We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try somewhere else other than the La Jolla Shores Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough Uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try somewhere else other than the La Jolla Shores Hotel.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My booking was with eBookers. The confirmation voucher suggested we had a beach view room. When we got to the room 212 it was a room facing another room opposite and its roof.

At the desk I showed Steven the eBookers voucher which said;

"Garden Patio two queen beds 400sq ft and steps from the sand with private balcony or patio. Beachfront view two queen beds 400sq ft room, offering unobstructed ocean views from a".

Steven understood the confusion but was only able to offer an extra cost upgrade to a beach front room. I was not happy with this and after some discussion he offered a free breakfast voucher for both of us, but could not extend this for the second night of our stay.

He refused to offer free parking (worth $18 per night). He agreed to ask his manager if he could offer the second days breakfast too, but this was also later declined. Not a good start.

Were we misled by the eBookers room description? Possibly.

Did we get the type of room we booked? Possibly not.

Room 212 is advertised as a Garden patio room, but it looks out onto another facing room and rooftop. This room does not have a garden view from the balcony as advertised. Steven at the front desk told me that the hotel was full (Memorial Day weekend), and so could not move us to a better room without a cost upgrade - so not full then! This was at 4pm - so not a late check in either!

The bed in the room was too soft and I have some experience of California hotel beds.

Lesson – do not accept 212 it is NOT a Garden view room.

The buffet self serve breakfast is not worth $16 +. When we arrived the offering was looking very tired and we were not late into breakfast.

The scrambled eggs had solidified into a pale yellow rubbery mass, the bacon was fatty and undercooked and the sausages tasteless. There were no croissants despite the sign-age and we had to ask for them. Orange juice was not included in the price.

We did not bother the next day and had a wonderful breakfast at Barbarella a two blocks away.

In fact the restaurants on that street were all good. Its not worth dining at the hotel.

At sunset the bar service was very slow. How can two beers take 15 minutes to be brought 20 ft from the bar to our table? Slow! But a great view – best at the bar at sunset – we didn’t we sat outside

If you have a car, don’t bother with the undercover parking either. At $18 per night - is too expensive - this is not Los Angeles after all!

There is plenty of parking in the streets nearby even on Memorial Day and the holiday after.

The location of the hotel is great right on the beach and it’s a lovely beach. The hotel beach staff and friendly an efficient setting up an umbrella and beach chairs and a bbq if you want one at lunch or in the evening. You can bring a cook your own food. NOTE the rule is no liquor or glass bottles or smoking on the beach. Widely ignored.

We stayed on Memorial Day weekend ( 25th to 27th May 2014 so maybe not the cheapest rate compared to other weekends.

The pool and Jacuzzi were packed with children and the beach was very busy too which is probably to be expected on Memorial Day weekend. We loved the beach.

Try another hotel instead.

Room Tip: TA reviewers tell you to go for a beach view but these are said to be noisy if you want the window o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djt12488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    299
    119
    63
    46
See reviews for
462
249
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, FL
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Of course the location is the best, right on the beach and a short walk to an eclectic variety of cafes and fine dining. I enjoy lunches by the pool..(fish tacos) cocktails at the happy hour bar ( good classic martinis ) where the sun sets, and delectable dinners, or small plates, in the shore front dining room. Casual beach resort chic, yet elegant.
Perfect for vacationers or us lucky locals to stroll down Aveneda de Playa, or the long sandy beach, for a romantic rendezvous. La Jolla Shores is a rare gem. Brenda Hill, travel writer.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For 25 years my family and I have traveled to La Jolla shores. This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The beds were comfortable and the cleaning staff was quick and efficient. The pool is small and so is the jacuzzi, however, we did not come to this hotel for those things. We picked this hotel because it was literally on the beach and walking distance to dinning, (all price points and options available), shops, water activities, coffee, and wide open park and playground. The hotels offers daily beach set up with towels, chairs, and umbrellas. Eric helped us out daily with this set up and was more than gracious and polite. In fact all the young men in charge of this were helpful. The restaurant and bar overlook the ocean and sitting there in the morning and sunset offers a breath taking views. This is not a glamorous hotel, but the accommodations are more than comfortable, the location is perfect and the hotel staff from checking in to to service staff, and hospitality crew are friendly and helpful. We stayed in the garden view with 2 queen beds and it had a refrigerator and plenty of room for 4. The bathroom and sink area were separate, which is always helpful with people getting ready for the day. Ping pong in the courtyard was a fun daily activity too. If you are someone who just wants to be on the beach this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaBahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the La Jolla Shores Hotel where I booked an oceanfront room. I was on the second floor and I could hear nearly every step that the people above me took. I could also hear the conversations of the people on either side of my room as all rooms have the ability to adjoin, so there is a door in between every rooms. In addition, at around 6 am every morning, a kayaking company begins it tours so the outdoors also get noisy. After two days I was absolutely exhausted and the hotel would not refund my money for the third night. The rooms are outdated and smell musty. I would not at all recommend this hotel. The beach and tennis club next door is a better value with a nicer property.

Room Tip: If you still decide to stay - avoid rooms near the pool (noisy) and try for the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here before and had a different experience the room had a coast view which isn't bad but this time we booked with the hotel directly and got a ocean front room. Yes there was construction but we were on the 2nd floor so it wasn't to bad! The view from the bed and sound of the ocean was awesome ! They had originally had us on the 1st floor which would not of been good I would be writing a different review but we asked for a high floor and they have us the2nd floor. Even with construction and the large number of kyakers we still loved our stay ! I wasn't very impressed with the restaurant though. There is a lot of great ones close by that we walked too. We will Definately stay there again and book a ocean front room thru the hotel. By the way the construction is over!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lkygrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My boyfriend and I were in la jolla for a weekend and wanted to stay on the beach. That is the only thing this hotel offers.
We called the hotel directly instead of booking on a discounted website to ensure we booked the room type we wanted, beach view with a king bed. We were ensured that was what we were booking but that is not what we got when we checked in. We did have a north view of the coast but we had two queen beds. We specifically asked for 1 king. When we called the front desk to ask to be moved the manager was unsympathetic and only offered a handicapped room.
His nonchalant attitude towards their mistake was insulting. We stayed in the room and felt like once they had our money they didn't care about us anymore. Something as little as comped breakfast would have made us feel less taken for a ride.
There was also construction in the front of the building and kayak companies dropping off kayaks creating loud noise each morning around 6am.
If you want an old musty queen sized bed by the beach where the employees treat you like dollar signs, you'll love this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miche1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

So we reserved two rooms at the hotel, but they put us in the tennis club next door. Much better location...there is massive construction on the south side of the hotel at the beach. If you are at the hotel I think you can go to the tennis club bar, next to their pool. Check first since you can only charge things to your room. Like all uber fancy places, they don't take cash. The bar crowd there is Caddy Shack cool, so it was a fun and light-natured evening. The beach is crammed on weekend nights with big groups of family of the club members having massive pre-sunset dinners on the shore, but that makes it like a big party, which I view as a plus...except when I don't. My room, which mind you was not in the hotel, smelled faintly of mold, feet, and 1978. I'm not just saying that because they randomly put us in the tennis club.

Room Tip: I can't really commincentive the rooms or the service, or the food or the sleep or anything else...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Sibyl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,172 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,082 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,346 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Property: La Jolla Shores Hotel
Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For decades, the La Jolla Shores Hotel has been the year-round beach retreat of choice for families and vacationers of all types. Nestled right on the ocean in the popular La Jolla Shores, CA community, the hotel’s friendly, warm and welcoming staff is a highlight of the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing