We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel on a business trip. I am in sales and selected the hotel. The President of my company and a couple other execs stayed here as well based on my selection. Internet speed turned out horrible and they said there was nothing they could do about it. It was under 2mbps. They also charged $15.95 per day. (They comped that after I complained) I am currently on an airplane over the United States and getting 8 times that speed! No excuse for their lousy internet speed. Needless to say, it was not a good career move for me to stay here and recommend to my associates. Also, coffee bar is closed during middle of the day for no good reason. There seems to be plenty of people around to use it., Rooms are a bit dated although my bathroom was updated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a "good view". My has really no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pubmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Hilton Torrey Pines gives you what you would expect from a Hilton. The hotel is in a good location between many of the attractions north of San Diego. However, it is between many of the attractions and you have to drive to La Jolla or to del Mar. There is nowhere to walk to and no beach access, so if you have kids the options within the hotel to entertain them are limited. The pool is fine - but there's a limit to how long you can splash around for. Watch out for the extras. This hotel charges $5.50 for a bottle of water in the room! and $15.00 per day for in room Wi-Fi access. There can't be many places that charge for this these days. They also charge $25/ day for self park in the hotel, despite having plenty of parking available. Parking at the beaches nearby will cost you something similar - so you may end up spending $50/day just on car parking! On the good side, the staff are are friendly and very helpful - even on departure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Baggers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your review via TripAdvisor. We are happy you enjoyed our service and hotel. We offer complimentary children activities poolside on the weekends as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The food in this hotel is so bad. Everything from the coffee stand to the restaurant to the banquet food was a flavorless disappointment. Plan on leaving for restaurants in La Jolla if you stay here. The good news is there are ample Uber cars in the area so getting to a decent restaurant is not too difficult.

The room was clean and the location cannot be beat. I hiked in the state park every morning before my meeting, which was a great perk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nova5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience. We do hope you will stay with us the next time you are in La Jolla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

While in town visiting some customer one of them mentioned that the CFO and himself had not played Torrey Pines south course and another vendor was going to take them out there. I decided to stay the property so I could hit a quick meeting and be back for the tee time. Hotel is updated and has spectacular views. Rooms are a little tough to get to if you are on the far north side. Staff was great and the bellman were quick to run people back and forth to the golf course. One trick I did figure out is that if you cannot get on to Torrey Pines to play with a resident. You can reserve tee times several weeks in advance with a confirmation of staying in the Hotel. I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meatman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel! We are thrilled you were able to golf at the famous Torrey Pines Golf Course. We have special tee times set aside just for our guests :) See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have never been so mortified after staying at a hotel that I have been compelled to write a review.

I stayed here during July 4th weekend and left a necklace on counter, which was admittedly my own fault. Came back 30 minutes after checking out since I realized that I had left it in the room. Was directed to security who mentioned he would speak with housecleaning and get back to me. No surprise that housekeeping was "adamant" that nothing was found but will be on the lookout and will call to follow up several days later after they have had a chance to speak with the full staff.

Of course I received no such call. Followed up myself several times before receiving a call from the security office. I have now been directed to file an insurance claim and / or police report.
Funny how another reviewer had their shoes stolen too, which later miraculously ended up in lost and found.

CLEARLY, THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH THE HOUSEKEEPING STAFF.

Beautiful property but that isn't tough to find down in SD - would stay away unless you want your belongings taken away and now, never will I see the necklace that my grandmother left me again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We understand your frustrations and we have been waiting on receiving additional information from you so we may move forward. This is not typical of our hotel and staff and we try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Please contact our security department at your earliest convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were upgraded to a suite since we were traveling with 2 adult children. The suite was massive - a living room with pull- out couch, a dining/conference room and a master suite, two bathrooms and 3 separate patios. Breakfast was great sitting outside overlooking the pool. Clean with extremely friendly service. 2 mile hike, and I do mean hike, to the beach where we saw dolphins and seals. Golfed at Torrey Pines just for the experience. Drove to several area beach towns - Bird Rock, Pacific Beach, La Jolla and Solana. Next time, we'll visit Del Mar. Just couldn't fit it all in this trip. Will stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank PennsylvaniaKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for the fabulous 5 star review! We are thrilled you experienced what our hotel and our location has to offer. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I recently attended an industry conference and was not impressed by this hotel. I found the facilities to be out of date, the food mediocre and staff unaccommodating. I asked for a room to be ready for an early arrival as I needed a place to store breastmilk and pump. I called days in advance as well as a few hours before I arrived and they told me they were unable to block a room for me but 2 out of the 3 co-workers I was with which arrived at the same time were given rooms in the same category a room. I also asked for a kind instead of a double, they said it would be over $100 a night extra and then a co-worker was given that room type at no extra cost. I asked for late check out so I could pump before I left and they said the latest they could give me without charging was till 1pm but a co-worker was granted till 2pm. They had no good suggestions of how I could store milk until i left so I had to borrow a co-workers room. Very unaccommodating!!

Room Tip: I liked that everyone had a balcony. Stay away from grass as they dye it green and a few peoples sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bayareamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the confusion and frustration you encountered. Our guest rooms do have refrigerators for your convenience. Early check-in and check-out requests are based on availability on each room. We use bio-degradable, vegetable base for our lawn care and we are happy we were able to clean your shoes for you. We hope you’ll consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
2.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,429 reviews
4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,122 reviews
4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £123 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing