We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, quiet rooms, comfy beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Modesto, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, quiet rooms, comfy beds”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines for 4 days. The staff was courteous, helpful, and friendly. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Our room had a sliding door with a balcony with a wonderful view of the courtyard and golf course. One of the best features was how quiet it was. Usually when we stay in a hotel we are awoken by outside traffic noise or others in the hotel but during our stay here we heard nothing. It was peaceful and serene. Also, we felt like the air quality was very good. So often hotel rooms feel stuffy and you are sealed inside without the ability to open a window for fresh air. We appreciated having the sliding door, but even when the room was closed up, the air quality was good.
When we arrived back home there was a message on my phone answering machine. An item had been found in the room and they inquired as to whether perhaps I had left something behind. After unpacking, I realized I had left an external hard drive in the security safe! It was black like the base of the safe and I didn't realize I'd left it behind. I can't say how truly appreciative I am of the staff for so quickly notifying us of this. The drive contained hundreds of photographs. Many thanks to the Hilton staff for their quick and honest response!
I definitely would recommend the Hilton at Torrey Pines.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are glad to hear you found our hotel to be peaceful and serene and our rooms comfortable. We strive to provide our guests with a getaway destination atmosphere. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    479
    207
    89
    50
See reviews for
342
378
56
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel has a great location next to the ocean and the Torrey Pines Golf Course. The amenities are great as is the staff. When we checked out and went to our car we found the car had been broken into. We always check that the car is locked twice before we leave it anywhere. No security cameras, no patrolling security, no follow up from the hotel or from the security companys insurance. We won't come back, no peace of mind it won't happen again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. The security of our guests and their belongings are the utmost importance to us. In addition to our security team, we have a company which overlooks our parking structure. We have sent you a private message so we can get in touch with you and help resolve this issue. This is a rare occurrence, but we take this very seriously and look forward to speaking with you as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice with mixed feelings. The rooms were fine - typically Hilton. I enjoyed the bar and met my friends there which was pleasant. What I didn't like was the fact that they had promised me a tee-time on Torrey Pines. This got messed up by the hotel staff, and I had to wait for hours before a new tee-time became available. The hotel made some lame excuse for the botched reservation, but were absolutely no help. My first stay was fine, but no golf was involved.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies if there was a mistake on our part for the tee time reservations. We set aside exclusive tee times just for our guests as an amenity at our hotel. We hope you will stay with us again when you are visiting La Jolla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I don't want to pan this hotel, but I do have a few slight peeves.

The good: It was a very nice 2 day stay in a convenient location.
The things that matter most to me were A-1 (great decor in bath, quiet attractive room, big tv, clean fresh linens and towels, safe in closet, blackout curtains that led to a balcony with a view).

The peeves:
Parking is extra ($25/night)
Internet is extra (?/didn't use that)
Two separate sets of elevators for the garage and for the hotel/rooms. We had to go up one set, walk over to the other and go down. Not that big a deal but we mastered the routine just as we were about to check out.

Pending: I was mis-billed for the hotel restaurant that I never ate at or ordered from. Got passed around by humans and ultimately had to leave a voicemail to dispute this charge. Hoping the credit comes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank derekdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed our updated rooms. We will check on the restaurant credit and get back to you asap. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here in early December only for a couple of nights but it was in the perfect area for where we wanted to go, you need a car though. We used to live in La Jolla years ago when this Hotel was first built and its still impressive and is a reasonable price. The pool was undergoing a major renovation so was a bit peeved not to be able to sit around the pool area, even though it was December, it was fairly warm. We were not told this when we booked. The hotel is very quiet and is only 4 floors high, spread out over the property. It also has a small coffee shop and basic breakfast items. We could go for great walks every morning and then drive up to our favourite bagel shop "Einsteins" after showering and changing. Its only a 5 minute drive into La Jolla Village and is far away from any traffic congestion, yet close to the I 5 freeway and a short drive up to Del Mar which has some fantastic restaurants.

Room Tip: We didn't experience any air con problems and our room was on the north side facing the golf cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PJSUDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Welcome back to La Jolla! Great to hear you enjoyed our serene and convenient location. Any upcoming renovations can be found on our website and we are sorry you were not made aware of the pool renovation. We hope you will come back and check out our refreshed pool area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon Valley, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Hotel room, grounds, restaurant and location to nearby attractions is great! The restaurant had a nice selection for breakfast and dinner and the food was great. It's a short drive north or south for access to some nice scenic beaches and walking trails. The pool looked spectacular and I'm sure it's a good time if the weather permits.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We have refreshed the pool area and you have to come back and enjoy the pool! Glad you found our location convenient to venture around San Diego and La Jolla. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel. I am in a wheelchair and had a real problem which needed to be solved. Thanks to the night manager, Andrea, for going above & beyond helping us to pickup my forgotten equipment from a previous hotel in San Diego. She personally called the other hotel to find it and then even made a personal trip after hours to pick it up from the other hotel. Top notch hotel in every respect, but especially to her for really being a wonderful person. Many thanks for a great week, we enjoyed it all!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was our pleasure to help make your stay more comfortable. We will share your kind words with Andrea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,043 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,160 reviews
2.6 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing