We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST SAN DIEGO GET AWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Anaheim Hills, United States
1 review
“BEST SAN DIEGO GET AWAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Beautiful hotel with gorgeous views are just a drive away from the OC. We like to skip airline trips as much as we can and for a quick getaway we recommend this hotel in La Jolla! So beautiful and such nice Ocean Views. Can't beat the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines! The Staff is EXCELLENT and they would do whatever you need to make sure your stay is relaxing and luxurious. We go every year! Highly Recommend!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful 5 star review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our hotel, amenities and staff. We look forward to your next getaway with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    461
    195
    83
    45
See reviews for
319
356
54
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I recently stayed here for a wedding. Given the Hilton name and the fame of the hotel, I was happy to spring for a room even though I live locally. BIG mistake!

I was in the wedding party, so when I booked months early I requested early check-in, so I could help the bride dress. (Their check-in is 4pm and the wedding began an hour earlier.) I was told it was very possible and to simply call back the week of the wedding. I called back the week of and the staff all but told me off for daring to ask such a thing (!), but then said to call the day of - I noticed this call back would happen conveniently for them, right after their cancellation policy.

I called the day of and was told rooms were available but were being given out to whoever was showing up and they would not hold a room for me.

Check-in involved 10 minutes of standing in line for the single on-duty desk agent and being completely ignored, not even a courtesy "be right with you". At no point in this experience did I feel like a guest; the hotel was acting like they were doing us a favor by letting us stay.

Room was reasonably sized and bathroom was modern. Hallway stunk so much coming out of the elevator on the 2nd floor. that it became an ongoing joke.

Despite the fact that the hotel was fully booked, it felt completely deserted - ghost town. Few staff to be seen anywhere.

Ultimately, we couldn't wait to get out of there. As a frequent traveler and someone who often hosts visiting business colleagues, I would never stay there again and don't feel comfortable recommending this location. A frustrating stay start to finish. When I realized they don't send a customer satisfaction survey, I realized why ;)

Room Tip: Choose the one not in this hotel ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wonderlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re sorry that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards and we apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced. We try to accommodate early check-in requests as much as we can depending on when rooms become available. We hope you will consider staying with us again soon so we may have the opportunity to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a delightful stay. The room was beautifully appointed. The service was helpful. The concierge provided useful information. We ate most of our meals in the hotel and were served several times by Mandy who was very attentive to us and we were usually a large party. The food was unusually good for a hotel. The tuna and sea bass were particular favorites of our group.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeysaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff helped make your stay memorable. See you next time. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Parking and WiFi should not be at extra cost. Other than that, we had a great 3 day stay and should come back to San Diego, will choose this place again. Hotel staff is extremely knowledgeable, accommodating and helpful. Rooms are beautifully appointed. Great views, location and the pool

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Igor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and enjoyed our guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
616 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just spent 3 nights here on a business trip. The hotel is in a nice location although it is somewhat isolated and if you want to go into La Jolla for dinner the traffic can be very bad. There are some positives. The hotel has a Starbucks in the lobby but the woman working there was pretty rude on both mornings that I went there. The gym is OK. The front desk staff was very nice and friendly but because I was early they charged me $26 extra for early checkin even though the room was available. That seemed a bit cheezy to me.
The room itself was old, the bed was uncomfortable. The furniture had clearly seen better days. Water pressure in the shower was poor.
It was fairly quiet but my room overlooked an area that was near the golf course and I was woken by grass cutting early in the morning.
Overall I'd say this place was just OK- nothing special and there are much better choices in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Your comments will help us make it right moving forward. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a really great facility with amazing staff members. We were made to feel so welcome by everyone we came in contact with. The property is very nice, clean and offers wonderful views. The pool is great and offers a nice alternative to visiting the beach. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated with a great bathroom.

The only downside I can think of is no service by the pool. It was kind of a bummer to walk up stairs and into the restaurant to get a drink. Regardless, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us! We are happy you found our hotel comfortable and our staff helpful. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I won a free stay at my employee party. The hotel is beauitful and staff pleasant. A special shout out to my bellman (I'm sorry I forgot his name) - he managed to get me a discount on parking. He also recommended "Jake's" for lunch - DELICIOUS FOOD AND VIEW!! The only thing that I thought was odd for this hotel was the "business center" area. It's literllly in the middle of the lounge seating near the coffee area - no enclousure and only 2 computers. I felt a bit rushed when I would see another guest waiting to use the computers. Other then that...........the views are awesome and I would recommend this to anyone staying in the San Diego area.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy you enjoyed our food, service and views from our hotel. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.2 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Property: Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing