We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My company has used this hotel for past 6+ years and we continually receive positive feedback. Would recommend this hotel to all business and pleasure travellers.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tflemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,139
    439
    142
    41
    23
See reviews for
485
709
67
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The Grande Colonial is my favorite hotel in the United States for holding small conferences. I organize conferences all over the country and overseas, and I have not encountered such a friendly and professional staff in any other place. They are all superb. I've been coming back to the Grande Colonial for the past six years and I plan to keep working with them. They are always on top of everything, and they always have the right sort of attitude. You have the sense that they truly care about what they do. Also, contrary to what happens in many nice hotels, their food is excellent. We choose to have some our dinners in some of the many restaurants are at walking distance for a change of scenery, but in terms of quality their restaurant is probably the best. Finally, it is worth noting what a wonderful job they do in keeping their historic building in such a pristine form.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianapolisNicoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2010

My foundation organized a conference for a group of researchers who study cognitive disorders in San Diego. The Grande Colonial was recommended to us as the venue for our event. While we were impressed by what we saw and read online about the hotel, I was not expecting the level of service and accommodations that we received. The staff was friendly, their technical support during our day of meetings was wonderful and the catering services keep everyone very happy. We even organized a cocktail hour after the meeting which was organized extremely well.

The hotel is located in the perfect place in La Jolla- walking distance from wonderful shops and great restaurants, the beach is right down the hill and a large gym in only a few block away as well. We are planning to host our annual conference at the Grande Colonial again in 2011. This will be the first year that our foundation will host our annual conference at a repeat location. The Grande Colonial is that good.

California-based Medical Research Foundation

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSRTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2010

The Grand Colonial has been our companies first choice for accommodations in La Jolla each October for several years in a row. The hotel is lovely, clean, and has a wonderful old world charm. The staff is always warm, friendly, and willing to meet every need. It is a beautiful 5 minute walk to the La Jolla Cove where our nearly 75 employees participate in a yearly fund raising event. The Grand Colonial is also at the center of wonderful shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful Pacific Ocean coastline. We love it so much that we are already booked for October 2011!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2010

The Grande Colonial was an outstanding home for our four-day business conference with 25 guests from around the country. The scale of the hotel, meeting facilities (the Sun Room is a marvelous venue for a group our size - character aplenty without the sterile, windowless feel of most hotel meeting rooms) and private dining events were just right. The meeting facilities perfectly adjoin the hotels public spaces, guest rooms and adjacent (and marvelous) restaurant - the 910.

The hotel did a great job working with us to plan meals, refreshments, optional activities - and executed on the same with perfection.

Questions were answered quickly - needs were addressed immediately.

Rooms were clean, classy, many with outstanding views of the Pacific.

All of the amenities in La Jolla village were right outside the hotel's doorstep.

I simply cannot return to the Grande Colonial in La Jolla soon enough!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMFviaPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san fernando ca.
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I was at the Hotel Friday and Saturday, Oct. 1 and 2nd, all of the employee's were very helpful, from the time i arrived until the time I departed, my room was very clean and orderly, i had a beautiful view of the ocean, the bar/restaurant was excellent, the food was very good and reasonably priced. There were plenty of stores nearby for shopping. I had a great time being there, as soon will return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbboltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, Public Relations Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Dear Rbboltz:
What more can I say in response to your very positive comments than...THANK YOU?! I really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and I look forward to sharing that same feedback with our entire staff. They are truly the ones who make it all happen. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you back soon.
Leslie Araiza, Director of Marketing/Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Spent 4 wonderful nights at Grande Colonial with 2 friends. Room was very comfortable...beds/pillows were great. One friend loved being in the room to lounge in the guest robes - thought the were scrumptious. When we reserved the room, we asked if we could have mini-fridge and coffee maker, which were there for us when we arrived, even though 2 1/2 mos had passed since the request. We asked for a 3rd robe, and it was brought to us almost instantaneously. Not only was their service quick and friendly, the front desk called to be sure our request had been filled and to see if we needed anything else.
This delightful hotel even has windows that open --- fresh air, what a wonderful thing.
The staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, Public Relations Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Dear Pkendrick:
I am delighted to read your comments about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. It sounds like your stay with friends was very memorable and I thank you for sharing that experience on TripAdvisor. If you ever come back for a girlfriend getaway, we do have two fabulous 2-bedroom suites (complete with a full kitchen and fireplace) that are ideal for these types of groups. I realize you are clear on the other side of the country, but if you ever make plans to re-visit San Diego, I do hope you'll consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Leslie Araiza, Director of Marketing/Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
843 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,049 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing