We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here before and had a different experience the room had a coast view which isn't bad but this time we booked with the hotel directly and got a ocean front room. Yes there was construction but we were on the 2nd floor so it wasn't to bad! The view from the bed and sound of the ocean was awesome ! They had originally had us on the 1st floor which would not of been good I would be writing a different review but we asked for a high floor and they have us the2nd floor. Even with construction and the large number of kyakers we still loved our stay ! I wasn't very impressed with the restaurant though. There is a lot of great ones close by that we walked too. We will Definately stay there again and book a ocean front room thru the hotel. By the way the construction is over!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lkygrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

My boyfriend and I were in la jolla for a weekend and wanted to stay on the beach. That is the only thing this hotel offers.
We called the hotel directly instead of booking on a discounted website to ensure we booked the room type we wanted, beach view with a king bed. We were ensured that was what we were booking but that is not what we got when we checked in. We did have a north view of the coast but we had two queen beds. We specifically asked for 1 king. When we called the front desk to ask to be moved the manager was unsympathetic and only offered a handicapped room.
His nonchalant attitude towards their mistake was insulting. We stayed in the room and felt like once they had our money they didn't care about us anymore. Something as little as comped breakfast would have made us feel less taken for a ride.
There was also construction in the front of the building and kayak companies dropping off kayaks creating loud noise each morning around 6am.
If you want an old musty queen sized bed by the beach where the employees treat you like dollar signs, you'll love this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Miche1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

So we reserved two rooms at the hotel, but they put us in the tennis club next door. Much better location...there is massive construction on the south side of the hotel at the beach. If you are at the hotel I think you can go to the tennis club bar, next to their pool. Check first since you can only charge things to your room. Like all uber fancy places, they don't take cash. The bar crowd there is Caddy Shack cool, so it was a fun and light-natured evening. The beach is crammed on weekend nights with big groups of family of the club members having massive pre-sunset dinners on the shore, but that makes it like a big party, which I view as a plus...except when I don't. My room, which mind you was not in the hotel, smelled faintly of mold, feet, and 1978. I'm not just saying that because they randomly put us in the tennis club.

Room Tip: I can't really commincentive the rooms or the service, or the food or the sleep or anything else...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Sibyl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just stayed at la Jolla shores last week for spring break. We had a beachfront deluxe room, and it was perfect for our family of 5...and right on the beach! Our kids loved being able to go right from the beach to the pool. Our room was clean and well kept. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We've (wife + 2 kids) have stayed at the LaJolla Shores several times over the last 20 years. It is our favorite place to stay in SoCal. This is one of the few hotels in all of the San Diego area directly on the beach -- and that location is why it ranks so high.

The hotel is very simple - some might call it dated. The rooms are spacious but not elegant. The pool area is quite small. None of this concerns us on this type of trip as it is the ocean/beach we are interested in when we visit. Parking (although charged) is very good (generally, parking on the beach in LaJolla is impossible) with an underground, gated parking garage.

Restaurant at the hotel is so-so but there are dozens of top quality places within a few blocks of the property so that doesn't matter either.

Staff has always been attentive and helpful to our needs.

Rooms overlooking the ocean are definitely a plus -- particularly those with balconies. However, if you want to save the money, you can go with a standard view room and just BE out on the beach.

Room Tip: Best rooms (and the most expensive) are those that are 'Ocean Front' with the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cougguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hotel is on the great place directly on the beach. That is all. Maybe from this reason is overpriced. Rooms are little bit old fashioned, but without "soul of old America". Very thin acoustic isolation there. So you will know everything about your neighbors, their children and they about you. Noisy reconstruction of next road is in the progress from early in the morning. Parking is charged. Be carefully when you book via booking.com. On the website you can choose "ocean view" but for the hotel it means "partial ocean view". In the reality it means that you will have view over parking cars to the park and somewhere behind the park and when you lean over you terrace you can see ocean. When wee sad in this case: we are leaving, stuff changed the room to true ocean view. I think that only one plus is breakfast in the restaurant. But it is usual requirement, no advantage.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

It is our honeymoon!!!!!! That being said let me begin from the beginning. When we got here and let the front desk know about our honeymoon they instantly hooked us up with champagne, 2 not cheap breakfast vouchers and validated our parking for 24 hours. That was OUR first impression of this wonderful place and it's staff. Each day has been simply perfect due to the almost overly friendly and helpful staff, oh ya and the place is on the BEACH!! Ocean front room is a must, waking up to the waves crashing right outside our balcony has been absolutely serene. Tomorrow? In-room massages but tonight.... Jacuzzi and a movie. Oh and to this guy and his new wife these rooms are not "dated", some of these submitters simply don't know what quality in simplicity is.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mikeevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,221 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,083 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3199 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range: £157 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For decades, the La Jolla Shores Hotel has been the year-round beach retreat of choice for families and vacationers of all types. Nestled right on the ocean in the popular La Jolla Shores, CA community, the hotel’s friendly, warm and welcoming staff is a highlight of the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing