We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quick getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Artesia, United States
1 review
“quick getaway”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A little pricey but very nice rooms, with great views. The concierge was super nice and helpful in recommending some good fishing spots, as well as hiking trails. Check in and check out were so quick and easy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are thrilled our fabulous concierge staff was helpful and we will share your kind words with them. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    470
    197
    85
    46
See reviews for
322
363
54
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

he location is wonderful. We usually stay at the Estancia but this hotel was half the cost in the same area. The beds are very soft and since I prefer firm that meant the sleep experience for me was below average. That is not the hotel's fault. If you like soft mattresses, you will like the beds.

There are no restaurants or other stores withing walking distance. You will need to drive a few blocks or use the hotel facility. Very nice walking trails in the Torrey Pines reserve are nearby. The pool and views at the hotel are very nice and we enjoyed both.

The only negatives would be the $25 per day self parking fee and the overpriced breakfast buffet but both of those are hard to avoid these days. For the area this hotel is an excellent value at $159 per night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our getaway location on Torrey Pines Golf Course in La Jolla. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I have wanted to stay at the Hilton Torrey Pines for years. Kids are finally to the point where we could vacation with just the wife and I.

It was fantastic. It is a low key Hilton, great food, great staff. I am gluten intolerant and there were a few baubles there. I think they need to train the front-line staff on it as well as the kitchen but I managed. We got a steak with gluten onions on it for dinner and our server, Mandy Mahinay, handled it. They corrected the mistake and comp'd the meal. Unnecessary but a nice gesture. Hot tub is great and we met lots of other couples in the same time of life (kids are teenagers, vacationing differently).

It is in La Jolla and what can you say. La Jolla is one of the best places in the US.

We are at the highest level in the Hilton rewards program and we both said it is one of the best Hiltons in the US.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Churchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and sharing your feedback. We are happy that you and your wife were able to getaway and experience our hotel. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was there for a business meeting in the local area. My hotel stay was great. There are no restaurants in the immediate area so you have to go to La Jolla but that is about 10 minutes away (15 in rush hour traffic). Breakfast buffet was a little over priced $22.00. But hey its the Hilton La Jolla. The bar and patio area was awesome and you have a great view. We smoke cigars at the firepit until 11PM. Very nice. The concierge service was great. I gave the concierge a list of three restaurants my team and I wanted to eat at. He was very helpful with directions and made the reservations for us. Great job!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay. We are thrilled you were able to relax and enjoy sitting by our fire pits. No better view than the golf course and ocean! We will share your kind words with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The place isn't for everyone. The rooms while clean are average. The place feels like a business hotel they have tried to dress up. There very limited options for food locally. On site Or upscale next door. That's it unless you drive.

But, the views are wonderful. The place is generally quiet the pool is nice the staff helpful the fitness center next door is outstanding and being ON the golf course is very cool.

For the price this is the coolest choice in SD for a quiet weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for sharing. We are happy you enjoyed our getaway location right on Torrey Pines Golf Course. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have had Torrey Pines on my bucket list for some time now. Late last year I decided to get that one off of my list. I along with a few friends decided to make the trip. Tee times were arranged, room reservations made and off we went on March 2. When we arrived at the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines we were blown away by the friendliness of the staff and the appearance of the hotel. Our positive impression didn't end there. A problem immediately came up upon check in. The room I thought I had reserved was not available and the room I was given was going to be too small for us. The clerk at check in immediately found us a room that met our needs and kept the cost the same as the one they were going to give us. I was very impressed. The room was perfect, the view was spectacular and the staff was more than helpful and went out of their way to meet all of our needs. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank bigkuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled that we were able to be a part of your bucket list! We will share your kind words with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
163 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had a trip to the coast last month for business, and being the corp. office was less than 1o minutes away, this indeed was the best place to stay. Excellent people at all levels, from concierge to the front desk, to the bartenders downstairs. No issues , perhaps a wee bit pricey for the portions in the restaurant, but all in all the will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Hotel is beginning to show it's age in some areas, but the people on the grounds make up for most of that. Guess I'm not thrilled about paying to park in a place you're staying at but it is what it is. Would stay there again on next trip out to the coast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madbeacher2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy you were able to stay with us during your recent business trip. We will share your kind words with our staff. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing