We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Inn(La Jolla)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grande Colonial La Jolla(La Jolla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Inn by the Sea(La Jolla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,074)
Filter reviews
1,074 results
Traveller rating
509
321
130
66
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
321
130
66
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla jolla shoreschairs and umbrellasping pongbeachfront roombeach serviceunderground parkingthird floorocean frontmarine roomshuttle servicehot tubbeach accesshotel restaurantfamily vacationsan diegonice poolbit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
780 - 785 of 1,074 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Really good value, great location right on the beach, unobstructed views of the surf and sand. Best feature is their bar, best ocean and beach view in town but order the wine since their 20-something bartenders don't know how to mix the classics and their cocktails can be pretty bad. Skip their Shores Restaurant-- pricey and average food, instead walk 2-3 blocks to Ave de la Playa for really good restaurants. Try Voulez Vous for breakfast, especially the Eggs Benedict, and Barbarella for lunch of dinner. Parking in La Jolla Shores is easy and plentiful. Parking in La Jolla Village is terrible, inadequate, expensive. Try the Coast Walk, an easy couple of miles to the Village with spectacular cliff and wildlife views but not for the elderly or disabled-- uneaven, steep dirt trail in places but OH the views.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room away from the pool since this is noisy most of the day-- especially when families and teenagers are there on Spring break. Coast View room also looks over the ocean just fine. Lobby floor rooms are very public, no privacy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANonyMouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I needed a "get-away week to rest, relax and quilt. It was everything I needed. It was not at spring break time, so it was quiet, but families would have a good time here. The view and being steps from the ocean is the best part. I am definately going back.

Room Tip: Ocean views or coastal view rooms are good.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We recently stayed at this Hotel on a Saturday night. Great location, right on the beach in La Jolla. It was a great getaway for my wife and me. We awoke to sunshine and a walk on the beach. First towards the beautiful homes facing the ocean and then back towards Scripps Pier. The front desk staff were extermely nice and helpful. A great place to stay while in La Jolla. We were within walking distance to several great restaurants.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis R, Manager at La Jolla Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about The Shores Hotel and our staff. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us on your recent visit to La Jolla. We hope that we are again able to serve you and your wife on your next visit.

Respectfully,
Dennis Rush
Manager
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla, CA. 92037

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This property was perfect for our stay in La Jolla, right on the beach with terrific views of the shoreline and area for miles. Our room was fantastic with ocean and beach views and wonderful bedding. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and any request we had was promptly responded to. Breakfast overlooking the beach and ocean was another plus. Will definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is not a glitzy beach resort and it's a bit old, but I really enjoyed my stay here. It is right on a nice beach and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Only two caveats: (1) I paid to park my car in the garage but didn't realize that there is plenty of free street parking (2) it's a long walk to downtown La Jolla despite how it appears on the map. They have a van but it was in the shop when I thought I'd use it. Good rates and a very good choice if you don't need glitz.

Room Tip: Be careful of rooms facing the street
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews