We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Checked into this hotel after a bad experience at another place, the staff were very nice and made me feel safe and welcome. The location is lovely and only a short drive to main San Diego. The room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Kimistie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are happy you found your stay comfortable and our staff helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    463
    195
    83
    45
See reviews for
319
357
54
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you are looking for excellence in appearance, quality, cleanliness, facilities, security, service and location, this is the place. While the price is relative to each individual's affordability, I felt the price was worth every penny. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel rates are above average price compared to other nearby hotels. On top of this, Parking is $25 per day and IN-ROOM Wi-Fi is $10 per day. Total rip off. Would not recommend. Guest service is below par. When asked about why Internet is not free, the response was very impolite. After that, despite paying money for Wi-Fi, the W-Fi performance was below par.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Sembhayya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our guest experience and comfort is our top priority. We will share your review with our staff and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

If THIS Hilton had been my first exposure to the chain, I never, ever would have booked another stay by choice. This hotel was so disappointing - overall. I will try to cover all the things that I considered unacceptable about my stay. 1) The wifi was not free - even using the ethernet, I was still expected to pay a ridiculous $16/night. The cost of this hotel is high enough, wifi should be included - heck, even the cheapest hotels manage to offer free wifi!! 2) cleanliness - there was just a constant grunge associated with all furniture (lobby, conference rooms, hotel room, etc). The furniture in the lobby where I tried to sit for the World Cup was so grungy it looked as if it was many years old & had never been cleaned, nor replaced. 3) bed & pillows extremely uncomfortable. I had the worst neck pain every morning after waking. Not to mention the difficulty sleeping. 4) Alarm that went off in the middle of the night was NOT helpful to a good night's sleep. It went off for a good 10+ minutes 5) conference was not supplied w/ continuous access to coffee - a bunch of physician's would have greatly appreciated that courtesy!! 6) Catering service cleared the lunches away so fast I didn't have the time to make a phone call & come back to grab a box - not sure if they had all been taken, but it was odd that the serving tables & stuff was all cleared up too. Now mind you, I checked my phone, it was only a 10minute phone call. 7) Valet boy didn't move a golf cart out of the way so our shuttle/charter bus could pull up to the front doors & let us out. He stood there & stared at our buses, doing nothing at all. When we got off & I addressed him about not moving it so we could get the buses to the front door, he just smirked & said, "you seemed to get off the bus just fine".

I do have to say, most of the other staff (except the valet guy) were all extremely polite & helpful when I needed something. Unfortunately, the rest of the stay was so disappointing, I will avoid Hilton hotels for the near future.

Room Tip: do NOT get the patio room - it's a square of dirt w/ some chairs & a small table :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We appreciate your candid review of your recent stay with our hotel and we apologize that the furniture around our property and the bed in your room did not meet your expectations, as comfort and safety is our highest priority for our guests. We will share your review with our staff to make necessary improvements. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We chose this hotel for both its location and price. It was much less expensive than staying right in San Diego, and in my opinion, you got far more during your stay. The view/location is stunning! On a golf course overlooking the ocean, without the city and the traffic. So much to do and see in the area too. Yet you are still not that far from downtown. We stayed right after the holiday weekend, so there weren't too many other guests. Parking was easy, but quite expensive. This should definitely be reconsidered by the hotel, as it seems a bit excessive. Overall, I will certainly stay here again next time we return.

Green Features: Glad to see that the hotel actually upholds their position on the sheets/towels.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carib06girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay! We are thrilled you enjoyed our getaway location on the coast and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Beautiful hotel and ocean/golf course views. Very spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Nice bar and quick bartenders. Food is delicious and the same menu is served at the Bar as in the restaurant. Service available from the hotel to Torrey Pines golf course.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review! We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a beautiful property nestled in a quiet neighborhood with a stunning view of the Pacific. Our room was modern, comfy and very clean. The employees were absolutely wonderful. As a person with a gluten and dairy allergy, Chef David and his staff made it easy to find a safe meal in the on-site restaurant (even calling me at home prior to my arrival to make sure he could accommodate me). The concierge (I can't remember his name) was very helpful in recommending a nearby restaurant with an amazing view that took very good care with my dietary needs. The only reason I can't give it a 5 star review is that on our second night a party near the property blasted music until well after midnight and the staff seemed reluctant to do anything about it. But overall, absolutely wonderful and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy we were able to make your stay more comfortable and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing