We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So we thought we were staying at the La Jolla Shores Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So we thought we were staying at the La Jolla Shores Hotel...”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

So we reserved two rooms at the hotel, but they put us in the tennis club next door. Much better location...there is massive construction on the south side of the hotel at the beach. If you are at the hotel I think you can go to the tennis club bar, next to their pool. Check first since you can only charge things to your room. Like all uber fancy places, they don't take cash. The bar crowd there is Caddy Shack cool, so it was a fun and light-natured evening. The beach is crammed on weekend nights with big groups of family of the club members having massive pre-sunset dinners on the shore, but that makes it like a big party, which I view as a plus...except when I don't. My room, which mind you was not in the hotel, smelled faintly of mold, feet, and 1978. I'm not just saying that because they randomly put us in the tennis club.

Room Tip: I can't really commincentive the rooms or the service, or the food or the sleep or anything else...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Sibyl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    294
    114
    62
    45
See reviews for
445
239
37
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just stayed at la Jolla shores last week for spring break. We had a beachfront deluxe room, and it was perfect for our family of 5...and right on the beach! Our kids loved being able to go right from the beach to the pool. Our room was clean and well kept. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We've (wife + 2 kids) have stayed at the LaJolla Shores several times over the last 20 years. It is our favorite place to stay in SoCal. This is one of the few hotels in all of the San Diego area directly on the beach -- and that location is why it ranks so high.

The hotel is very simple - some might call it dated. The rooms are spacious but not elegant. The pool area is quite small. None of this concerns us on this type of trip as it is the ocean/beach we are interested in when we visit. Parking (although charged) is very good (generally, parking on the beach in LaJolla is impossible) with an underground, gated parking garage.

Restaurant at the hotel is so-so but there are dozens of top quality places within a few blocks of the property so that doesn't matter either.

Staff has always been attentive and helpful to our needs.

Rooms overlooking the ocean are definitely a plus -- particularly those with balconies. However, if you want to save the money, you can go with a standard view room and just BE out on the beach.

Room Tip: Best rooms (and the most expensive) are those that are 'Ocean Front' with the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cougguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hotel is on the great place directly on the beach. That is all. Maybe from this reason is overpriced. Rooms are little bit old fashioned, but without "soul of old America". Very thin acoustic isolation there. So you will know everything about your neighbors, their children and they about you. Noisy reconstruction of next road is in the progress from early in the morning. Parking is charged. Be carefully when you book via booking.com. On the website you can choose "ocean view" but for the hotel it means "partial ocean view". In the reality it means that you will have view over parking cars to the park and somewhere behind the park and when you lean over you terrace you can see ocean. When wee sad in this case: we are leaving, stuff changed the room to true ocean view. I think that only one plus is breakfast in the restaurant. But it is usual requirement, no advantage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

It is our honeymoon!!!!!! That being said let me begin from the beginning. When we got here and let the front desk know about our honeymoon they instantly hooked us up with champagne, 2 not cheap breakfast vouchers and validated our parking for 24 hours. That was OUR first impression of this wonderful place and it's staff. Each day has been simply perfect due to the almost overly friendly and helpful staff, oh ya and the place is on the BEACH!! Ocean front room is a must, waking up to the waves crashing right outside our balcony has been absolutely serene. Tomorrow? In-room massages but tonight.... Jacuzzi and a movie. Oh and to this guy and his new wife these rooms are not "dated", some of these submitters simply don't know what quality in simplicity is.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo, MS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We reserved two beachfront rooms for 3 nights through Travelocity. We arrived Wednesday, 4/9. We had asked for top floor rooms which were not guaranteed but we had high hopes that we would receive them. Well, we were given 1st floor rooms so we were intially disappointed. There was road construction near the hotel which they could not help and our friends' room had a huge backhoe sitting dead center in their beachfront view. Our friends were very upset. Our room had the equipment to the left so if we looked out from the bed, our view was great.

The hotel manager and staff apologized for the inconvenience and moved us to a different side of the hotel on the top floor with a coastline view. Our friends stayed on this side but we preferred our 1st floor room view better so we stayed put.

As others have stated, this hotel is a little dated but we loved it. The staff was great. The view was great once the equipment moved a day later. The room was roomy and clean. The robes were a very nice perk. We loved the location. We could walk to restaurants and the Hike, Bike, Kayak office. We would definitely stay here again.

SPECIAL NOTE: The staff contacted our friends later the same day as check-in and offered a beachfront room for Thursday and Friday but our friends opted to same in the coastline view room.

Room Tip: The coastline view rooms are noisy due to the park next door. We stayed in room 140 (Beachfront) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves_Animals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We planned a quick getaway for a wedding and chose this hotel by the website description and photos. It is clean enough, but really needs to be closed down and renovated if they want to charge these rates. Reminded me of an old villa type hotel I stayed at in LA for $87. Bought a beach front room online for $216, but got an "updated reservation" email a couple days before quoting $389 per night, I ignored it, but good try. I printed my original email and had it in hand. The room was seriously overpriced at $216. We did have a nice view of the ocean and a nice private deck early morning and late night, but by 9 am the beachfront was consumed by Large tourist kayakers. It seemed like it would be a great place to take kids, but I'm sure you could find something equal for less. Walls extremely thin, decor cheap and tacky. Just not a nice place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,154 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Property: La Jolla Shores Hotel
Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3199 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For decades, the La Jolla Shores Hotel has been the year-round beach retreat of choice for families and vacationers of all types. Nestled right on the ocean in the popular La Jolla Shores, CA community, the hotel’s friendly, warm and welcoming staff is a highlight of the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing