few rooftops. We had asked for a quiet room, and it was. We took advantage of the GREAT location, right in the middle of incredible shopping and a short walk to the ocean, cliffs, seals and other flora and fauna. We also used the LaJolla location as a mid point between trips back to San Diego to meet friends, go to the Zoo, Old Town, as well as up Hwy 101 to Torrey Pines State Park, Del Mar, and more beautiful hiking and scenery. BTW, I read in one of the posted reviews that the staff was a bit "pretentious." I think this reviewer is just not used to "polite." The staff was uniformly friendly. provided directions, maps, boarding passes, and just about anything else we required. Last but not least, we ate breakfast three mornings at Nine Ten. Wow. You haven't eaten real Eggs Benedict until you have had them at Nine Ten. Too bad we were busy away from "home" and didn't sample their dinner menu. Two thumbs up from us all around.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybunski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Loved this Hotel. Great room, great service, great location...............what else would you ask for................

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
Thank kari641OrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Location was good, Walking distance at all major attractions. Staff were friendly. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Free internet was great and was really high speed too. "Ocean view room" was deceiving as the ocean could only be peeped at between buildings. Walls were thin. Could hear my neighbour and the elevator going at night. Disappointing that gym was off-site and you need to pay at the gym rather than included in the room rate.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
Thank Wai-Mun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

The service was fantastic, the location cannot be beat with stunning views of the pacific. A small pool, no hot tub or other spa-like amenities, just an old fashioned hotel. The staff was great, the vibe is laid back. My only complaint is a sense of shabby-chic-ness, it seems like it is due for some kind of redecorating, in their efforts to highlight their history they may be neglecting the present. Free internet was a PLUS! All in all I WOULD stay here again if I got a good internet deal, but i would probably not pay full price.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jneedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

I've stayed in many first-class hotels in the USA, and The Grande Colonial ranks among them. The staff could not be more considerate or service oriented, the suite was lovely and exceptionally clean and the location in the La Jolla village is perfect. Despite the many places to eat in the village, we chose to dine in the hotel's restaurant, The Nine-Ten, and were blown away. Fabulous. We will absolutely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancyn91604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
0.2 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £182 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing