We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,144)
Filter reviews
1,144 results
Traveller rating
542
342
137
72
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
342
137
72
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la jolla shores ping pong beachfront room beach service beach chairs underground parking third floor ocean front marine room hot tub shuttle service san diego nice pool family vacation garden view restaurants and shops king bed
Filter
Updating list...
847 - 852 of 1,144 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We were there for 3 nights over our spring break in March and LOVED it! What a great find. It was a great price and directly on the beach. We were in room 336 and it was an ocean view room with a king bed and pull out couch, a full kitchen and room for a cot. Huge. It was so worth the price for the ocean view as it was amazing to wake up to every morning - just beautiful! The beach was not crowded and they even set up chairs and umbrellas for you for free. We ate dinner at the Shores Rest. at the hotel and the food was great but expensive. The best experience was the dinner on the beach - we ordered a BBQ on the beach and had our family come over to eat at sunset directly on the beach. The hotel sets up chairs and a table, a BBQ and you choose the food. Wonderful experience and worth every penny! The staff was great and everyone was happy and helpful. The grounds were beautiful with a lot of places to sit and relax. The pool was a bit small but the kids loved it. Overall a great find and we will definitely stay there when we go to La Jolla.

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade to the ocean view rooms if you can - it is worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BcAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Really good value, great location right on the beach, unobstructed views of the surf and sand. Best feature is their bar, best ocean and beach view in town but order the wine since their 20-something bartenders don't know how to mix the classics and their cocktails can be pretty bad. Skip their Shores Restaurant-- pricey and average food, instead walk 2-3 blocks to Ave de la Playa for really good restaurants. Try Voulez Vous for breakfast, especially the Eggs Benedict, and Barbarella for lunch of dinner. Parking in La Jolla Shores is easy and plentiful. Parking in La Jolla Village is terrible, inadequate, expensive. Try the Coast Walk, an easy couple of miles to the Village with spectacular cliff and wildlife views but not for the elderly or disabled-- uneaven, steep dirt trail in places but OH the views.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room away from the pool since this is noisy most of the day-- especially when families and teenagers are there on Spring break. Coast View room also looks over the ocean just fine. Lobby floor rooms are very public, no privacy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANonyMouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I needed a "get-away week to rest, relax and quilt. It was everything I needed. It was not at spring break time, so it was quiet, but families would have a good time here. The view and being steps from the ocean is the best part. I am definately going back.

Room Tip: Ocean views or coastal view rooms are good.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We recently stayed at this Hotel on a Saturday night. Great location, right on the beach in La Jolla. It was a great getaway for my wife and me. We awoke to sunshine and a walk on the beach. First towards the beautiful homes facing the ocean and then back towards Scripps Pier. The front desk staff were extermely nice and helpful. A great place to stay while in La Jolla. We were within walking distance to several great restaurants.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis R, Manager at La Jolla Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about The Shores Hotel and our staff. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us on your recent visit to La Jolla. We hope that we are again able to serve you and your wife on your next visit.

Respectfully,
Dennis Rush
Manager
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla, CA. 92037

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This property was perfect for our stay in La Jolla, right on the beach with terrific views of the shoreline and area for miles. Our room was fantastic with ocean and beach views and wonderful bedding. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and any request we had was promptly responded to. Breakfast overlooking the beach and ocean was another plus. Will definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews