We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRING EAR MUFFS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2011

If you are looking for peace and quite you won't find it here. And when morning, you have an automatic alarm from all the neighbors talking and yelling and banging the doors, I mean you hear everything which brings me to my subject headline, BRING EAR MUFFS. Nuff said.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank I22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drush001, Manager at La Jolla Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Please accept my sincere apologies for the irritations you experienced on your recent stay with us. We do our very best to ensure all of our guests enjoy their time with us. Your note certainly lets us know that we failed to met your expectations. I would hope that you would give us another opportunity if and when you decide to visit La Jolla again. I will make sure that Ear Muffs will not be needed.

Respectfully

Dennis Rush
Managing Director
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shore Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

I cannot express in words the magic I felt during my stay at La Jolla Shores Hotel. We arrived around 5pm on a Sunday night very tired and ready to relax. We received that and more thanks to Nick. Nick set husband, nine-year-old grandson, and myself up in the corner suite with the most beautiful view to be seen. My grandson gave me the high-five and said “yeah Grandma, you did good!”. The room, staff service, maid service, and food were superior to other high dollar San Diego hotels. The hotel is close to anywhere you want to go and easy access to all major roads. I loved this early spring vacation and look forward to a fall escape soon. Thank you Nick and all the other wonderful personnel of the La Jolla Shores Hotel.
Sincerely,
Candace Darling
Southern Arizona

Room Tip: Full ocean view a must; it is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darling8tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

this is a very professionally run place without the pretentiousness. the rooms are large with high ceiling, they appear to be a bit older, but well cared for.

the staff is friendly. we ordered room service twice, always prompt and food is good. they give you starbucks coffee pods for your room.

the water is like a two minute walk from the room. we got a partial view of the ocean that you see from the balcony. i recommend this type of room unless you can afford better.

parking is $14 per day, i think that's high, but still seems to be the going rate.

we had very noisy neighbors above us at 1 am one night; i called the front desk and they promptly put a stop to it which i appreciate.

i often ask myself if i were going back tomorrow would i stay here again. the answer is a big yes.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rekab3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I travelled with my mom, sister, and nephew to San Diego/La Jolla area last year and enjoyed every minute of it. As we pulled up to the hotel, I was satisfied right away with the location of the hotel...with the beach literally in its backyard. My only minor complaint was having to park in the neighborhood, but it wasn't really an issue. The front desk staff was very helpful and seemed caring, even letting us check in earlier. The room itself was really nice in size, but the bedding and walls were just a bit dated, which didn't really bother anybody especially since our balcony led out to a beautiful view of the ocean. Overall, I was very satisfied with this place!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suprlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Stay here every time visiting my daughter at UCSD. Yes a bit old fashioned hotel but can't beat it. For those with teenagers - get the room with the beach park view - total eye candy with surfers going in/out, cheerleaders practicing in the park, never a dull moment on the balcony :-) Will stay again always.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
Thank cpollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Beautiful hotel right in the heart of La Jolla Shores. Great happy hour, awesome pool and hot tub, clean room and views to die for. Wish I could stay longer.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
Thank Divegirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

This hotel is terrible. For 300 a night rooms where I heard every word my neighbor said (I felt like they were in the room with me), rooms needed to be gutted, and I didn't even have a view. It's a glorified motel 6. No wifi, rip off for parking when you need a car to get around. All around disappointment. Will never make the same mistake again.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldclasstraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,221 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,085 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3199 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range: £158 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For decades, the La Jolla Shores Hotel has been the year-round beach retreat of choice for families and vacationers of all types. Nestled right on the ocean in the popular La Jolla Shores, CA community, the hotel’s friendly, warm and welcoming staff is a highlight of the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing