We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torrey Pines!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Over all good location to stay, we enjoyed hiking in Torrey Pines. Hotel has good views and you can rest. This hotel is adjacent to golf club; it provides good opportunity to spend a day playing golf while enjoying spectacular views.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Shoaib S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed our location and everything it has to offer: golf, ocean views, hiking, relaxation. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
There are newer reviews for Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,289 - 1,295 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

• Upon check in, after entering the room and making our way to the outside balcony we found a box with trash sitting in the corner

• On the following day after arriving back at the room, we ordered room service around 8 PM (no time estimate was given on when to expect delivery – I know Marriott does this on every order) – the order consisted of a cheese plate, a champagne split and a pitcher of water; after approximately 45 minutes after the order was placed, I called to check on the status of the delivery and the person whom answered the phone said he would need to check, and once I heard that, I told him I wanted to cancel the order since it had taken that long so far, and there was no indication from him on when we could expect it even at that point.

• Upon cancelling the room service, we called the front desk and advised them of the issue and said we would be drinking the water bottles that were sitting in the room and stated that we do not expect to pay for them, and the front desk personnel confirmed that would be ok, and she also stated that she would have the food and beverage manager call our room (the food and beverage manager never called)

• Around 12 midnight I heard laughter, loud talking, and cheering outside of the room in the pool court yard, approximately a half hour went by and I contacted the front desk and told them to have the party move inside since it had awaken me and I could not fall back asleep

• Around 8:45 AM, I called the operator and asked for the MOD and was transferred to the front desk and put on hold for an extended period of time, I then hung up and called back and asked for the GM in which I was transferred to a voice mail and left a message for Patrick Duffy that I wanted to talk to him about the current quality and service issues at his property, I left him my cell phone number, and advised that I would be leaving for the day

• At approximately 3:45 PM (or 7 hours later) the GM, Patrick Duffy called me back and left a voice mail with his direct number to contact him

• Upon entering the room around 4:30 PM I called the GM, Patrick Duffy at his direct number and it rang to voice mail which I left a message that I was returning his call and I still wanted to talk to him; upon hanging up the phone I called the front desk and asked for Patrick Duffy and was advised that he had left the property for the day. My initial contact to the MOD and the GM was in regards to the first several issues encountered during my stay (below expectations on service) and my immediate call at this time was for the MOD to come to my room, as I was enraged due to the poor service from housekeeping. When we left the room in the morning we had several clumps of dirt fall off of our shoes at the foot of the bed and upon returning to the room at 4:30 PM, the room was in order but the mud still remained as the maid did not take out a vacuum while cleaning.

Until this day, the GM Patrick Duffy has yet to return my phone call, and the 2 bottles of water were charged to my Amex card the day after I checked out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AZHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We truly apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered at our hotel. We strive to make every guest feel comfortable and at home. We have sent you a private message so we may get in contact with you. Thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Hilton is a very nice choice for staying in the La Jolla area without breaking the bank. The room was attractive and felt as though it had been recently renovated. Everything from the carpet to the wallpaper was in perfect condition. The bathroom was huge and very modern. The shower was equally large and this was perhaps the first hotel I've stayed at in a long time where the water drained quickly. If your budget allows, go for the Terrace Room. These rooms have huge balconies with chaise lounges and a table and chairs, and overlook the golf course with the Pacific ocean beyond. One note is that the Terrace rooms are at the end of the hallways, so they are a very long walk from the lobby. As a plus, the location provides a super quiet room. One gripe was the price for a small bottle of water in the room. The water was $5.50 - an absurd price. If the hotel has to sell it at such an inflated price, then they should perhaps not offer it at all. I drove to Ralph's grocery store and picked up a larger bottle for $1.79.

A lot of people have complained about the cost for extra services, but I found that if you buy a bundle, it is not too bad. There are options for adding one, two, three or four of the options. I picked three and received breakfast, parking and wireless internet at a much lower price than buying them separately. The restaurant is on the lower level and an attractive, although rather basic design. Breakfast was good. They offer a buffet, but you can order off the menu, too, if you prefer. Choices were the standard hotel buffet items but everything was hot and the serves were friendly and aimed to please.

Overall, this hotel did a lot right, and when you factor in the rate compared to other nearby properties, a very nice value as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reldim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Clean and comfortable an all around good hotel with solid service. The view from the restaurant is wonderful over looking the golf course. A good selection from the menu invites you to hang out there. A nice and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Located about 25 minutes away from downtown San Diego this hotel was a really good choice from a location perspective. Reception was incredibly friendly. There is good on site parking but it can be a tad expensive. There is an in hotel shop and coffee shop which can also be on the pricey side.

The free Wi-Fi in the lobby is good but expect to pay if you want it in room. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The room amenities were good but the lack of free bottled water was a negative. Shower and bathroom was good as was the quality of wash/gels provided.

I got this hotel at a reasonable rate and when I use San Diego I would probably stay here again.
The only negatives I would put towards it would be the lack of free wifi inroom and the parking costs.

Room Tip: High Floor Sea View
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyBigMistake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We booked into the Hilton for a couple of nights after staying at the Hotel Del Coronado - the hotel was quite nice, its location next door to Torrey Pines golf course was fantastic for me (although I was unable to golf). Parking costs were high ($25/day) and the wireless internet was expensive too $15/day in room). We had one meal at the restaurant and the food was average to poor and the waiter was totally uninterested in us being there.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to have a view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_S6627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here to attend a wedding at the hotel next door. It was clean and comfortable, but I was disappointed at the lack of amenities. There wasn't even a pen in the room. You have to pay for everything from parking to wifi and water in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
4  Thank thej-leons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
2.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,370 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £115 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing