We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a shame Hilton doesn't do justice to Torrey Pines” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Torrey Pines, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a shame Hilton doesn't do justice to Torrey Pines”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

They charge for internet!!!! Flickering mercury light bulbs that did not get fixed even when the maintenance guy tried. Fhone did not work Bellman just stood around. Took 30 min to get out of the parking garage.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We apologize for the poor level of service and amenities you received while staying at our hotel. We understand your frustrations and we will be addressing the issues you had with our staff. We do offer packages that include internet. We hope the next time you are in the area you would consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    454
    194
    82
    44
See reviews for
314
344
54
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed I thought this would be a great location but it's a rather jaded unattractive building that seems to have been setup to serve the conference market. I walked around the grounds which are well kept but there were no seats to enjoy the view of the golf course. The restaurant and bar area are cavernous and have no character.

My bedroom was dark and dull with a view of the golf course car park and if you stretched you could just about see the view.

Do not recommend

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NikonKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do offer a large amount of meeting space and we also provide seating areas with fire pits on our restaurant patio with views of the golf course and the Pacific Ocean. All of our rooms feature patios or balconies facing the golf course. Please let us know next time if you would like a brighter room and we will do our best to accommodate your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked a tee time at Torrey Pines South with a hotel room reservation (only way to get a tee time reservation if the course is full). Rooms are nice, though layout of the hotel is strange and easy to get lost in. Walk to golf club from the hotel or get valet to drop you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Great to hear you took advantage of the exclusive tee times we have set aside for our guests! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights at the business end of a holiday weekend. Found the room appeared recently remodeled with new furniture and fixtures. Had asked for no feather bedding in the room. Saddly this wasn't accomplished until hours after I checked in. At least I only had to call once. Too bad they weren't more proactive--my last three stays at Hilton family properties I found this task completed BEFORE I checked in.
Nice location close to Torrey Pines reserve were you can walk or hike around the trails and get to the ocean. Staff had a map to hand out about the trails, etc.
Annoying that you have to pay an extra amount to park and use the Internet in your room. Even Home Depot has free WiFi these days. Exercise room was nicely equipped.
And am concerned about security after reading about the person having his car broken into. I noticed people obviously not guests in the garage--thought they were construction people, but maybe not. If you have to pay to park they should have security.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our renovated guest rooms and our close location to Torrey Pines State Reserve. We apologize for the oversight in your bedding request. We will share this information with our team to ensure this does not happen again. For your next stay, we do offer packages which include internet during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines for 4 days. The staff was courteous, helpful, and friendly. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Our room had a sliding door with a balcony with a wonderful view of the courtyard and golf course. One of the best features was how quiet it was. Usually when we stay in a hotel we are awoken by outside traffic noise or others in the hotel but during our stay here we heard nothing. It was peaceful and serene. Also, we felt like the air quality was very good. So often hotel rooms feel stuffy and you are sealed inside without the ability to open a window for fresh air. We appreciated having the sliding door, but even when the room was closed up, the air quality was good.
When we arrived back home there was a message on my phone answering machine. An item had been found in the room and they inquired as to whether perhaps I had left something behind. After unpacking, I realized I had left an external hard drive in the security safe! It was black like the base of the safe and I didn't realize I'd left it behind. I can't say how truly appreciative I am of the staff for so quickly notifying us of this. The drive contained hundreds of photographs. Many thanks to the Hilton staff for their quick and honest response!
I definitely would recommend the Hilton at Torrey Pines.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are glad to hear you found our hotel to be peaceful and serene and our rooms comfortable. We strive to provide our guests with a getaway destination atmosphere. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel has a great location next to the ocean and the Torrey Pines Golf Course. The amenities are great as is the staff. When we checked out and went to our car we found the car had been broken into. We always check that the car is locked twice before we leave it anywhere. No security cameras, no patrolling security, no follow up from the hotel or from the security companys insurance. We won't come back, no peace of mind it won't happen again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. The security of our guests and their belongings are the utmost importance to us. In addition to our security team, we have a company which overlooks our parking structure. We have sent you a private message so we can get in touch with you and help resolve this issue. This is a rare occurrence, but we take this very seriously and look forward to speaking with you as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice with mixed feelings. The rooms were fine - typically Hilton. I enjoyed the bar and met my friends there which was pleasant. What I didn't like was the fact that they had promised me a tee-time on Torrey Pines. This got messed up by the hotel staff, and I had to wait for hours before a new tee-time became available. The hotel made some lame excuse for the botched reservation, but were absolutely no help. My first stay was fine, but no golf was involved.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies if there was a mistake on our part for the tee time reservations. We set aside exclusive tee times just for our guests as an amenity at our hotel. We hope you will stay with us again when you are visiting La Jolla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
4.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing