We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Valencia Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,085)
Filter reviews
1,085 results
Traveller rating
513
326
132
66
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
326
132
66
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla jolla shoreschairs and umbrellasping pongbeachfront roombeach serviceunderground parkingthird floorocean frontmarine roomshuttle servicehot tubbeach accesshotel restaurantfamily vacationsan diegonice poolbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 1,085 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great and friendly staff. Wonderful location, walk into little town, right on the beach, nice bedding and room. The town of La Jolla Shores is much more low-key and casual than La Jolla, which we preferred.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a view of the coast. Partial views are good too.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Been staying here for many years because of the convenient location to Scripps. I appreciated the courtesy shuttle and helpful front-desk staff. Rooms now showing their age and in need of some updating.

As others have also pointed out, room choice is critical for a number of reasons. Noise can be a big problem. Rooms with doors connecting to other rooms and rooms facing the park are going to be a problem. I had a first-floor room near the pool. Rain and daily hosing of the stone/tile was incredibly loud, as were people talking as they passed my room, because the windows over the door let all noise through. The hotel should consider upgrading these windows to lessen noise.

Room was spacious. Wireless internet in the room (free) was adequate, but modest speeds at best. Desk and chair were fine.

Nearby restaurants/shops will satisfy basic needs, more choices can be found in La Jolla proper.

Room Tip: Higher floors, away from park.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaSciTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was amazed by town of La Jolla, it's beautiful all around blue sky blue ocean pines tree everywhere . Hotel right on the beach literally 2 steps , they have a parking garage which really helps. I booked an ocean view room , we stayed on second floor never use an ac just open a balcony door and that was a heaven with fresh breeze and sound of the waves.........
Room was docent size big comfortable bed and nice silk/terra-cotta robes. It's slightly outdated but clean and home. Has a small kitchenette with coffe machine, sink and fridge. Hotel is completely smoke free all around so is a beech. Souls I come back? In a heart beat......

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor ocean view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

La Jolla Shores is located right on the beach. It has a very charming open-air feel and excellent service. Good restaurant and bar with indoor and outdoor seating and ocean views. The people who worked there were really very kind, helpful and professional. Many rooms overlook a pretty outdoor pool and jacuzzi. You will hear and see the huge seagulls squaking at the pool, but it's kind of charming. There are stores and restaurants in walking distance. The hotel has a bit of an old world, intimate feel, but in a good way. It is small so you should be prepared to be in close quarters with other guests. Many rooms open directly onto the pool where others are sitting/talking. Rooms have kitchenette with microwave, stove and all the equipment you need to cook full meals if you want. Overall a very relaxing spot.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, ask for an upstairs room that does not open onto the pool. Some rooms on the street side do have ocean/pool views, and they are less expensive than the beach side rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlouder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary at the La Jolla Shores Hotel this past August and we could not have had a more enjoyable experience. We arrived very late after a long day of repeated travel delays, and the desk staff had us in our room very quickly. Our room, which was the basic Garden Patio, was large, comfortable and clean. Our room was bordered by the street on one side, and a courtyard on the other, but it was very quiet at a very busy time at the hotel (late August).

The hotel is perfectly located, right on the beach in La Jolla Shores, with an excellent beach, swimming and snorkeling right at your doorstep. It's a lovely walk up the beach toward the pier, with beautiful coast line as far north as you want to walk. There is a small strip of restaurants a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, and the walk into La Jolla itself isn't too far either, with many more dining options there (I strongly recommend George's At the Cove). Maybe a half hour to forty minute walk, I don't remember exactly, definitely walkable though. We did have one lunch and one dinner at the hotel restaurant, with a lovely view overlooking the ocean. The meals and service were excellent.

La Jolla Shores is very handy to a great many attractions. We went into San Diego and enjoyed the Gaslamp District one evening, and a Padres game another night. We also drove out to Torrey Pines for some hiking and did some poking around La Jolla proper. Managed to fit a lot into a long weekend!

All that to say that we had a wonderful time in La Jolla Shores, and especially at the La Jolla Shores Hotel. Our one regret was that we didn't bring our kids on this trip. The hotel seems well set up for families, and we look forward to bringing ours the next time.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davephin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews