We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beachfront room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Overnight stay for UCSD visit.
Wished I had more time to enjoy La Jolla and this stay.
Great front desk staff (I messed up my reservation and they fixed it).
Bed was great, had a good night sleep which is so difficult while travelling.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

We were there for 3 nights over our spring break in March and LOVED it! What a great find. It was a great price and directly on the beach. We were in room 336 and it was an ocean view room with a king bed and pull out couch, a full kitchen and room for a cot. Huge. It was so worth the price for the ocean view as it was amazing to wake up to every morning - just beautiful! The beach was not crowded and they even set up chairs and umbrellas for you for free. We ate dinner at the Shores Rest. at the hotel and the food was great but expensive. The best experience was the dinner on the beach - we ordered a BBQ on the beach and had our family come over to eat at sunset directly on the beach. The hotel sets up chairs and a table, a BBQ and you choose the food. Wonderful experience and worth every penny! The staff was great and everyone was happy and helpful. The grounds were beautiful with a lot of places to sit and relax. The pool was a bit small but the kids loved it. Overall a great find and we will definitely stay there when we go to La Jolla.

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade to the ocean view rooms if you can - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BcAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Really good value, great location right on the beach, unobstructed views of the surf and sand. Best feature is their bar, best ocean and beach view in town but order the wine since their 20-something bartenders don't know how to mix the classics and their cocktails can be pretty bad. Skip their Shores Restaurant-- pricey and average food, instead walk 2-3 blocks to Ave de la Playa for really good restaurants. Try Voulez Vous for breakfast, especially the Eggs Benedict, and Barbarella for lunch of dinner. Parking in La Jolla Shores is easy and plentiful. Parking in La Jolla Village is terrible, inadequate, expensive. Try the Coast Walk, an easy couple of miles to the Village with spectacular cliff and wildlife views but not for the elderly or disabled-- uneaven, steep dirt trail in places but OH the views.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room away from the pool since this is noisy most of the day-- especially when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANonyMouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I needed a "get-away week to rest, relax and quilt. It was everything I needed. It was not at spring break time, so it was quiet, but families would have a good time here. The view and being steps from the ocean is the best part. I am definately going back.

Room Tip: Ocean views or coastal view rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We recently stayed at this Hotel on a Saturday night. Great location, right on the beach in La Jolla. It was a great getaway for my wife and me. We awoke to sunshine and a walk on the beach. First towards the beautiful homes facing the ocean and then back towards Scripps Pier. The front desk staff were extermely nice and helpful. A great place to stay while in La Jolla. We were within walking distance to several great restaurants.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis R, Manager at La Jolla Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about The Shores Hotel and our staff. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us on your recent visit to La Jolla. We hope that we are again able to serve you and your wife on your next visit.

Respectfully,
Dennis Rush
Manager
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla, CA. 92037

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This property was perfect for our stay in La Jolla, right on the beach with terrific views of the shoreline and area for miles. Our room was fantastic with ocean and beach views and wonderful bedding. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and any request we had was promptly responded to. Breakfast overlooking the beach and ocean was another plus. Will definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is not a glitzy beach resort and it's a bit old, but I really enjoyed my stay here. It is right on a nice beach and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Only two caveats: (1) I paid to park my car in the garage but didn't realize that there is plenty of free street parking (2) it's a long walk to downtown La Jolla despite how it appears on the map. They have a van but it was in the shop when I thought I'd use it. Good rates and a very good choice if you don't need glitz.

Room Tip: Be careful of rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,193 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,380 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range: £164 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For decades, the La Jolla Shores Hotel has been the year-round beach retreat of choice for families and vacationers of all types. Nestled right on the ocean in the popular La Jolla Shores, CA community, the hotel’s friendly, warm and welcoming staff is a highlight of the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing