We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smaller room than expected but a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“smaller room than expected but a great location”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We expected more than a quite cramped room with a pull out sofa bed for the kids but it was very well appointed and fair value .
The location above a pretty cove at the end of the road with resident seals made up for it though. Its located in a nice trendy town centre in a fantastic location compared to down town San Dego which we thought looked a bit run down.

Plenty of free street parking right outside the door in winter anyway save on "valet" costs.

All in all a bit overrated but pleasant accomodation

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFairGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,153
    443
    145
    43
    24
See reviews for
495
718
67
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand Colonial in La Jolla......perfectly located for shopping, restaurants, and galleries....lovely decor......very helpful and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stedon1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We visited the Grande Colonial for a family reunion and 80th birthday celebration for my mother. We found the elegant old building charming, the location stunning, and the attentive service heartwarming. La Jolla Village is the place for a vacation in San Diego County. The hotel is just one block from a scenic craggy stretch of coastline, with spectacular wildlife your neighbors: lazy harbor seals, graceful pelicans, and ubiquitous seagulls. Miles of wide beaches are within a few minutes’ drive. The Village is an antidote to car-oriented Southern California with its small streets and numerous shops and superb restaurants within an easy walk. People with mobility limitations should make use of the complimentary “London Taxi” service offered by the hotel; your driver will be friendly, attentive, and genuinely happy to provide you with the service that you need. And tight parking in La Jolla Village makes this service very welcome alternative to driving, even if you have a car available. The rooms are comfortable and quite roomy for such a historic hotel. The staff seemed genuinely happy to accommodate the various requests of our party, which ranged in ages from 24 to 87. They made one of the conference rooms available as our “hang-out” space, bringing us tea and serving us our breakfast there. This made the hotel perfect for this family event; even the one rainy day during our stay was not a problem, because the room allowed us to turn it into “family game day.” The lobby is fairly small, so if you will need such space, it’s probably worth arranging for in advance. The breakfasts were gourmet-quality, and ordering off of the varied menu was a welcome change from hotel breakfast buffets. Many thanks to the Grande Colonial and its staff for helping us create a perfect family event.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Some_guy_from_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We only stayed for a short visit but enjoyed the location. Rooms were clean. We stayed in a room with a kitchenette which provided a microwave, sink, mini fridge and dishwasher. I would recommend this room to anyone who would like to stay for more than a few days. The hotel is located only a short walk away from La Jolla Cove where you can view seals play all day on the beach. The hotel is also within walking distance from shopping and dining. We had a rental car but only had it parked, we never needed it. La Jolla is a very walkable beach town.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank menthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Can't say enough good things about a recent "staycation" at the Grande Colonial in La Jolla, CA. I asked for something special for my girlfriend's birthday and they delivered and helped make our experience a very memorable one. An excellent staff, amazing but reasonably priced room, impressive christmas decorations, and overall an outstanding high quality experience. We will definitely be back to the Grande Colonial.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike2011_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Definitely don't want to discourage people from choosing this hotel, but your "Ocean View" is blocked by a huge condominium. It was a great stay, just not worth the money for the upgrade. A lot of people mentioned they were auto-upgraded, and if that were the case I might have been blown away, but since I paid for it, I was underwhelmed.

The food at Nine-Ten was amazing, and our server treated us like we were her own guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatthebluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2010

I stayed at The Grande Colonial over the thanksgiving holiday and really liked the location near the shopping and ocean. There are also a lot of nice restaurants that you can walk to. The room we had was an ocean view on a special rate booked online (go online for better packages!) and it had a nice view of the ocean even though there were some homes in the way. The bed was comfortable and there were nice amenities including soft bathrobes and they will bring you up anything you need pretty fast. I read online that valet parking was included and at checkout they presented the bill with valet parking on it for $22 per day!! I told the girl at checkout that I saw free valet online and she told me I was wrong and tried to explain the packages but she was just very confused and not making sense to us. I asked to speak to the manager and she seemed even more confused than the front desk girl! I mean, this is the manager right, shouldn't she know what the rates are? At this point, I would think that she would just waive the parking fee after all this trouble especially since we had stayed for three nights and spent plenty of money at their restaurant. She refused to waive the parking fees and had a pretty rude tone when speaking to me. It was like she didn't want to hear what I had to say -- and I tried to be very calm and complimentary to our stay overall. Since my last impression was so poor, I don't know if I'd want to stay there again, but it really was a nice hotel and there are many positives that make it a nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmith0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
950 reviews
3.1 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing