We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice stay, needs some attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Been staying here for many years because of the convenient location to Scripps. I appreciated the courtesy shuttle and helpful front-desk staff. Rooms now showing their age and in need of some updating.

As others have also pointed out, room choice is critical for a number of reasons. Noise can be a big problem. Rooms with doors connecting to other rooms and rooms facing the park are going to be a problem. I had a first-floor room near the pool. Rain and daily hosing of the stone/tile was incredibly loud, as were people talking as they passed my room, because the windows over the door let all noise through. The hotel should consider upgrading these windows to lessen noise.

Room was spacious. Wireless internet in the room (free) was adequate, but modest speeds at best. Desk and chair were fine.

Nearby restaurants/shops will satisfy basic needs, more choices can be found in La Jolla proper.

Room Tip: Higher floors, away from park.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaSciTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for La Jolla Shores Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was amazed by town of La Jolla, it's beautiful all around blue sky blue ocean pines tree everywhere . Hotel right on the beach literally 2 steps , they have a parking garage which really helps. I booked an ocean view room , we stayed on second floor never use an ac just open a balcony door and that was a heaven with fresh breeze and sound of the waves.........
Room was docent size big comfortable bed and nice silk/terra-cotta robes. It's slightly outdated but clean and home. Has a small kitchenette with coffe machine, sink and fridge. Hotel is completely smoke free all around so is a beech. Souls I come back? In a heart beat......

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor ocean view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

La Jolla Shores is located right on the beach. It has a very charming open-air feel and excellent service. Good restaurant and bar with indoor and outdoor seating and ocean views. The people who worked there were really very kind, helpful and professional. Many rooms overlook a pretty outdoor pool and jacuzzi. You will hear and see the huge seagulls squaking at the pool, but it's kind of charming. There are stores and restaurants in walking distance. The hotel has a bit of an old world, intimate feel, but in a good way. It is small so you should be prepared to be in close quarters with other guests. Many rooms open directly onto the pool where others are sitting/talking. Rooms have kitchenette with microwave, stove and all the equipment you need to cook full meals if you want. Overall a very relaxing spot.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, ask for an upstairs room that does not open onto the pool. Some rooms on t...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlouder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary at the La Jolla Shores Hotel this past August and we could not have had a more enjoyable experience. We arrived very late after a long day of repeated travel delays, and the desk staff had us in our room very quickly. Our room, which was the basic Garden Patio, was large, comfortable and clean. Our room was bordered by the street on one side, and a courtyard on the other, but it was very quiet at a very busy time at the hotel (late August).

The hotel is perfectly located, right on the beach in La Jolla Shores, with an excellent beach, swimming and snorkeling right at your doorstep. It's a lovely walk up the beach toward the pier, with beautiful coast line as far north as you want to walk. There is a small strip of restaurants a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, and the walk into La Jolla itself isn't too far either, with many more dining options there (I strongly recommend George's At the Cove). Maybe a half hour to forty minute walk, I don't remember exactly, definitely walkable though. We did have one lunch and one dinner at the hotel restaurant, with a lovely view overlooking the ocean. The meals and service were excellent.

La Jolla Shores is very handy to a great many attractions. We went into San Diego and enjoyed the Gaslamp District one evening, and a Padres game another night. We also drove out to Torrey Pines for some hiking and did some poking around La Jolla proper. Managed to fit a lot into a long weekend!

All that to say that we had a wonderful time in La Jolla Shores, and especially at the La Jolla Shores Hotel. Our one regret was that we didn't bring our kids on this trip. The hotel seems well set up for families, and we look forward to bringing ours the next time.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davephin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed 5 nights with family (3 children age 16-21) 2 rooms one an efficiency. One of few hotels that is right on beach. Steps from group of stores and restaurants that make up la jolla shores.
Rooms clean, service very attentive. Facilities nice but a bit worn - not unexpected given tough use as you literally can go from sandy beach right into the hotel and your room. Also a bit noisy again not unexpected given families with kids. Did not eat at hotel but restaurant looks out over beach and makes a nice spot for drinks and dinner
More of a 3 star place but service and location bump it up a bit
Definitely recommend for family stay less so for a couple

Room Tip: Get higher floor with view consider efficiency as not many restaurants in immediate area
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50sNewEnglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Gave us a room right next to construction. Literally gave us the room closest to the construction and claimed all other beach view rooms were booked even though there is not a single light on in any other room in the hotel. Construction started promptly at 8am with chainsaws and caterpillars. Booked the room nearly two months ago and have been a customer since early 2000s and this is how you treat us? Called the front desk and they brought us two small bottles of water to make up for the $600 wasted on the hotel. Thank you guys so much! Management tries to be nice but did nothing for us. For over $250/night this place is absolute garbage. Carpets are dirty and stained making me scared to even walk to the bathroom barefoot. Smells like someone took a giant turd before we entered the room every time and thats not even an exaggeration. This place is an absolute joke and a huge waste of money. Wouldnt recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Only come here if you want to completely waste your money. Essentially a motel 6 on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ne3ema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We faced north overlooking a park and the ocean. Exceptional views. The hotel room is older, but meets the needs of any vacationer wanting to stay just footsteps away from the Pacific Ocean. It's walking distance to some delightful boutique restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Writerguysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,370 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range: £165 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For decades, the La Jolla Shores Hotel has been the year-round beach retreat of choice for families and vacationers of all types. Nestled right on the ocean in the popular La Jolla Shores, CA community, the hotel’s friendly, warm and welcoming staff is a highlight of the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing