We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had ups and downs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had ups and downs”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Pros:
1. AMAZING location. Right on the beach, beautiful, plenty of street parking (no need to pay for hotel parking), great pool.
2. Spacious rooms, with fridge, plenty of towels/pillows etc.
3. Attentive and helpful staff.

Cons:
1. Ridiculously thin walls -- we could hear everything going on in the room next to us, including an argument that lasted until 2am one night. This seriously impacted my impression of the place and make it difficult to get any R&R.
2. We didn't have a complimentary breakfast in our deal, and their breakfast is quite overpriced, so we went out every morning to get something.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    299
    119
    63
    46
See reviews for
462
249
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Friendly staff, nice beach location, clean and spcious rooms. We will come back to this hotel next time in San Diego. Close to attractions like Kajac tours, the Birch aqarium and Black's beach.
Good for jogging along the beach.
Close to UCSD campus.

Room Tip: Ocean front room to be prefered, if you like to slep to the sound of the pacific ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a beautiful room overlooking the beach, probably available only because it was off season. It was heavenly to look out over the beach and to be able to hear the surf all night. The hotel was relatively quiet and the staff was superb.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadisonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Beautiful weekend getaway, my husband and I had a wonderful trip! The hotel is right on the beach and offers great amenities. It is also very convenient to many other local attractions. The hotel service was also great, very helpful and genuine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBCALIGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stay here on the off peak season. We visited here end of September, beginning of October for 6 days and there weren't that many people. My first impression was filled with apprehension. The ambiance though nice, it looked dated. White paint inside rooms wasn't my favorite nor the popcorn ceiling. But soon it was easy to look past that as the rooms were quiet (probably owing to off peak time though), the beach was right there, the breakfast overlooking the crashing waves, amazing with so few people there (owing to the off season), a children's park was right next door. Another amazing part of this place are the complimentary shuttles which is pretty much a private taxi that will take you anywhere in La Jolla. First day I wanted to go to a good place around the village, and the driver told us he knew just the perfect spot, and he dropped me and my two kids at the La Jolla Cove. For pick up, I told them exactly where I was and they came to pick us up.
Housekeeping was inconsistent, and very fast (it seems for most part they make the bed and get out the door)! The beach and Jacuzzi on site was good. And, the location was perfect. We stayed here while my husband worked during the day and between the beach, the pool, restaurant, the park, and the few restaurant, yogurt shops in mere walking distance we were all set. And, then there was the complimentary shuttle/car service.
The beach itself was good. You could call the front desk and they will get your chairs and big umbrellas for you. The beach always had joggers, walkers, kayak lessons, and surf lessons going on, on each side. Parking was easy to find around.
My biggest CON for this place is the smoke friendly atmosphere...There are ash trays in front of each floor's elevator, I saw people all over smoking, and in balconies It is just the place is so suitable for children but ironically at the same time, children and cigarettes just don't mix. They must think about this more seriously because as fond my memory is of the place, I will not want to subject my babies to second hand smoke!

Room Tip: try off peak season time...rooms away from the pool, are probably quieter. Rooms right on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1worldtraveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our favorite family place to stay, or place to stay with friends when traveling to La Jolla. Right on the beach with kayaking, diving, and distance-swimming-friendly tides. Good rookie-level surf, and lots of kids for your pre-teens and toddlers to meet at the beach. Probably not as good for true surfers or couple that want to say away from family-noise and action.

Room Tip: Partial view rooms have great views of the beach. Often a place for noisy functions, receptions, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland, ca
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at hotel for conference. Beautiful setting right on the beach. Room was old, needs updating, service was just ok, same with cleaning. But the location! Didn't use the pool, but looked clean. I walked up to Caroline's cafe, for even nicer view and nice breakfast. Oh, you should be able to park on the street.for free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,090 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,352 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Property: La Jolla Shores Hotel
Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For decades, the La Jolla Shores Hotel has been the year-round beach retreat of choice for families and vacationers of all types. Nestled right on the ocean in the popular La Jolla Shores, CA community, the hotel’s friendly, warm and welcoming staff is a highlight of the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing