We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb setting”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Large, comfortable hotel room with well appointed bathroom. Rather dark and lacking sunlight even though we were in California. My room had a balcony but it did not get sun at all during the day. The layout of the hotel, especially for a conference was slight challenging - the main meeting room was a way away from the bedrooms and entailed a brisk walk (welcome exercise though, through endless hotel corridors). Great breakfast and helpful staff on both Reception and Bell Captain.

Room Tip: Choose one that actually gets some sunshine!
See more room tips
Green Features: Despite leaving towels out so they did not get changed daily, they did!
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for sharing. We are glad that you enjoyed our renovated guest rooms. Please let our front desk know you would like a brighter room and we will do our best to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    476
    201
    88
    48
See reviews for
333
368
56
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic views out over the golf course and the ocean. Service good and friendly. Facilities nice with lovely pool and good Gym. Couple of restaurants with a reasonable choice and good quality. Certainly worth retuning to if I am in the area again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay! We thrilled you enjoyed our beautiful location in La Jolla and our amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a wonderful 4 night stay here. We were originally slated for a "garden view" and asked for a ocean view. Despite being Hilton Gold members, they charged us $15 more for the ocean. After the first night we asked for another room, since the "ocean" view was slim- they complied very nicely, and we moved our things to a better view. We should probably have complained, but we didn't.

The staff was consistently friendly and helpful- the breakfast waiters, (all men?) were attentive and the happy hour wait staff (all women?) were also very thorough. On the day of the San Diego Chargers games the chef was passing out sugar cookies decorated like Charger helmets. We did not eat a meal in the restaurant. The continental breakfast had a very good selection. For more $ you could have the chef cook you eggs to order. It reminded me of the breakfasts at Hilton Garden Inn.

The hot tub, right next to the pool, seemed clean and there were towels at the pool. There is also a nice workout facility. The grounds were meticulous.

Be sure to check into the parking policy- the normal rate is $25 night for overnight guests- I believe we had a package. You will need a car- typical California. There is no beach access from the hotel itself, you need to go to Torrey Pines State Park (north) or to Torrey Pines City Park- (south). The latter requires a dramatic walk down to the beach. I liked the fact that this property was a bit "out of town"-we found everything we needed only minutes away in La Jolla. The Birch aquarium was only 5 minutes.

This Hilton will be right in the thick of things in the next few weeks as the PGA tournament and Tiger himself will be playing the Torrey Pines Golf course- The Hilton grounds seemed to be preparing for lots of visitors with exterior painting and gardeners running around!

Room Tip: I believe most all of the rooms have a balcony or walk out- but depending on their location, you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We welcome all feedback and we are glad to hear our staff helped make your stay more comfortable. We did just have the Farmers Insurance Open and it was a success! We look forward to welcoming back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a large hotel, the rooms are very modern and clean. The bar staff are very friendly, we only had breakfast here which was fine. The views are stunning looking out to the ocean across Torrey Pines Golf Course.

My husband did not have any trouble organising a round of golf, just go along to the starter's office (next to the pro shop) and he will do his best to accommodate you. Spectacular views from the course,

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, but some only have a partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffanymoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad your husband enjoyed golfing during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Well, I knew there was some benefit for traveling so much...a wonderful employee here named Jacqueline was accommodating when I said I preferred a king room to one with two queens. Perhaps accommodating isn't the right word, as I was treated to an amazing "room" overlooking the 18th fairway at Torrey Pines. It was actually more like a generous apartment, with a large living room with a sectional sofa, a dining room seating 8 people, a nice bedroom, and 2 bathrooms. Yes, the suite was beautiful, but more importantly, the fact that this employee went out of her way to provide this (at no extra charge, I might add) is the exceptional part of the stay and the property. Nice job.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite at the end of the hallway overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dino F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We will share your kind words with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is gorgeous - overlooking a golf course and the Pacific Ocean. Very clean and comfortable rooms (with mini fridges) and extremely helpful and friendly staff. The concierge helped me get to and from lunch in downtown La Jolla as well as scheduling transportation for my trip to the airport. The only downside was that the nearest restaurant was at least a mile or two away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Meredith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed our ocean facing property! Our concierge is the best in La Jolla. :) We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
571 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 591 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Overall, the actual property would deserve an excellen rating of 5/5. Unfortunately, there were a few service issues during my stay which are leading me to lower my overall rating. Detail below

What I liked: First, I really like what they have done with the place. I did stay at this property 5+ years ago and it started to show its age (although I had an awesome upgrade that time). Rooms are modern, well appointed and large enough that you can add a rolloway bed and still have plenty of room to move around. Everything felt new and was in working order. Liked the fact that I was given a room with a balcony. We ate dinner at the main restaurant on the day of arrival and although on the pricey side, food and service was excellent. We also had breakfast there everyday and were happy with the offering. Location is great as you are more or less in the middle of it all. 20-25 minutes away from DT San Diego/Zoo area and 20-25 minutes away from Carlsbad with the premium outlets and Legoland, and of course only minutes away from the Torrey Pines State park and La Jolla/Del Mar beach areas. As a diamond member, I had access to complimentary wifi which was quick enough and reliable throughout the stay. And as I booked early enough, the rate was so low, this was almost a steal!!!

What could be improved: Not sure what actually happened but the 2 rooms booked had not been assigned prior to arrival. I know that with the upgrade to the property room types offered actually changed from the time we book this stay to the time we checked-in so this may be part of the explanation. This property is also notoriously famous for not having rooms ready by the 3pm check-in time. Not sure if it is because this was during the holliday season but in our section, we saw housekeeping staff getting active around 12pm and they were still cleaning up rooms well past 3pm. Initially, I was told that no rooms would be available until I offered that I would be ok to have a king-sized room if they could put a rollaway bed in (something that I feel the front desk employee could have thought of but anyway...) I am not blaming the check-in employee who was actually very friendly and was trying his best to give me "a great room as a Diamond member" - just that this stuff should be sorted out before hand, not when I check-in. Speaking of housekeeping, we had a few issues throughout our stay as bathroom amenities and towels were not restocked properly (example: 2 bottle of conditioners rather than 1 shampoo and 1 conditioner). We had a couple of those throughout our lenghty stay. Parking is not cheap at this property so do consider one of the parking package. Also, for Diamond members, this property does not feature an executive lounge. This means that you will get breakfast voucher for the cold (continental) buffet. Staff does monitor what you take so if you want the full buffet, you have to fork out $6 - which is still good value but detracts from the overall experience.

Overall, I just loved this place and the surroundings. The upgrades to this property were nicely executed and there is a good mix of modern amenities in this relatively peaceful setting. Staff there are wonderful. As I said in my opening line, I want to give it 5 stars but... just a few détails that needs to be worked on

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us. We value all of our guest feedback and are constantly sharing with our team. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,007 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
1,294 reviews
2.6 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
4.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing