We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I read the reviews on here prior to booking the hotel and they are spot on....this is why I LOVE trip advisor! I will just give brief overview of my stay. To put this into perspective, I was leaving a Ritz Carlton in Dana Point and coming to La Jolla Shores.....PLEASE understand that at the Ritz you pay for the experience as well as incredibly nice rooms--At La Jolla Shores you are paying strictly for location. Yes the room was nice, I booked room 335 (Which I would book again), an oceanfront suite which was again, nice (Spacious, vaulted ceiling) but the quality is lacking. I have NO problem with this as I knew exactly what I was booking so I was not disappointed. However, had I not read the reviews I may have been somewhat confused with cost/quality.
That having been said, the location was PERFECT! I mapped out everything I wanted to do and was able to do even more than that due to the convenience of the way the city is mapped out as well as ease of getting places. It was on the weekend so I'm sure the lack of traffic worked in my favor. I had less than 48 hours in San Diego and was able to do everything I wanted. La Jolla Beach, Cove, saw the seals, Museum of Contemporary Art, the Living Room for coffee, dinner by La Jolla Beach and in downtown La Jolla, gelato, and then the few hours I had before needing to be at the airport I was able to briefly check out downtown San Diego. Shout out to Ben at the front desk of La Jolla Shores who not only gave me great recommendations on restaurants but walked me outside to put me in the right direction of them.
Overall, I would absolutely stay here again and I would also recommend this to beach lovers who truly want a great overall experience, not afraid to pay a little extra for it, and not obsessive over the lack of marble sinks and pristine bedding.

Room Tip: 335-King bed suite all the way! Oceanfront, Sunset views, top floor! Why stay at the beach if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    287
    107
    58
    41
See reviews for
423
229
34
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a beachfront unit with kitchen. Yes the room was a little dated, but it was clean and the views were wonderful. We were up early every day and were able to walk the beach or head to town to walk along the Cove. As far as issues, the air conditioning unit was not particularly effective and its location near the floor in the corner was difficult to get to and air floor was blocked by the bedside stand. The curtains that covered the wall to wall windows and door to the deck also were strangely situated. You had to open them all the way from left to right to clear the sliding door to the deck. It would have been nice to open the opposite way so you could open them just far enough to get out onto the deck, particularly if the other person wanted to continue sleeping.

The service was fine and the young men tending the beach chairs and towels were always nearby. You are charged $18 per night parking which I feel is nitpicky. For the price you pay it should just be included in the daily room rate. We would stay at the Shores again sometime. You can't beat the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I celebrated my 60th birthday with about 50 friends and family and several of us stayed the whole weekend in the beachfront rooms overlooking the ocean and beach. All of my guests said they had a wonderful time and what a beautiful place it was to hold a celebration party. The food was wonderful, the sunset was gorgeous and the sound of the ocean. It doesn't get any better than that.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but the beachfront room is my favorite. You can sit on your balcony and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for our 34th wedding anniversary. After checking in, it was very difficult to find a place to park at the hotel. Finally squeezed into a parking spot and could hardly get out of our car. There was a sign up on our way to the elevator stating the sauna was broken. The elevator felt like it was going to break down as we went up to the floor where our room was located. The room looked like it had not been updated since the 60's. All of the furniture was dirty and the room smelled like there had been a couple of frat parties recently.
View was spectacular from our deck, however, there were bird droppings and food all over the deck. All of this for $600 per night. We quickly checked out and headed to the Marriott Marquis Hotel/Marina for $364 per night. Beautiful hotel and gorgeous views!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I loved this hotel and it met all of our expectations. Yes, it is dated. However, we did have one of the third floor costal rooms and the view was lovely. Our room was ready early and the staff was great. We did take advantage of the DVD library once. The bed was super comfortable, probably one of the best we have ever had in a hotel. We had a small kitchenette, which had more items than we expected.....a full size refridgerator, stove, dishes, pans, full set of kitchen knives. Von's grocery store is fairly close to the hotel. The only cons to this place is that you are charged $17 dollars a day for parking, and you have no alternatives. Since the beach is a public beach, the parking is very limited. In fact, never saw an empty space. The walls are thin, but if you turn on the AC, it drowns out some of the sound. I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. Another tip.....skip George's at the Cove and have dinner in the hotel restaurant, you have a better view of the sunset.

Room Tip: Choose a second or third floor room. If you have a costal room it is across from the park and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FluteGirl128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Lovely town and lovely views, but this hotel was built in 1970, and you can tell. Staff is great, and while it is very clean, I was not impressed with the room for the price. There are some great restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: You want the ocean side not ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dddaniel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed a couple nights at La Jolla shores hotel. Overall I would rate the hotel above average. I would say the hotel itself is average, but the fact that it is right on the beach makes it above average.
I will simply express the pros and cons:

PROS:
Right on the beach.
Right next to a park (nice with kids)
Restraunts and shops only 1 block away.
Wifi included
Front desk check in was professional (can't say the same about checking out)

Cons:
Pay 17$ per day for parking below the hotel. We were there on a Saturday night and it was tough to find a spot. No problems finding spots on the other nights.

Rooms are dated. Carpets are frayed, wallpaper frayed.

No HDTV

May put you right next to a wedding party we were not even a part of. (this can be a coastline view room such as ours)...so caution on weekends.

Ben, the gentleman who checked us out wasn't very professional in my opinion. When he asked how our stay was...I said fine except that first night was very loud with the wedding reception right outside our room (loud music, ect). His response was "that sounds about right". Was not too impressed about that response. I do not think he realized how this comes off, and will say that all the other staff I dealed with were very kind.

So overall above average hotel because of location only.
If you don't mind some noise, don't mind the rooms being a bit dated, want to be right on the beach then this is the hotel for you.

I would stay here again, but only if I stayed in ocean front room. We stayed at coastline view room.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xShanex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.2 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Property: La Jolla Shores Hotel
Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3199 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TIG Global and Ebookers so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing