We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, top notch location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, top notch location!”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed at the La Jolla Shores Hotel for 6 days over the Christmas holiday. The location is really great, with direct access to the beach and lots of attractions close by in La Jolla. From here it only took about 15 minutes to get to downtown San Diego. There are several good restaurants within walking distance, and if you go into La Jolla village (5 minute drive) there are lots more. Staff was excellent and made us feel at home. They brought us cookies and milk on Christmas, which was a big hit with the kids. View was very nice (even though we weren't facing the beach, we had a nice view up the coast, and the park next door). Pool area was very nice. They offer in room DVD players with a complimentary library of movies to check out, which was a hit with our kids. Parking is very convenient, although pricey. Restaurant is good, but also a little pricey, however we didn't mind with so may options close by. Great overall experience!

Room Tip: Rooms with a "coastal view" were very nice...view was good. Honestly, the neighborhood is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    299
    119
    63
    46
See reviews for
462
249
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Our family of four (two children: 6 & 4 years old) had a great stay at the La Jolla Shores Hotel last month. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the front desk staff along with a good restaurant/service with the kids eating for free. Also, the pool was nice, warm and very clean. I'd highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

First off... great location right on the beach. Bed was nice and comfortable. The room was also nice. Everything was CLEAN!!! We got an ocean front room and we fell asleep to the ocean each night. We ordered a crib and it was clean and actually a real crib. They also had a little stuffed bear in it that had "La Shores" on it. Nice touch!! The pool area was nice. The pool was cold for our taste, but they claim it was set to 85 degrees I think??? The hot tub was nice. Actually have a small kid baby pool. But again it was too cold for us. There is a nice little park just a short walk up the beach for the kids..

Hear are some "not so good" things to think about---
-Way too expensive for what you get. (We paid the extra $$ for an oceanfront because we wanted to hear the ocean but that was the ONLY reason we spent the extra money to stay at this hotel)
-They will charge you $16 a night for parking.
-Staff members are friendly, but you still have to ask for new towels. ( we got back from being at Sea World all day and the room had not even been touched.)
- The food was not good at all. We ate pizza for room service and it was just "OK". We ate at the restaurant down stairs that looks over the ocean and it was not good at all. I left half my breakfast on the table. How can you screw breakfast up?? Food was also way expensive.


Over all we had a nice time at La Jolla Shores. I would have given it 5 out of 5 if we had spent less. But at over $300 a night, it just was not up to expectations. Would we go back????? Maybe, but I am pretty certain that I will try something else on my next visit. If we had not gotten the ocean view room, I would have been very unsatisfied with the hotel.

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel. Get the ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This hotel is the best we've ever stayed at from the staff who checks us in, the housekeeping staff, security, and dining room staff. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and always clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: 2nd story rooms have a view of the Pacific Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay for a few days or longer, Your Gona Love This!!! The Staff at this property are so wonderful and very very nice people. Somethimes hard to find. The room was very very comfortable, and well appointed. Bed was Pillow Top :] WaHoo! With a drop dead view right off your balcony, if that's what you decided on. Just wonderful, my husband and I will be back to this location!

Room Tip: Really love the ocean view room. Second or Third floor would avoid the board walk foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Would definitely recommend this hotel, the staff in particular were every professional, efficient, warm and friendly. In its prime it must have been a beautiful property. It has aged but seems to be taken care of and that is probably what makes it so affordable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinKM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I was lost, it was dark and raining, and I was looking for the hotel I had reserved in vain, and stumbled upon the Shores and went in to use the rest room - and to my surprise, it was incredibly relaxing and inviting and I was weary so I inquired about a room and got a lovely king room with a sea view for a reasonable rate. Had a business engagement that evening but the next morning had a business associate come to the hotel for breakfast - spectacular sea/beach view and divine breakfast that was also incredibly reasonable. I asked for a late check out so I could enjoy the view and relax before hitting the road to LA - I would go back here in a HEARTBEAT!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,172 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,082 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,346 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Property: La Jolla Shores Hotel
Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For decades, the La Jolla Shores Hotel has been the year-round beach retreat of choice for families and vacationers of all types. Nestled right on the ocean in the popular La Jolla Shores, CA community, the hotel’s friendly, warm and welcoming staff is a highlight of the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing