We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

As a busy executive assistant, I truly depend on hotel staff to ensure requests are met since I am not able to be there physically to double-check. Unfortunately, both requests (which took me time to fill out hotel paperwork, scan, and email back, twice) did not happen. I had assured our guest that the room was on us and that there would be a nice bottle of wine and snack basket for her upon arrival since she would be there for a while before dinner. It was quiet embarrasing to find out, not from the hotel but from our guest, that nothing was ever set up in her room and that they insisted on having her CC to swipe upon departure. She didn't want to cause a fuss so she just gave them her card. Disappointing to say the least. Front desk manager apologized once i called. Although he said they would make it up to me if I tried them again, offering something today ie: lunch, snack basket etc...to woo me back would have been a nice gesture.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    294
    114
    62
    45
See reviews for
445
239
37
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel is amazing, expecially for weddings. We had a wonderful experience with Jennifer Nesovic, of LJSH: She helped in every way! She honored what our original contract said and was very helpful. The staff was friendly and prompt in responding to requests. Our wedding guests raved about the location and the wedding itself. The food was especially out of this world!

Room Tip: PIick an ocean view room and ask for one on the top floor; it is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folly Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Thank you for making our first visit to San Diego perfect! We stayed 5 nights and the staff was wonderful. The shuttle around La Jolla was a big benefit to us. It allowed us to see so much of La Jolla and the drivers were very friendly. The shuttle was always available in a timely manner. The room was clean and the bed was supper comfortable. The jacuzzi closed and 10 pm and we would have liked to see it open a bit longer. We wanted to relax after our full days of hiking, surfing, and sight seeing activities. The location of the hotel was so convenient to all the fun stuff in the area. We will be returning for another vacation. We can't wait to see you again!

Room Tip: Did not use spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

What a superb place to stay in La Jolla! We had the deluxe beachfront room that served the three of us quite nicely with my wife and I in the king bed and our daughter on the sofa bed in the living room. The kitchenette was well stocked with all needed accessories and we prepared a couple breakfasts will there. We found a Von's not too far away in town. This place is right on the beach! Our third floor balcony had a perfect view of La Jolla Cove and we could watch kayakers, swimmers and surfers from our vantage point. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice touches include ping pong in the courtyard, shuttle service to La Jolla destinations by request, beach staff to provide umbrella, beach chairs and towels, and a foot shower on the was back into the facility. You can even schedule an on the beach cook out dinner.
The many restaurants of Avenida de Playa are only a very short walk away. Note that we only found Voluez Vouz Bistro open before 9AM but it served us quite nicely. Many other good places for lunch and dinner. Plenty of Italian for some reason.
I highly recommend La Jolla Shores!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a beachfront room. We liked the top, third floor and there are elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

What a great place to stay. Impressive staff, outstanding location, and big clean rooms. We wished we could have stayed longer. The complimentary beach chairs and umbrella made the trip complete and felt like hotel service from another era. Do pay the extra to park in the hotel parking garage, street parking is nearly impossible. Before we even checked out, my family was talking about their next return.

Room Tip: Coastal view room with balcony has a great view and fun for people watching. However, beach activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipflannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The location of the hotel is great! Right on the beach! A short walk to some nice restaurants and shops was a bonus. A little longer walk (probably easier to drive) to the La Jolla Village (where the main shopping and restaurants are) was a nice bonus. I was impressed with the condition of the hotel, property nicely maintained for being an older hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking fee was reasonable (it is under the hotel, be aware of the height of your vehicle, clearance is low) and the WiFi was free! Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsteele526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary, In
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Our group had occasion to call upon hotel services for a rollaway bed, extra towels, and help with the t.v. and each time, someone responded literally within 5 minutes! Very impressive. And all those who provided service were unfailingly polite and cordial.

The hotel would benefit from some updating. Because the property is so well situated---right on the beach---the location alone would guarantee a return on that investment. But, as it is, it has a certain character and is generally pretty well maintained. I would, however, recommend a more thorough cleaning of the carpeting in the rooms and the exterior tiles outside the rooms. Overall, La Jolla Shores is a family-friendly hotel that provides excellent service and value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reynelda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,154 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Property: La Jolla Shores Hotel
Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3199 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For decades, the La Jolla Shores Hotel has been the year-round beach retreat of choice for families and vacationers of all types. Nestled right on the ocean in the popular La Jolla Shores, CA community, the hotel’s friendly, warm and welcoming staff is a highlight of the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing