We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Extraordinary property. Everyone was friendly and courteous. Rooms were spacious, well appointed and clean. The grounds are meticulously maintained and the locations, superb. Overlooks the Torrey Pines Golf Course and is right next door to the Lodge. Beyond the Golf Course is one of the prettiest stretched of the California Coastline. With the way most rooms are situated, you'll have a front row seat to spectacular sunsets. You are minutes away from downtown La Jolla with all of its quaint shops and restaurants. Drive a bit further and you have all that San Diego has to offer. Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank meinkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your recent 5 star review and for choosing to stay with us. I am overjoyed to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and that you loved not only the property itself, but also the pristine grounds and beautiful views. I am delighted to hear that you received wonderful service from our entire team and that everyone helped make your stay that much more memorable. I am pleased you chose us as your San Diego destination and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    471
    198
    85
    46
See reviews for
322
363
54
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was a 4 star booking through Hotwire, listed as in La Jolla. Something to consider is that the hotel is a 5 to 10 minute drive into the actual downtown area of La Jolla. There are no shops to speak of near the hotel. If you don't have a car you will need a cab back and forth into town.
The hotel room have all been recently renovated, and they are large, clean, and comfy. We had a fridge in our room which was great. The pool is really nice, so are the grounds. The gym facilty is one of the better ones I've ever seen, and most of the staff were super, especially in the restaurant. Special mention to the man in charge of the eggs!
We had a $35 add on that gave us 2 full breakfasts each day, parking, and internet. Considering parking is $26 a day alone, this was well worth it. I didn't see any street parking around. The breakfast is excellent.
The views from the hotel are great, but they did have a lot of lingering marine fog during our 4 days, so you couldn't see much past the golf course.
Also, it can be cooler than you might expect here. Before lunch and after dinner, you might find yourself heading for the hot tub and skipping the pool. I'm sure this isn't all of the time.
And, although most reviews will mention great views from your room, there are some rooms which don't look at the golf course or the pool, and have a very slight view of the gardens. Our's was one of those not so impressive views.
I'm not sure but part of the trouble when booking through Hotwire might mean that you could end up in the least desirable rooms, and what can you say? I am beginning to think that you are better off just paying a bit more to book directly through the hotel. That way, you can ask to be moved, etc.if you aren't happy. I could be wrong about the that.
Overall, we liked our stay at this hotel. Glad we had a car, though.
The worst part of our stay came when I checked out. The bellboys would not let me take one of the baggage carts to load our cases up prior to leaving. The room we had was a fair distance from the only door in and out. He told me it was a liabilty issue. So I hauled all of our bags through the hotel and out to the car without their help. No problem. Then when I checked out, I asked the girl why they wouldn't let me take the cart to get my bags loaded in the room. Her reply to me was a question, "Don't you have a couple of bucks for the tip"? What a way to end our 4 day stay at this Hilton. After tipping bellboys, waiters, housekeeping, and the wonderful egg chef for 4 days, I felt this girl's comment was way offside.
We would never come back, or reccommend this hotel, based on that one parting comment.

Room Tip: Stay at the far ends of the buildings for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adognamedrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Hilton Torrey Pines always has excellent service starting at the valet, the front desk, in the dining area and even the bar. The grounds are kept immaculate and their location at Torrey Pines Golf course and near the ocean are beautiful. Great for family, friends and couples. I know it sounds like a commercial but I have stayed here many times and if is great each time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darthvayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. I am pleased to hear how much your enjoyed your stay and that you received impeccable service throughout your time with us. I am delighted to learn that you loved our serene and relaxing location with unbeatable views and the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course just steps from our front door. I am happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I went to the Hilton Torrey Pines for two nights with my daughter and her husband and two little kids. Ages 3 and 5. While this is not really a resort for kids, it is fine. We needed to be near La Jolla and found it to be just a short drive away.
The rooms are well appointed and clean. Beds good. Amenities good. We did not eat in the hotel. the workout room looked a little shabby. We didn't use the pool, but it looked very inviting.
walked around near the golf course and enjoyed the sea breezes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hufsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Hilton at La Jolla has it all. Beautiful views, spacious rooms, friendly staff and of course the golf course. The hotel is in a desirable location with easy access to all the great attractions. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with a veranda view of the golf course are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWF901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Diego. I am ecstatic to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and that you loved your spacious and comfortable guest room as well as the stunning views. I am pleased to know that you received impeccable service throughout your stay and that you can’t wait to come back. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Not my favorite place. We booked a government rate so of course we got the worst located rooms they have. I guess not so bad for my husband since he was going golfing and he could walk out to the course, but no view whatsoever. No natural light either. As it turned out, I ended up walking out and over to The Lodge for meals anyway so I guess it worked out after all. I'm not sure if that was the Hilton's intended outcome. First of all, there is nowhere to get food except for the one restaurant in the Hilton hotel. So they know they are holding you hostage. The breakfast, which included bacon, eggs and coffee, was $26++. Really? We ate dinner there the first night and it wasn't that great so I wasn't about to spend $26 on bacon and eggs. So we went next door to The Lodge where the food was better and less expensive, the resort is nicer, and the service was much more gracious. Next time I would spend the extra $100 a night and stay next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvsdeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the guest room you received. Next time, please let our front desk team know and we would be more than happy to try and provide you with accommodations that are more fitting to your needs. I am very sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your dinner the first night of your stay which discouraged you from joining us for breakfast. Our breakfast is fantastic and much more than just bacon and eggs, we also have a build-your-own omelet station, fresh fruit, pastries, French toast, potatoes and much more. I encourage you to try it the next time you visit. Thank you for your review and I hope you reconsider choosing to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krum, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This Hilton is a perfect spot in between Del Mar and La Jolla I love it! Very nice ocean views and beautifull golf course behind property. It is typical Hilton quality with more recent updated rooms. The breakfast was great especially the omelette station everything else was very good also

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing