We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, very clean, but impersonal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I like this hotel. The location is pretty, the grounds are nice and the rooms are comfortable. The hotel is a drive away from la jolla's charming shopping and restaurants, but it's got the beautiful state park right next door and of course, the golf course. The rooms are really nice - especially the bath. But it all feels corporate, not cozy. If I were alone, it would have been perfect. But my wife joined me on this business trip so the lack of personalized touches was more noticeable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy you liked our location and guest rooms. We will share your review with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 1,559 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel looks nice on the surface but as you dig deeper they miss the mark in most categories:

Pros:
Location - good location but you're on an island once you get there and have to drive to pretty much everything
Service - The valet guys are great with on point directions and fast service. Also experience great service in restaurant (Mandy).
Rooms - quiet and recently renovated, balconies for all rooms but very few rooms have premium views

Cons:
Resort pricing - Resorts normally have pool service and I don't mind paying $50 for 4 drinks if I have someone bring them to me with a smile and a couple of glasses of water
Restaurant - I enjoyed a $27 breakfast buffet one morning. I took my group of 4 to a restaurant on the beach just a short drive away and spent $77 (for 4 ppl) the next morning. The food was better and we had a combined 3 bloody m's and 3 mimosas to boot. Our foursome also had dinner at the restaurant one night and while our server was excellent the food was mediocre at best. Do yourself a favor and drive or catch and uber down the hill to La Jolla to spend the same and get an experience that is 10x better.

Thankfully I didn't use Wifi so I can't speak to some of the same frustrations others have noted.

Torrey Pines - if you golf you've heard of it. Our foursome was underwhelmed. Avoid the North Course completely. With the exception of seeing the ocean periodically I could have been on any goat track in Amarillo TX or some other nondescript city across middle america.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I called to reverse a charge and spoke to Joel Valencia in Accounting. I had to leave a message due to the time difference between NY and California. He called me back credited my clients credit card and sent me a folio for his expense report. Very polite and fast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitten l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your kind words! We will share your review with our staff and hope you will visit us again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The first thing you need to know about the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines is that it is an OK hotel, but it's not really a resort -- not if you think a resort is a place to feel carefree and pampered. The rooms and public areas are nice enough, but modern Asian-inspired decor feels cold. The pool is nice, but they distribute thin unappealing towels that they don't pick up when people leave the pool. The restaurant offerings are minimal and the food both uninspiring and overpriced. They don't have free wi-fi in the rooms, which I consider a necessity. And while employees were nice enough, nobody seemed very excited about being there. All of this is especially disappointing if you have ever stayed next door at the Lodge at Torrey Pines, one of the nicest, most relaxing places on earth.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. We will review it with our staff in efforts to improve guest experience. We do hope you will visit us again when you are in La Jolla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Location, location, location is key. Very short drive to downtown La Jolla. Nice hotel grounds and pool area. However, do not use the valet parking service. Your car will not be parked in a covered or sheltered area. Instead, it will be parked in an open, exposed area. Your car will need deep exterior cleaning when you check out of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank FromPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. Please let us know next time if you would prefer your car parked in the structure. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel was very nice and the grounds were well kept. Room was spacious and clean. My specific room was a little far from the elevator and main lobby but if you like the peace and quiet this room was for you. Cost and ammentites were a little high, no free internet (additoinal $16) and $25 per day parking were high in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Conleylee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your stay! We are happy you enjoyed your guest room and our property. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel was fine - not enough staffing at Sunday brunch at hotel restaurant left us with a 10-min wait with empty, though dish-strewn tables. And brunch selections were minimal. Room was fine for sleeping - all rooms point towards ocean, but we were in back of wing and we had to crane our necks to see the water (though a nice view of the back- (ugly) side of Torrey Pines Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will share your review with our staff and do hope you will visit us again when you are in La Jolla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
2.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,392 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,205 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,039 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 279 in San Diego
5,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: £107 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing